We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No restful sleep - 6+ fire alarms over 2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Silver Lake, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“No restful sleep - 6+ fire alarms over 2 night stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

The upside to the hotel is the close proximity to the parks. We could walk to Soak City and Cedar Point. The view was beautiful. But, we arrived on Thursday afternoon and were plagued with more than 6 fire alarms over the course of our stay...and at random times. Not the 5am wake up call I wanted for my "vacation"! I have little kids and they of course were very frightened by these, so much so, they wanted to go home. I also felt that the staff did not adequately handle nor communicate to the guests any information to ease our feelings in regards to the re-occurances of these. Very disappointing for the price we paid to stay at this location.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay, opt for the waterview, but don't go out on the balcony without shoes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    149
    115
    73
    76
See reviews for
350
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel was a let down. They call it a "suite" but in reality it's like the size of my bedroom. Very small bathroom. No fan I the bathroom. Uncomfortable beds. Pool was really small especially with all the people that stay there. Your not supposed to swim in the beach like they don't make clear. You were able to get into the park an hour early but only 4 rides are open. The wifi there absolutely SUCKS! they dont have high speed Internet. You have to pay 30$ for a tiny breakfast buffet it was a let down for our family. You can go to holiday inn & get high speed Internet a big indoor & outdoor pool, bigger rooms, free continental breakfast for like 90$ a night. Sandacastle suites is a rip off. Just great location with the park.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShakeNBakeEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Highland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was possibly the worst hotel I have every stayed in; and I've experienced some doozies. Especially at this price point - just under $300/night. Where do I begin? First we booked for five people and there were only three towels. The toilet paper was not refilled during our entire stay - which caused me to go get some from the absolutely filthy public restroom off the lobby. The beds were probably amazing - twenty or years ago - they were absolutely the worst hotel beds I've slept on in ages. The wireless internet was down, forcing me to go to find an Internet connection to get out a big proposal while the kids waited - and we missed the Early Entry into the Park which was one of the reasons we booked there. Apparently the hotel has been added onto because there was an AC HOT air vent that was supposed to dump hot air outside dumping VERY HOT air directly into the hall that we had to use to access our room - quite unpleasant! The sheet did not fit the bed - short flat sheets that didn't even cover the entire old-used-up mattress. The lights flickered. The bathroom was in very poor repair - tiles cracked, toilet seat loose, and overall just a bit grungy. The 'sleeper couch' was not suitable for sleep or couch duties - where did they get this, Salvation Army. We will NEVER stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Find a nice quality hotel in the area and skip the poorly maintained Cedar Point owned properties (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

When I booked on the phone I was very clear that we wanted beach front with amenities and was told Sandcastle was the same as The Breakers but better since it is suites. Wrong. It is suites which is nice to have the space and the fridge with kids. The rooms are ok but need updating: Jirmack toiletries in the room (didn't know they were still in business), ceiling fan was missing a blade, closet door broken, etc. They have a small balcony which is nice. The pool area is basic but there was a loud high pitched buzzing noise from the motor(?) and there is no swimming and no chairs at the beach. Breakfast buffet is terrible and should at least be included for $300/night.
The Breakers on the other hand is a beautiful old hotel which has a nice pool, great beach area with chairs, indoor pool, restaurants and is closer to the park. It is a far nicer hotel and we spent most of our time there. The shuttle service between the hotels and the park is very good.They told us the rooms are less updated than sandcastle. All in all we had a great time- it was so convenient to be in the park and get early entry. I would recommend Sandcastle only if you need the extra room, just manage expectations for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savvyexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights last week - it was not great. The rooms are quite small for being suites. The beds were made up with flat rather than fitted sheets (not a huge issue) except that the bottom 6-8 inches were not covered - I have never!! had that happen before. The food in the Breakwater cafe was ok although they ran out of white sugar - our waitress suggested that we talk to a manager - bizarre. I would suggest that for the high cost of the room you would be better to stay off resort and spring for the Fast Lane - it worked much better than the early entry for my coaster fans. Also a nauseating fruity sort of smell in the hallways 2/3 days we were there had us all trying to hold our breath between the room and the outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermione5677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This place is GREAT! The pool was nice. Water warm, surrounding area clean and well kept. The rooms were a decent size, but most important they were clean and very cool. The beds were very comfortable, but the sofa bed not so much. If you have more than 5 people in a room bring an air mattress to sleep on. This was well worth the money we spent. It was great to have a place to go during the day to eat, relax, cool off. Very close to the park, only took about 5 mins. to walk over. Was fun looking at the different campers on the way to the park, too. It's all about location, and I would recommend this place to anyone. I don't ever want to go to Cedar Point again without having a room to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

First time we ever stayed overnight at Cedar Point and it was a great experience, I hope to stay every year from now on. Friendly staff, clean and cool rooms. The beds were comfortable but the sofa bad was really bad, luckily we had 5 in our party and not 6; we ended up folding the bed back up and my niece slept on the couch-that was a lot more comfortable! Great to have a place to relax, eat, rejuvenate and cool off in during the day. And no traffic to sit thru-another plus! I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
6.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.2 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.5 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites

Property: Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites
Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr., Sandusky, OH 44870
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close enough to the fun, yet secluded and relaxing, Sandcastle Suites has something for every member of your family. This all-suite hotel offers rooms with the features families want: flat-panel TVs, refreshed rooms, and screened in balconies. Situated at the tip of the Cedar Point Peninsula, Sandcastle Suites brings you dramatic views of Lake Erie and Sandusky Bay. Its 187 suites are equipped with conveniences like microwave ovens, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, and refrigerators. Three of the suites are Grand Vista Suites, with Jacuzzis and wraparound decks or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Sandusky
Sandcastle Resort Sandusky
Cedar Point's Sandcastle Suites Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing