We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Close to Cedar Point - reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Close to Cedar Point - reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Nothing fancy here. Manager is friendly. Clean. Close to Cedar Point. Very reasonable price for location. I've stayed here before - again nothing fancy - slept well after FULL day of rding roller coasters. Fine for a shower & sleeping.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie85614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    23
    5
    12
See reviews for
28
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

BYOP - Bring Your Own Pillows to this 70s throwback motel. The pillows were tiny! The staff was super friendly and helpful with everything we needed. The pool was great. The room... wow... where do I start? Everything about this room was clean and in working condition, but really hadn't been updated in a couple of decades. If this is the sort of thing that would bother you, then you do not want to stay here. The green carpet, speckled countertop, and motto of "if you can't fix it with caulk, it ain't worth fixing" were perfectly fine with us for the price. Less than 10 minutes to the parking lot of Cedar Point, and right in the midst of many restaurants and shopping. We walked to Friendly's Ice Cream and Casa Real Mexican Food. Continental breakfast was sparse with juice, bagels, muffins and toast, but it was free! Again - about what I would expect based on the price of the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

After reading the reviews online, I thought this hotel would be okay for our Cedar Point visit. WRONG!! This property is old, dirty, worn down and disgusting. Upon arrival, we went in to the front desk, which smells horribly of cigarette smoke. From there we checked into our dank room. It stunk, it was very old, badly in need of an update and the towels that were supposed to be for our use were still damp. We bought Lysol wipes and completely cleaned the room, bathroom, counters, lights, remote, doorknobs and so on. Our first night there we were all sneezing and coughing, having full on allergy attacks, from the mold and mildew in the room. In the morning, after a horrible nights sleep on the old mattress, we took showers. I dare say that someone could urinate a stream with more force than what the water from the shower was coming out with. On top of that, the water would suddenly turn freezing cold in the middle of use. I would in no way recommend this hotel to anyone, not even my worse enemy. I wish someone had been this honest while I was reading the reviews before booking this disgusting place. Save yourself and stay some place else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I called 5 days prior to confirm reservation he said my rooms were canceled I asked who and why they were cancelled he could not give me a reason why.They were all booked up and didnt have room I called other econo lodge they were very accomidating. Two days after my stay I recieved a bill in the mail for a no show I called him on the phone he denied having the conversation and hung up on me real good customer service. His name was Bill the manager of the hotel I would sleep in my car before I would ever stay in his hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable. No frills, but for the price, I don't expect any. Full size beds. TV worked but remote didn't control it. Restaurant right next door, 25 yards away. Very convenient. I think it did have an iron & ironing board though. We didn't try the continental breakfast. It appeared to be donuts & coffee and is in the same 10 x 10 space as the front desk office, (no table or chairs) so plan something else for breakfast. McDonalds just down the road. We would definitely stay again because of the value.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 110, and other than having to change channels because the remote didn't work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayco-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

For $60 a night (hotels.com) we got an average bed and a shower. That seems reasonable to me. There were plenty of towels, the beds were fairly comfortable, and the soap did what soap is supposed to do. The room wasn't anything to write home about, but it was decently clean and not filled with mayflies (which were looming outside, typical in the summer). The location was about 15 minutes away from Cedar Point, but navigating was simple as it only took 2 or 3 turns to get to the property. Plus it's located on a road with plenty of (chain) restaurants, so finding breakfast or lunch is an easy endeavor.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DavenGVAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We went to Cedar Point on May25th from open until close (10:30). We were exhausted, and that is a good thing because this hotel/motel is the bare minimum. We weren't expecting anything more than a bed, and that is what we got.
This place is old and located behind a Mexican restaurant. Don't count on kids using the pool, they said it felt like it was filled with ice cubes.
That being said, we spent 8 hours there and it was clean (ish), safe and we knew we would be leaving soon so we were not too picky. Do not even bother looking at what they provide for "breakfast" you'd be better off at Dunkin Donuts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#17 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Address: 3309 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South is located in the heart of Sandusky Ohio on Milan Road. Just minutes from Cedar Point or the water parks of Kalahari, Great Wolf Lodge, Maui Sands & Cast Away Bay. 32 rooms with external access: Single Full Bed with sofa-bed, Single Full Bed with Jacuzzi, Double Full Bed, Double Full Bed with Mini-fridge & Microwave, Double Full Bed Suite with sofa-bed. A Mexican restaurant, Casa Real, is located on the premises. Ming's Garden, a Chinese restaurant, and Denny's are within walking distance. And, Ghostly Manor Thrill Center, a Family Entertainment Center with roller skating, bounce houses, arcade, mini golf, motion theater, walk thru haunted house and jungle gym, is located on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sandusky
Sandusky Econo Lodge
Econolodge Cedar Point South
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing