We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berardi's Family Kitchen

Berardi's Family Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 180 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Berardi's Family Kitchen is a family owned restaurant in Sandusky, Ohio that has been serving the locals for over 75 years! We have been voted Best Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert and Best Fries by the Readers Choice Awards and are a local favorite destination for a great meal at an affordable price. "Taste the Homemade Difference".
MOGADORE
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great food, great prices and great service! No waiting and great portions for your money. My husband even got a no bake cookie on the way out and it was super fresh!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MERRIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    87
    22
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Homestyle food done right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The most striking thing about this restaurant is how welcome they make us feel. It's a family diner that treats you like family.

My wife and I are unfortunately very picky eaters, and eating out generally means finding the few offerings that interest us. The Berardi's menu, by contrast, has very few items that don't.

We ate there twice last week, and three of the four dishes we ordered were amazing. The fourth (the burger) was just very good. And of course we had their excellent fries with each. The two desserts we had were perfect - exactly what we wanted.

Loved the service, loved the food. We'll definitely be back any time we go to Cedar Point, and in fact I'm more likely to be talked into a trip there because of this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Franklin, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hair Net or No Hair Net?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had breakfast here the day we left Sandusky. The hostess seemed irritated that we decided to eat breakfast there that day. Her name tag said "Manager". I had eggs, bacon, hash browns and toast. It was good. My oldest had the same, but with sausage links, she liked it. Good portions for a good price. My youngest got the biscuits and gravy and thought it was good, until she came across the hair baked into the biscuit. At least we know they are baked fresh, right? Hey, it's bound to happen. They gave us her meal free, but they had this nonchalant attitude about it and it was kind of oft putting. Not real pleased with the service. The food is good and I would recommend it, just be sure to ask if the cook is wearing a hair net ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dustin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
205 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fries are not all that”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I normally don't eat potatoes, but because of all the reviews, I thought I had to try the fries at Berardi's. I was sorry I did. They were okay but not good enough for me to break my potato fast. Hubby had onion rings, they were good but only got three. The perch sandwich was fine and the chicken sandwich as good. The service was excellent even though we got there close to closing time. Didn't try the desserts but they looked yummy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great breakfast food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in Sandusky for 5 days and we ate here for 4 days for breakfast. It was great. The staff is super friendly and the food is delicious. The prices are extremely reasonable. It's good old fashion home cooked breakfast food. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank love2travel0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berardi's Family Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Berardi's Family Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing