We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to go with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Water Street Bar & Grille - CLOSED

Water Street Bar & Grille
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Huntington, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A nice place to go with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

If you plan to go to the restaurant on Friday or Saturday nite between 5pm and 8pm plan on a wait of at least 1/2 an hour. I would have sworn it was the only restaurant in town for all the people trying to get a table. The food was good. There were 3 steaks served at our table. All said they were flavorful, although maybe a tad small, but for $14 the garlic mashed potatoes made up for it. Swordfish was just ok, Mahi-Mahi was great! Wait staff was attentive and friendly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mack055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandusky, OH
1 review
“The quality of the food has increased immensly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

I recently visited Water Street Bar & Grille for my aunt's birthday on a Monday night. There were 6 of us, and seemed like an average crowd for a Monday night. When we first walked in, a waiter greeted us and told us the back was a bit busier because of a party and that if we wanted quicker service they suggested for us to sit at the high tables in the front. We took their suggestion and were greeted with the waiter also being the bartender. And just like the waiter said, the service was quick and very good! We all had various dishes, the meatloaf, a burger, steak, Mahi Mahi salad, the Mahi Mahi entree, and the Caesar salad with salmon. Everything was cooked exactly to order and everyone was surprised with how much the presentation has improved and the quality of it has gotten to be so impressive! I have visited a few times during the summer, and while the food was always decent, the presentation had been less than sub-par. Maybe because the restaurant can be less hectic in the winter than in the summer with all of the tourists and boaters, but this was by for the best experience I've yet. There was a performance at the state theater that evening, and I would highly recommend stopping at this bar and grille next time beforehand.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food at Good Prices with Lake View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We eat frequently at this restaurant during boating season. Food is always good and prices are excellent. If you sit outside or near the window, you can see Lake Erie. Although Sandusky is on the lake, there are few places with lake views there. Service is always very good.

We like to go there with grandchildren. They like the burgers, etc. My husband likes the meatloaf sandwich. Usually everything is good there.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelsafarohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
185 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Bay View and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We love to dine by the water, so we visited Water St. Bar and Grille, which is right on the bay. We had an outdoor table, so we could enjoy the bay view as we ate our lunch. Our service was good and the food was very good. We would definitely come back here again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rob77ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, service, and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

After a horrible meal near Cedar Point the previous night we drove to the old Sandisky waterfront looking for a good meal and drinks. The bar has an outdoor patio that was quiet with a good view of the wharf. Four of us had 4 different meals and all were excellent, as was the service. Price was reasonable given the high quality.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Just_a_Dad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing