We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home of original Cedar Point French Fries”

Berardi's Family Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 186 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Berardi's Family Kitchen is a family owned restaurant in Sandusky, Ohio that has been serving the locals for over 75 years! We have been voted Best Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert and Best Fries by the Readers Choice Awards and are a local favorite destination for a great meal at an affordable price. "Taste the Homemade Difference".
Munroe Falls, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home of original Cedar Point French Fries”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good food, good service, large portions, nice and friendly staff, right price. Get the small fryer of fries that were sold at Cedar Point.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMETJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    101
    25
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Berardi's is my grandma's favorite place in Sandusky. It is one of two restaurant she will eat. The other is Chet and Matt's. The staff is very friendly. However, the food is just average. The French fries are the best thing on the menu. Everything else is ok. I have eaten here many times and have had many things on the menu. I usually get the Berardi's salad with grilled chicken. It is pretty good but not exceptional. I do really enjoy the bran muffin that comes with the salad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is a great place for breakfast - The wait staff is so friendly”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in Sandusky for 2 nights. We have breakfast here the first day. They have a huge selection for breakfast and all kind of baked goods muffins, pie, cookies etc. The wait staff was super friendly. The food was cheap and excellent. We returned the next day for breakfast. We do not like to eat at chain's. We would even drive a little out of our way to go to this place again. Thanks for the great breakfast - Everything we tried was super yummy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBHARTE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome Cafe!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Wow! This was one of the best family diner/cafe's I've ever visited. Please, please, please, travelers....Get away from the restaurant chains near the waterparks in Sandusky and visit this great place. The service was out of this world. Zach had only been serving tables for a few months but was so attentive and respectful and helpful with the kids. We had both breakfast and a dinner here. The apple carmel pie was better than your Grandma's homemade pie and huge! Omlettes were healthy in portion and ingredients. The salads were far more creative than what you would expect from a diner. My husband had the Thai chicken salad and I had the Bella Rosa which had very tender chicken and delicious avocado ranch dressing. Of course we had an order of the famous fries. Zach steered us away from the sweet potato fries and I'm glad he did! The fries were meaty and seasoned just right! We would go back whenever we are near Sandusky. Even the prices are better than the chains. Go by yourself, with your date, or with your kids. You'll have a great meal and a great experience no matter what!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schussles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food good service good price”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the area for a week in July. Our first night took us to Berardis. We all had a good meal with good service and the pie was worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroadagain6575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berardi's Family Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Berardi's Family Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing