We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and perks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here with some family members back in June 2013. Overall perks: the shuttle bus to the park, the early entry the next morning, and the DEAL on the park entry fee.

The room: our room was very clean, with a cute balcony that was great for relaxing with a cup of tea at the end of the day. The fridge was also very handy for keeping extra bottle of water cool for the next day. The room was also a great size - more than enough room for four adults. The bathroom was very clean. Our room had a separate area for the "living room" and "bedroom" which was perfect for sleeping and getting ready in the morning. Same with the separate sink from the toilet/shower.

Great stay - I'd highly recommend the Sandcastle Suites.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TB3410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you, we appreciate your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 545 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Sand Castle hotel is terrible. My husband and I and a 14 years old brother stayed at Sand Castle for four nights. There are so many flies in the room. The room is very dirty. The sink and the bath tub are not draining. We addressed to the front desk. They took no actions.
Every day there is no housekeeping. I waited in the room after our second night stay to wait for them to clean our room. Nobody came until 5pm. The house keeping ladies gave me some new towels and I asked, "Could you guys clean our room?" One of them told me "No, it's after five pm now. We don't do any cleaning."
I was totally shocked. With average, I paid US$400/ night, total US$1700 for four nights stay and I didn't get any cleaning.
It was absolutely disgusting. The housekeeping ladies are rude. Then, my husband and I went up to the front desk and addressed the housekeeping issues and the sink and tub not draining. The front desk ladies just laughed and said, "Oh, I am sorry. We couldn't do anything about it. And about housekeeping, we have no control over them. They clean or not. It is totally up to them."
What even worse is that the house keeping ladies forced me to sign a paper stating that I am satisfied with their service after they gave me the towels without doing any work to my room. My husband had to take the trash out himself and I had to pick up all the towels to give to them.

Flies everywhere in the room.
Terrible stay.
Better stay away.
Also, it is 10 minutes walk to the park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c_callyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

I'm sorry to hear about your experience with us and how it was handled. So that we can look into this more, please contact Paul, the hotel manager, at 419-609-2024. We appreciate the opportunity to correct this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Staying at this "resort" is strictly about location. You can park and walk or ride shuttles to anywhere on the Cedar Point property. The rooms are dated and small for the number of people they claim can reside in them. The room was reasonably clean and well maintained. Staff was helpful and polite. If you can book into the Hotel Breakers also on the property it is about 1/3 the walk to the amusement park that Sandcastle Suites is.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Sandcastle suites in July 2013 with 6 people in our room. The room was adequate for 6 people but sharing one bathroom can be a challenge with that many people in the room. The room was clean and comfortable. Our kids slept on the Queen beds in the bedroom and my husband and I slept on the sofabed.

I was concerned staying here because other reviews said the sofabeds were not comfortable, but we had no problems crashing for the night and woke up ready to go the next a.m.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is close to Soak City and the Resort Entrance to Cedar Point - it's about a 5 minute walk. If you want to enter the park thru a differnet entrance, they have a shuttle that picks you up at the hotel and will drop you at any entrance. We used this multiple times and it worked great. Sometimes you are just too tired after a day in the park to think about walking back and this was the perfect solution.

Combine the location with the early entry to the park (we were walking on the popular rollercoasters the first 45 minutes) and Sandcastle suites can't be beat.

The kids were able to go back to the hotel anytime they wanted...which was very convenient and they couldn't have done that if we stayed off property.

The downside? No free breakfast offered - but there is a fridge in the room and we brought our own milk, cereal, granola bars, fruit, etc and had breakfast in our room before we headed out for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you, we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, a little on the small side though. We rode the shuttle to the gate. Made the mistake of walking back to the hotel. It is quite a walk when you are tired. The balcony was the only thing I did not like. The floors are wood like a deck. You can see through the spaces to the balcony above or below you. Not really very private. Overall we had a great stay if you don't count the flat tire we had. It is a little pricey but you are at a lakefront hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I'm sorry to hear about your flat tire but glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The good: Short walk to both the water park and Cedar Point. As a family of 5, we appreciate the fold out couch. Most places only accommodate 4 people and want to charge you for two rooms if you have more than 4. You can head back to the room for a nap or an inexpensive lunch when you stay here and with cheese burgers at $9 in the park, a picnic in the room starts to make sense. The bathrooms are nicer than the last time we were here and the carpet was in better shape.
The not-so-good: Little pricey, rooms a bit small and you can hear every door slam and every kid that wins a basketball at CP as they dribble them back to their rooms. CP hires a lot of college students and more and more of them don't speak or understand English very well so questions sometimes don't get answered.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Your review was very helpful. Thank you for taking the time to provide it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is a great location, however the room was pretty jammed for 6 of us. The rooms are out of date and need updated. The hotel hot tub was gross and has not been cleaned all summer we could write on the sides of it ew!!!

Room Tip: If there are only four of you id stay here but six is too much! The view is really pretty though!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about the hot tub, we will check on this right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
3.2 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
4.3 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
301 reviews
13.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.5 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
5.5 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites

Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Sandusky, OH 44870-5259
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $225 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close enough to the fun, yet secluded and relaxing, Sandcastle Suites has something for every member of your family. This all-suite hotel offers rooms with the features families want: flat-panel TVs, refreshed rooms, and screened in balconies. Situated at the tip of the Cedar Point Peninsula, Sandcastle Suites brings you dramatic views of Lake Erie and Sandusky Bay. Its 187 suites are equipped with conveniences like microwave ovens, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and refrigerators. Three of the suites are Grand Vista Suites, with Jacuzzis and wraparound decks or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Sandusky
Sandcastle Resort Sandusky
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing