We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cute!”

Merry-Go-Round Museum
Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Very Cute!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a cute little place! We thought it was nice to see how things were created and the kids had a blast on the merry-go-round! :) It was a "short" visit, not much to say to 2-4yr olds but it was a good choice to check it out!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RomoChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    53
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“A really great quick stop that is entertaining for the whole family - don't let the word "Museum" scare you off.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

When my wife suggested we make a stop and visit this museum after our two night stay at Breakers Express, I wasn't too excited, but am now glad we stopped. This is a Wonderful place to visit and really can be seen in a couple hours.

The admission price is extremely reasonable for what you will see. The admission price includes a ride on the carousel in the museum (more on this later.) The ride is for people of all ages...not just children. The Carousel consists of "animals" from not only several different old carousels, but also some animals that were hand carved right there at the museum. It is a great way to see how carousels operate.

As part of your admission, there is a "carver's corner" where one of the Carvers will come every half hour and explain the process that the carvers use to create new figures and, more importantly, to restore old carousel figures that are brought to the museum for repair/restoration. Since there are usually not many people at the museum, you can interact with the carver and have a lot of questions answered.

The museum has many carousel figurines (mostly horses) that tell the story of carousels. It is a self guided tour that you take at your own pace. They have a small gift shop as well as restrooms. There are no refreshment venues in the museum. As I stated before, you can tour the entire museum in less than 2 hours so food is not an issue.

The museum is located in the old Sandusky Post Office, which itself has wonderful architexture. The lobby of the museum is the lobby of the old post office and has kept many of the old post office fixtures and counters.

A really great quick stop that is entertaining for the whole family...I highly reccommend this museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JECOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of a museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Few people have heard of this museum, much less visited it, but I'm sure that no one leaves disappointed. It contains an exquisite collection of antique carousel animals, wonderfully carved and painted. Some of them are stranger than you would suspect, but all of them are restored beautifully. After inspecting the displays, watch carvers meticulously restore old carousel animals, then take a ride on a fully restored Allan Herschell Carousel while the band-organ plays. Guides are very helpful in telling you the history of carousels. I'm looking forward to going again. It's worth a sidetrack off your main route to a vacation destination. Admission is reasonable. http://www.merrygoroundmuseum.org/tour/

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DebErlanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, OH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were greeted pleasantly and given a tour and the history of each and every horse and character. They explained why certain ones were placed in different spots on a carrousel and how it evolved to mostly horses It was VERY interesting and well worth the visit. The Merry-go-round was an awesome ride. Haven't been on one since I was a child.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Pieces of Art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have actually been twice. The first trip the tour was very informative and intriguing.The second was the last tour of the day so it was quiet and we got to talk with the tour guides more and had the place to ourselves. The animals are absolutely gorgeous and very well designed! The carousel was in tip-top shape and colorful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TShayJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merry-Go-Round Museum also viewed

 

Been to Merry-Go-Round Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing