We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Unacceptable”
Review of Rodeway Inn South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn South
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
LaPorte, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally Unacceptable”
Reviewed July 17, 2006

The nightmare started when the motel did not have our reservations correct. Once we got that corrected and went to our rooms we were totally shocked. In the first room the bathroom had not been cleaned. There was a toothpaste tube on the floor, sand all over the floor, trash in the waste can and all sorts of hair products under the sink area. No towels at all. The phone literally fell apart when you picked it up and the TV didn't work. The room was moldy/musty smelling and there were no fans or ventilation in the bathroom. There was however a window that would not open. In the second room there were no towels in the bathroom and after two request we still did not receive any. The bathroom had heavy mold in the tile around the tub surround and again no ventilation at all. The musty/mold smell was almost over-powering. The staff was very rude and less than helpful. Had there been another motel in the area, we would have gone elsewhere. The price was over $100 per room when you included the taxes and the "free" breakfast wasn't worth the time to check out. The only good thing about this motel was that it had a pool. I've stayed for less and had much better quality rooms and service. I will never go back to this one. Horrible experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ludelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    36
    25
    70
See reviews for
38
29
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2006

The four of us stayed here June 30, 2006. Overall it was a good stay. Front desk was a little slow @ checking us in. There is a bar or something connected to the hotel- Every now and then you could here the music blaring. Once we got to sleep it was fine. We did not try the free breakfast- wanted to get to Cedar Point ASAP. There is a shuttle available to take you to the park-again we did not take advantage. Rooms were old but very clean. Good location-easy to find-close to Cedar Point/and resteraunts. I would stay here again if the rates were a little cheaper and if we were staying one night. We paid approx. $91 total.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2006

The picture of the room on their website is accurate, but old. The rooms have seen some use since the picture was taken. B/C of it's price, it must attract the wrong type of people. You do get what you pay for. We saw profanity carved into doors inside one room and on the sidewalk, and we could still see words that had been painted over on the bedroom wall of a different unit when the light hit it right. The pool looked dirty & there were no umbrellas available. The ice machine was broken. If you are on a tight budget & can bear with the problems, the rooms seemed clean enough. The staff was okay & changed our room when we complained. The breakfast was coffee, juice, and donuts. If you can afford it, spend a little more and stay somewhere else. I thought that since it was a Choice hotel, it would be nicer, just without a lot of perks. I was disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2006

Dh and I stayed the memorial day weeked there during our trip to Cedar Point and was not disappointed at all. The Hotel staff was polite, the room was wonderful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daila35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 8, 2006

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel last year, and the year before! We had a nice stay, and although we have certain standards, we also understand how old this hotel is! I am 29 years old, and use to stay here all the time with my family when I was little because we had a yearly trip to Cedar Point every year! I cannot complain about this hotel. Except one time we needed more towels, which we got, and our tv remote didn't work! We just got off our butts and changed the channel manually! If you don't want to spend alot of money, and you want a clean place to sleep and shower, (because for the most part you'll be at Cedar Point anyway!), this is the place to stay. I'm sure there are certain staff members and rooms that aren't so appealing to people at times, but you will have that no matter where you stay! Even at the resort hotels! Every hotel is different and even the nicer ones have crappy rooms and sometimes crappy service! And apparently crappy, overly picky customers!!!! Just stop complaining and go fork our over $100 a night for a Cedar Point Area hotel or $300-$400 a night for a resort hotel, and then post your opinion! I think you'll find you were much happier having the extra money you saved with your rate here, than what you'd pay somewhere else so you can spend more at Cedar Point! And if you have kids, you know what I'm saying!!!! Have a nice day!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 12, 2006

I have a wife and four kids, I booked cheap so we could have more money for the park and attractions. The pool there was awsome, the manager Rhonda was awsome, yes it needs updated but who cares when your just sleeping there! It's old but clean, So if you don't need satian sheets and charman toliet paper stay here!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2006

DON'T STAY HERE! This place was the nastiest, trashiest motel I've ever seen. Reserved room online. BIG MISTAKE! If you like mold, mildew, rotting drywall, falling ceilings, electrical problems, dirty rooms, dirty pool and rude staff this place is for you. ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING! Room looked nothing like the pictures online. Dirty linens, rotting, water damaged & moldy drywall in the bathroom. Mold on the walls in the room. Ceiling was falling down... Oh yes, and I have pictures to prove it! I wouldn't leave my dog here for an hour. Our vacation was ruined since we had to drive around for 7 hours trying to find a decent hotel!

Helpful?
3 Thank katesold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
0.9 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#14 of 35 in Sandusky
222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#12 of 35 in Sandusky
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
327 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn South

Property: Rodeway Inn South
Address: 2905 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn South 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer free WI-FI, digital cable including HBO, and a seasonal outdoor pool. We serve fresh coffee from 6AM through 9AM every morning. We are just 2 miles from Cedar Point, across the street from Goofy Golf, and minutes from many restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn South Hotel Sandusky
Rodeway Inn Cedar Point South
Rodeway Inn Sandusky
Rodeway Inn South Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing