We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, just fine...all OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stopped here for one night while en route. Usual franchise fare - clean, normal amenities, well maintained, comfortable, all systems worked fine except the desk clerk. She was exceptionally pleasant and friendly, certainly a plus for management. Hotel is 6 miles off Ohio Turnpike, next to Kalahari resort. Here's a little tip...stop at any of the Ohio Turnpike rest stops and pick up one of those hotel coupon books; that saved us $30 at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rotharch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 376 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

We recently returned from our third stay at this property. It is a great value. Kevin Bednarek and his team do a great job of running the place. It is well maintained, quiet, and clean.

Room Tip: Even though the rooms on the west side face US 250, traffic noise was never a problem.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have visited this property numerous times over the years to visit relatives living in nearby Huron, Ohio. The hotel has been recently updated with Fairfield's leafy "green tea" decor of fun light green, orange and navy hues. At Thanksgiving, we were able to secure a room for less than $100 but summer rates will usually exceed $200 because of its convenient proximity to the Cedar Point amusement park. The only consolation to overpaying during high season is knowing that the property is renovated, clean and well managed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the east wing are away from the main road and quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

First let me say that this review is based on hotels in Sandusky, OH. The Fairfield Inn definetly ranks on the high for this town! We have stayed in Sandusky numerous times to go to Cedar Point. All of the Cedar POint hotels are disgusting and old and way over priced. Many of the hotels near the park are the same. I will NEVER stay at Breaker's Inn or Breaker's Express again.
Pro's for Fairfield Inn...
Very clean
Rooms were recently renovated and are in great shape with modern decor
The staff was very nice and helpful
Free cookies and breakfast!
The bedding was down or microfill and very comfy
The price was great for the hotel, we paid $99 and $120 on a Halloweekend

Cons...
The indoor pool and hot tub are small
Further from the park than some of the other hotels
No extra activities for the kids like Great Wolf Lodge or Kalahari

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alidiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We made last minute reservations at this hotel so we could spend two days at Cedar Point while we were visiting Ohio instead of trying to squish all our rides into one day. It was a very nice place, very clean and easy to get to. The staff was friendly but we were there for such a short time we only dealt with them at check in. If I were returning to that area, I would stay there again.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank larao68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here connected to the Cedar Point visit. Although it all and all worked out, we were not terribly impressed.

This Fairfield Inn had a 20% higher rate than the one we'd just left elsewhere in Ohio for the exact same room (with not as nice a layout). I think I expect a better experience when rates are that much higher.

Room was clean except for the shower that needed some work. Property itself was well kept.

Plan on 15 minutes' drive to Cedar Point if you stay here. It is very noisy in this hotel after Midnight as many people wait to check in until after they leave Cedar Point.

The wireless Internet access wasn't working when we were there.

The breakfast was crowded and not as high quality as the same chain property in Cleveland. My husband ate later than I did and found that most items were put away a full 1/2 hour before the breakfast was advertised as over on the property sign.

Both of our keys stopped worked to our room, which was fairly far away from the front desk a full hour before check out time. Although I know my complete lack of sleep overnight exacerbated this, the comment, "We just wanted you to have to come back to the front desk" from staff did not sit well with me in terms of customer service.

I look forward to my next Marriott experience that's better than this one was.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IowaTraveler925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Booked last minute deal on Priceline (name your own price) and received this hotel for under $100. Wanted to take the kids to Cedar Point. Did not know what to expect as pics didn't really show a very fancy hotel or anything. However, I was surprised to see that the property was listed as #1 on Tripadvisor for the Sandusky area. Upon arrival, check-in was easy and the receptionist was very polite. Our rooms were spotless...one of the cleanest rooms I have stayed at. No dirty floor or disgusting bathroom. Very impressed. TV was a decent size with plenty of channels, beds were very comfortable with lots of extra pillows, and you could not hear noise in the hallway or other rooms which I appreciated. Pool and hot tub were smaller but nice (good enough for the kids). There was a lot of chlorine in the pool though (at least it is clean?). Free wifi and safe is a plus. The only negatives I would have to say is that it is not the closest property to Cedar Point (but still close enough), and that the continental breakfast could use more variety (there were lots of people and no room to sit, and basically just pastries and bread). Other then that I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. Would rate a 4.5 star out of 5.

Room Tip: Use PRiceline will save you some $$
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JStebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.8 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky

Address: 6220 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-9000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: $100 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites, located in beautiful Sandusky, Ohio. Our hotel is conveniently situated on Route 250, within a short drive of local attractions including Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky State Theater, Kalahari Water Park, and various shopping, dining, and nature trails along unforgettable Lake Erie. We offer various room sizes to accommodate travelers for leisure and business alike. We want you to work well, eat well, rest well, and be well, so at our hotel you can stay connected with free high speed internet, start your day with our complimentary hot breakfast, work out in our fitness center, relax in a heated indoor pool, sleep soundly in luxury bedding, and enjoy flat screen televisions with newly added HD channels. Come and see how Fairfield has what you need to be at your best during your travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Fairfield Sandusky
Sandusky Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing