We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet BB with cool rooms”

The Simpson-Flint House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandusky
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Simpson-Flint House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Sandusky B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet BB with cool rooms”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This place is a gem. A couple of huge rooms you can get with massive baths, very quiet and non-chalant location that is close to everything from the marinas, restaurants, and piers. People are very nice and seems to have availabilty pretty consistantly

Room Tip: Can be hard to find on the corner of 2 streets and only marking is on the front entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I cannot say enough about how wonderful the Simpson-Flint house is, and what amazing hosts Jon and Cindy are. Staying here completely made our trip and it will not be forgotten. My husband and I traveled to Sandusky for the Cedar Point triathlon and I couldn't be happier that we stayed at this B&B instead of one of the other hotels in the area. Jon & Cindy were so wonderful to spend time with and were MORE than accommodating for everything we needed, even our very early "race-morning" breakfast time. Cindy is an amazing cook and the dining room was gorgeous. Our bedroom was so comfortable, and I looked forward to walking in the house and our room every time we arrived back at the property. The location was perfect. Only a block or so from restaurants and sports bars. Zinc and Crush are just around the corner and are excellent quality. It was only a 4 mile drive over to Cedar Point for the race activities. We've stayed in several B&B's and this was by far the best experience we've ever had.
We are so happy to have met such great people, and hope to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAlison_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a wonderful experience with our Labor Day Weekend stay at the Simpson-Flint House. Jon and Cindy are fun and interesting hosts. The Victorian home is beautiful and filled with antiques. We stayed in the Green Room and were very comfortable. Everything was immaculate, the breakfasts were superb - Cindy is an incredible cook! When we travel, we always try to stay in B&B's - and this one is as good as it gets!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Simpson-Flint house is conveniently located near the ferry and amusement park in Sandusky, making it a hot commodity in the area (especially if you're interested in avoiding chain hotels, like we do!). Breakfast was good, our room was moderately clean, and the hosts were friendly. Rooms could use a bit of updating, and the bed could be more comfortable. We're likely going to recommend this B&B to our friends headed to Sandusky for summer fun!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyyogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

So far in my travels, this is the only B & B at which I have stayed more than once. I've now stayed here four times, most recently in the spring of 2011. I've gone with my teenage son who loves Sandusky's main attraction, Cedar Point. On two of the trips we have had other family or friends join us. Here are the things I enjoy most about it: the owners Jon and Cindy are welcoming, friendly, helpful, engaging and interesting; they put on a sumptuous breakfast; the rooms are cozy without being small, and tastefully appointed; the beds are very comfortable; the location very near the quiet but well restored downtown is convenient and peaceful; it is only a few minutes by car from Cedar Point; the house is beautiful and lovingly maintained and decorated. Jon is very Republican and I'm a social democrat from Canada, but we get along famously. We've stayed in one of Cedar Point's Hotels, the Breakers Express, where you get typical hotel air, white noise, a low quality serve-yourself breakfast, and no one to talk to. For me, there is just no comparison.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I was traveling solo for business (I do business with Cedar Point) and decided to stay with John and Cindy as opposed to the overpriced 1 and 2 star hotels in the area. I had previously stayed at the local Best Western and I was thoroughly underwhelmed. Well, I have to say, I made the right decision. The room was fantastic, the high-speed Internet worked perfectly, the breakfast was incredible, and I was even able to walk to dinner to meet my client at Zinc Brasserie. This is the experience you want to have in Sandusky!

John and Cindy are fantastic people and I will certainly be back every year and eventually with my whole family when my kids are old enough to enjoy Cedar Point.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDC_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay. John and Cindy were great hosts and the food was fantastic. The location is great, as it is close to the downtown area. If you stay here, I highly recommend eating at the Zinc for dinner - some of the best food we have ever had!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theherks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Farrell House Lodge
Farrell House Lodge
#1 of 8 in Sandusky
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kilbourne
Hotel Kilbourne
#2 of 5 in Sandusky
11 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Simpson-Flint House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Simpson-Flint House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Simpson-Flint House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 234 E Washington St, Sandusky, OH 44870-2611
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Simpson-Flint House Bed And Breakfast Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing