We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Sandusky”
Review of Rodeway Inn South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn South
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Value in Sandusky”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was looking for an inexpensive place to stay in the area while visiting a relative, and was surprised at how expensive everything was because of Cedar Point. I found this place on Trip Advisor, and learned that there was new management and some recent renovation. So, despite some earlier poor reviews, we gave it a shot. Now, this is a motel, plain and simple, but for the price, I have been very pleased. My nonsmoking room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, and the price was right. No frills, not even a coffee pot in the room, but if you are looking for clean, comfortable, and (relatively) cheap, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    35
    25
    67
See reviews for
37
28
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I wrote a review about this hotel last year, so here's an update. I stated I wouldn't pay to stay here because my last stay was a free night redemption. However, again my kids were at Cedar Pt, I needed somewhere to relax and I didn't want to pay alot of money for a few hours. The rate was great around $55 and the rooms were actually renovated and its was suprisingly noticeable. It served its purpose for 1 day, staff was friendly, the room was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. IF you are looking for a solid 3 1/2 to 4 star motel this is not the place for you, try a higher chain but if your looking for cheap and clean this is your stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurse4u1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review, June 10, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you had an acceptable experience with us, but I apologize that we couldn’t satisfy you completely. I’m pleased our staff were friendly and helpful. Please know that we’ve improve the hotel in many ways recently and are now providing a better experience than ever before. I hope you will soon give us another try.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days. Loved the stay. staff was very friendly. loved the service. the rate was excellent compare to other hotels. would recommend this to every one,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hum t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Could not stay here, as it was so horrible. Words are not even defined & composed to portray how bad this place is. I hear there is a club which you can join, if you stay the entire night without getting a staph infection: you win bragging rights and a shirt. I <Heart> Rodeway Inn South.

Room Tip: Bring all of your animals with you. All rooms must be smoking. Smoke 'em if you got 'em!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kingtot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review, June 10, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I apologize for any ways we let you down. We take real pride in our hotel and have made many recent changes to improve the guest experience. We’re now doing even better for our guests than ever before and encourage you to give us another try. We’ll provide a nicer experience for you next time.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I canceled 24 hrs. in advance due to a medical emergency. They told me it wasn't enough notice and wouldn't give a refund without a doctor's note and even then they might not give me a refund. I faxed them a doctor's note and they still wouldn't give me a refund and were very rude over the phone. This place is unbeleivable. Do not stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoodTaste22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review, June 10, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sure any billing issues were resolved long ago, but I want you to know that we’ve made staffing and other changes in recent months that have significantly improved the quality of the guest experience. I hope you will try us again soon if you haven’t already so you can see how we’ve change for the better. You will always be welcome here.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The local hotels really raised prices for Saturday night. Not sure if it was because of Halloween at Cedar Point or Point Fest but the prices jumped a lot. So, we decided the only thing left to do was to try this place. It's reviews were not too bad. The bathroom had mildew in the grout, there was a dust ring about the perimeter of the carpeted floor. It was definately very simple. The beds were fine. It was fine for crashing just the night after visiting Cedar Point. Breakfast was OJ and muffins. Really, it was only $50 and truly for that price I cannot complain much. The staff was very nice and accommodating with us with an error on the reservation.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tamalePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review, June 10, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you had an acceptable experience with us, but I apologize that we couldn’t satisfy you completely. I’m pleased our staff were friendly and helpful. Please know that we’ve improve the hotel in many ways recently and are now providing a better experience than ever before. I hope you will soon give us another try.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellwood City PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

As others have stated, this hotel did it's job, a good sleeping room, clean, and quiet. Make sure you reserve a room away from the pool, just for the noise factor. The room was clean, the beds quite comfortable. The room was cheap, and near to Cedar Point, as well as restaurants, etc. I'd use it also as a stopping off place for Put-in-Bay also, for a day trip.
My only complaint was that there was no hair conditioner provided. Plenty of soap, shampoo and clean towels.
The desk clerk's were friendly, and recommended Diana's Deli for breakfast (read my review), and we're very glad that they recommended it! :)
Packaged danish, along with coffee and juice were provided for a quick snack in the am.
All in all, we'd stop there again when travelling in the area.

Room Tip: Away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenandoah_Gifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnsouthsandu, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn South, responded to this review, June 10, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you had a pleasant experience with us and could only find minor issues with which to find fault. Nothing means more to us than a pleasant guest experience. Since your stay, we’ve made a number of changes and improvements that make the guest experience better, and I hope you will try us again soon -- if you haven’t already. We’re always here when you need us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
0.8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
0.9 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.3 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#11 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milan Sandusky
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#21 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn South

Property: Rodeway Inn South
Address: 2905 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn South 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer free WI-FI, digital cable including HBO, and a seasonal outdoor pool. We serve fresh coffee from 6AM through 9AM every morning. We are just 2 miles from Cedar Point, across the street from Goofy Golf, and minutes from many restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn South Hotel Sandusky
Rodeway Inn Cedar Point South
Rodeway Inn Sandusky
Rodeway Inn South Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing