We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey....but delicious!”

Great Karoo Marketplace
Ranked #16 of 180 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pricey....but delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The buffet was delicious- lots of gourmet looking creations (eggs benedict, smoothies, pastries, etc.). The french toast and pancakes, potatoes, bacon....all were delicious! The $14.99 price tag however....was a little steep. We probably wouldn't have eaten there if we didn't have vouchers to do so, and with a $14.99/person price, I would expect custom omelets or belgian waffles or something. Great if you have a voucher/coupon.....otherwise think twice....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherylvandrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for giving Great Karoo a try. I am happy you were able to find some delicious eats on the buffet. The eggs benedict, pancakes and bacon are all my favorite parts of breakfast. What a bonus that you were able to use vouchers for your buffets. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    32
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok for a Buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Service was good and the food average but not really HOT so by the time you sat to eat it was barley warm. It is a buffet so you can have seconds etc.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for giving the Great Karoo a try. I am sorry to hear that your food wasn't to the hot temperature. I can assure you that all of our food is cooked thoroughly and the time spent out on the buffet before consumption is minimal. I hope you will give Great Karoo a try in the future so that we can meet and go above your expectations this next time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food & good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The buffet quality was quite good. In comparing their buffet to Great Wolf Lodge Niagara Falls buffet, I would say they're comparable. The kids preferred GWL because they have a self serve soft ice cream machine. We would eat here again next time we visit Kalahari.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MannyB367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hey Manny. Thank you for the review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed Great Karoo and that you'd eat here again. Thank you for the suggestion about the soft serve ice cream. I'll send that on. In the mean time, next time you are at Kalahari, stop by our Chill Factory frozen yogurt bar! Thanks again and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good prices ...good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

the food was good ..not that wow but good with very affordable price and good and fast service ..its actually more than three stars but less than four ..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi Sarah. I am sorry to hear the restaurant experience at Great Karoo wasn't fully satisfactory for you. I hope that on your next visit to Kalahari Resorts, you not only get a great value, but you enjoy the quality and service that we hold our standards to. Take are and thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, OH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love the croissants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our family had breakfast here, cold cereal, donuts, yogurt. It was good. My husband got a breakfast Panini and he loved it! It was fast, a little pricey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnZ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo Marketplace, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi Dawn! Thanks for your compliments on our croissants & food! I will be sure to pass them onto our Food & Beverage Director & chefs! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Karoo Marketplace also viewed

 

Been to Great Karoo Marketplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing