We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“room double booked hotel nasty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Sandusky North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Sandusky North
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“room double booked hotel nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

ok my wife and i where up at this hotel this past weekend. checked in around 11AM went to cedar point for the day came back around 1am. found someone in our room. how is this possible? the front desk moved us to another room where floors where nasty with dirty and grim on floor.

ashes where everywhere in the room phone was so nasty i was affraid to touch it. room where very dirty, would never stay here again, beds where not comfy at all either. dont stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaron001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    64
    79
    69
    73
See reviews for
165
57
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pelee island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The lovely reception area and front desk people are the only good things about this place! The pool was filled with greenish black scum, our room was filthy, with crayon marks on the t.v., bugs and cobwebs everywhere, 3 bathroom tiles on the bedroom counter, other people's garbage on the unvacuumed rug, only one hand towel for the whole room, in-room safe locked, mildew everywhere, filthy walls, windows not cleaned in years, but better than the disgusting breakfast area, with flies buzzing around the uncovered food. Called the front desk to complain about the room just after we checked in and they were closed at 11 p.m. Cannot warn you enough! STAY AWAY! We were told the next day that all the cleaning staff had been fired two weeks before! So the beds had been made, but there were hairs and scum in the bathtub. Never again. I would rather sleep in the car.

Room Tip: IRooms at the back should be quiet as they are further from the road, but it seemed like party centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pelee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My son & I checked in and checked out two hours later. Upon entering the room we immediately noticed a mildew or musty smell. The black mold/mildew was 6 to 8 inches high on the tile around the tub. We had been at an outdoor activity all day, in August, and were looking forward to cooling off in the pool... DISGUSTING! It appeared not to have been vacuumed in weeks. The final straw: I went into the bathroom, closed the door and there was a wet bath towel hanging on the back of the door; it was not ours. We found another property and checked out. The lady at the front desk was extremely kind and helpful. She was the only satisfying thing about this property. Don't Go!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JesusFreakToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We unexpectedly came into Sandusky and had our dog with us so this was the only place we could find that would take pets. The bathroom was so disgusting, there was mold in between the ceiling tiles. The floor was just as bad. The bed sheets were stained and the pillows had big yellow stains on them like someone had drooled all over them. Around 1am we were awakened by some partiers right outside our front door. They were drinking, smoking and swearing, waking up our 9 year old. Then in the morning we found beer cans everywhere. There was garbage behind our beds and dresser. There was so much static on the TV that we could barely watch anything. This is by far the most disgusting hotel stay we have ever had. AVOID THE SUPER8 IN SANDUSKY, OHIO. We stayed in room 133.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hygieneguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at this location for 2 nights, thankfully we did not have to stay in the room very much! The air conditioner cover was falling off, there were bugs in the bathroom, the vent in the bathroom was so loud it was almost intolerable. The tv wasn't plugged in and the batteries in the remote were dead, room service was very rude when we asked for replacement batteries. No bulbs in the lamps...I could go on and on... The check in clerk was very nice and if you could stand showering around the bugs, there was hot water for days. It was uber hot and there was one ice machine for the whole place and an empty swimming pool!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaleigh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We called ahead to reserve a NON SMOKING suite. We were told there was only one suite available so we took it. Having had a good experience with the Super 8 we visited in St. Charles, MO, we looked forward to a similar experience here. We were WRONG, and we stayed only because we were too exhausted to search for another motel. We were given a SMOKING room that reeked naturally of cigarettes; thankfully there was a Walmart in walking distance so my husband bought some Febreeze. If a smoke smell was "the worst" we could deal with it. Alas, as time went on we discovered more: The outdoor pool was GREEN and CLOUDY. No way we would swim in it. The bathroom was **DISGUSTING** - the grout on the floor and the shower was filthy dirty; so dirty that I didn't want to step on the floor in my bare feet. The bathroom ceiling had a bulging hole above the toilet that looked like it had been there a while. The toilet had a difficult time flushing.There were dead bugs and goldfish crackers on the floor in the room. The continental breakfast was mediocre - the coffee was undrinkable. Overall: YUCK.

Room Tip: Choose a good room by choosing a different motel!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
2 Thank KarenRice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Booked a night at the Super 8 Sandusky North as a place to stay after visiting Cedar Point. We checked in at about 5:30 pm and the man at the front desk was very unwelcoming. He barely spoke to me, just looked at me when I approached the counter after waiting 15 min for the couple before me to finish their check in, even though there was another employee working at the desk just doing small tasks. The room was very plain with old furniture and carpet. Everything was just acceptable enough to stay. After resting for a few minutes we decided to try the pool. After getting ready and walking to the pool we turned right back around and back to our room. The pool was gross! There was rust all along the edges near the stairs and a cloudy muck in the water. Toward the deeper end, you could not even see the bottom. Even ther area around the pool was unkept. After retuning to the room I made a visit to the front desk to ask for a few more pillows. The same man was at the desk and again just looked at me. While I waited for him to go in the back to put pillowcases on some pillows for me, a pizza delivery guy came to the door with a giant box and knocked on the door until I went and let him in. It was just a little strange.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dobby829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.6 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#14 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sandusky North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sandusky North

Property: Super 8 Sandusky North
Address: 5410 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sandusky North 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Sandusky North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Sandusky North Hotel Sandusky
Super 8 Sandusky North Ohio
Super Eight Sandusky
Sandusky Super Eight
Sandusky Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing