We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Read the reviews before we got here and we had low or no expectations. As a matter of fact my wife was so concerned we almost cancelled our reservations. Really glad we did not. There were 5 of us in one suite. A little cramped, but adequate. This is not a Hilton, but we really enjoyed staying here so close to the parks, the reason we came. Lots of seagulls, bugs, and HEAT. The pool was great. The room was adequate, the Cafe was good ( keep in mind only open for breakfast and dinner). Everything was pricy, but was great. Our 3 grandchildren haven't had this much fun since Disney. It was great time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We're glad to hear about your family's trip. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    150
    117
    73
    77
See reviews for
352
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bell Buckle, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

All around, no major negatives. Loved the suite. We had a full lake view room with a screened in balcony. It was nice to have screen because of the mayflies were heavy at the time. The room rate was high, but worth the things that accompany it. The free parking saved me 30 bucks (15/car) The free shuttle to the marina, parks, and hotels saved me tons of walking. The hour early to the park was also very nice. Not to mention the steep discount on the park tickets. Only thing I dislike about all resort style hotels is that breakfast isnt free. But i knew it wouldnt be so i wasnt updet about it. There is no beach at this hotel, but they have a nice pool area, but who has time for that when cedar point is that close to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank so_many_dynamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed our time at the Sandcastle Suites! Everyone was very friendly and helpful!
The view was great of the lake and pool area! The room was very clean. The bathroom was set up nicely with the tub/toilet in a separate area from the sink so two people could be getting ready to go to bed or to go out for the day. We liked this feature very much!
It was a great family weekend to relax and enjoy our time together.
We love Cedar Point and Sandcastle's location to the park was perfect! Getting in an hour early to get a head start was also a plus!
We hope to make this an annual event!
Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Sounds like a great weekend. Thank you for coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My daughters and I stayed at Sandcastle for about a week during the 4th of July holiday. We are from Texas, so we were not familiar with the area (except Cedar Point). The front desk staff was incredibly nice and helpful with local eating places, the weather, and knowledge of Cedar Point. The rooms were very nice and clean and the beds -- even the pull-out sofa -- were comfortable. Something I never see mentioned in reviews is water pressure in the shower -- ours was GREAT! Seems like an odd thing to comment on, but nothing stinks worse than coming in from a long day of doing stuff and having a wimpy shower that runs out of hot water quickly -- we didn't have that issue at all! I would (and have) recommend Sandcastle if you are staying in the Cedar Point area.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake are wonderful. Balcony is a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Juli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I would highly recommend Sandcastle Suites and would stay there again the next time I plan a Cedar Point vacation. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. When we asked for more towels or sheets, they were at our door within minutes. The staff was very helpful in getting park shuttles as well. The rooms were clean and a good value for the price. Being able to get discounted park tickets, free parking, and early entrance to the parks was a great bonus and made the room a good value for us! We were so busy that we didn't even have time for the pools so I would have liked to have stayed a little longer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SAR5690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We hope you can stay longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location is the Main attraction for us. Being able to walk or take the FREE shuttle service back to your room at anytime from the park(s) is awesome. In Addition, the Very Clean rooms and Friendly Staff make it that much better.

Cedar Point allows food and beverage carry-ins, (note: soak city does not for safety reasons) which makes keeping snacks and drinks in your room a very affordable way stay refreshed. Also the convenience stores in the lobbies and especially at Camper Village and the Marina have very reasonable prices on Soda, Food and Beer all within a short walk.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms, top floor, seem to have less noise intrusion from rowdy guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RobertH1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sandcastle Suites for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

we enjoyed our stay. much roomier than Hotel Breakers, where we have stayed previously. close enough to walk to the park, and the shuttle service was OK too. my only complaint would be the large amount of dead bugs floating in the pool in the morning. we swam before checking out, the pool definately needed to be skimmed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you, we will keep an eye on the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
4.3 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
278 reviews
13.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
6.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
5.5 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 35 in Sandusky
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites

Property: Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Sandusky, OH 44870-5259
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close enough to the fun, yet secluded and relaxing, Sandcastle Suites has something for every member of your family. This all-suite hotel offers rooms with the features families want: flat-panel TVs, refreshed rooms, and screened in balconies. Situated at the tip of the Cedar Point Peninsula, Sandcastle Suites brings you dramatic views of Lake Erie and Sandusky Bay. Its 187 suites are equipped with conveniences like microwave ovens, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and refrigerators. Three of the suites are Grand Vista Suites, with Jacuzzis and wraparound decks or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Sandusky
Sandcastle Resort Sandusky
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing