We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Water park and cheerleading

Great time here and the family loved it. We were down for a cheerleading competition. Lots to do... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Chad V
via mobile
Housekeeping

I would like to make sure that Erdis gets noticed and complimented for going above and beyond to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Tammy M
,
Frankenmuth, Michigan
via mobile
Read all 1,257 reviews
  
Reviews (1,257)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveler rating
593
386
143
64
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
386
143
64
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor waterpark wave pool water park ivory coast candy hut all ages lazy river room was clean full kitchen zip coaster room key hot tub breakfast buffet pizza great wolf lodge animal park day pass
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We booked a two night trip in advance and just found out the same room was now almost 50 dollars cheaper a night. We called to see if they would honor the new rate but they wouldn't do it without charging us a fee. What a scam. They just lost years of our business for 25 dollars! We will go elsewhere.

1  Thank Passenger02984033465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We usually spend out long weekend getaways at Great Wolf Lodge in Sandusky. We decided to try Kalahari. We won't be coming back. During the busy check out time when we arrived to start using the water park, they had 3 employees at the front desk and the line was wrapped around the check out area and into the lobby.

The park itself is very large, but aside from the amenities that provides, the set up means loads of walking. And poor visibility to the rest of the park.

Once we got our room, which was in the 1200s, there was not a single sign indicating where those rooms would be. A the signs had directions for 2200s and up, which seemed confusing that they omitted an entire floor. Once we arrived, our wrist bands did not work at our room. So back to waiting in the very long front desk line.

Overall, we did not feel like the stay was worthwhile. The arcade is pricier than other resorts with fewer payouts. There is too much walking and trying figure out where to go without signs to direct.

Not a fun stay.

1  Thank Hollee Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would like to make sure that Erdis gets noticed and complimented for going above and beyond to make sure our stay at Kalahari was great. He was always asking if we needed anything and acknowledged everyone that came across his path in some way. He was a shining star and made our stay much more pleasant.

Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great time here and the family loved it. We were down for a cheerleading competition. Lots to do and generally clean. Had one incident with a set of stairs smelling of urine. The wave pool was very wavy. A friend pulled a younger girl from under the waves so you need to make sure you keep your eyes on your kids. The res tofu the slides and rides were great.
A definite mist go if you like water parks. And we only were indoors. The outside park was closed for the winter!

Thank Chad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on fall break when there weren't a lot of people there. The ambient temperature that they claim to be 84* year round was between 62-64 the entire time. We had to cut our swimming time down drastically due to our daughter's lips turning blue and her uncontrollable shivering. When it was brought up to a lifeguard (the only employee we could find), she stated yes it was freezing in there, and it happens frequently. When we emailed about it (again due to lack of management presence), we were blown off and informed that they had a "maintenance team that works tirelessly" and that our feedback will be used for better guest experiences. Well, we won't have another experience there, we will stick with the other two major indoor waterpark companies that care about all guest's satisfaction.

1  Thank tovia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with my boyfriend a few years ago and it was awesome. The more recent trip this week proved to be not so awesome. It was pretty cold to start out with, they need to have it slightly warmer in the winter months. The water was cold. There were toenail clippings, hair, and bandaids scattered across the floor. The lifeguards do not enforce weight limits on rides. The staff does not care about line jumping. They also do not enforce the "must watch your children if they are under 14" policy. I used to really like it here. Makes me really sad we paid so much for just an "okay", experience.

2  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We come to Kalahari once a year for the last 6 years. When we visited this time, we were given a RFID wristband to use as our room key, waterpark access as well as cashless purchase. The entrance to the waterpark is now guarded by a staff member and we had to scan the wristband to get it. They also enforce the no outside food and drink policy. We booked 3 rooms and had to purchase one extra wristband for $50 plus tax which is $9 cheaper than a regular day pass.
We booked one Hut and 2 Desert room and we were upgraded to 3 Hut room by the friendly front staff member. The Hut room come with a balcony which is perfect for the last warm weekend. All the room were clean and nicely decorated as usual. The cleaning staff were friendly and hardworking.
The waterpark was well maintained and staff members were professional. We were disappointed that the new ride "Storm Chaser" was closed. But since all the other rides were operational, we spent almost 2 days there and the kids had a lot of fun. Beside the rides, there are lot of spot for photo spot or you can just relax in front of the wave pool.
We took advantage of the special discount and checked in on Sunday. Our wristband was good for both Sunday and Monday even after we checked out of our room at 11am. So in essence, we had four 2-days pass and a room for one night at a very reasonable rate.
We definitely would recommend Kalahari to everyone.

1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Nice fun waterpark. If you go in the off time, there aren't any lines and very few people in the waterpark during the day. Good attentive lifeguards!

Thank Travelduo415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed Kalahari. It was a very very nice place to stay. There conferences are huge and the staff are so so polite I will be sure to be back. Thank you

Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We found this giant gem after stopping in Sandusky, Ohio in January for other reasons. During a visit to a local marina, we asked the salesman for some ideas for our daughter. When we mentioned another waterpark that was near our hotel, he immediately stated "NO". He suggested Kalahari and stated it was the Disney of waterparks. He was so right. There is so much to do for everyone, including an adult bar/hot tub that allows you to sit outside or in. There are so many slides, along with a giant wave pool and lazy river. There is also a kid's area for the smaller ones to enjoy.
They have a variety of food from fresh made pizza to salads that can be purchased within the waterpark. The establishment has a couple of restaurants, as well as an icecream stand, coffee shop, bakery/ sweet treats and souvenir shops. There is so much to do including an outdoor waterpark during summer months, a craft center for kids, game rooms with mini golf and much more! If you wish to stay the night, there is an attached hotel, however, it is recommended to book ahead of time. They do sell out, especially during peak times when children are off of school. We found the price for Kalahari matches other parks but has everything under one roof!

Thank Q4680BKtracyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews