We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed, especially for children and what this meal cost”

Danny Boy's Italian Eatery
Ranked #8 of 183 Restaurants in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very impressed, especially for children and what this meal cost”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Reataurant is between Great Wolf and Kalahari. $41 plus tip for breadsticks app, small cheese pizza, chicken parm sub, side salad, two kids spaghetti, one glass of wine, one iced tea and 2 root beers. They even brought the sauce on the side for the kids "because small children sometimes like it that way". Lots of food, and frankly, it was excellent. When you walk in you'll see all sorts of ribbons for having won pizza contests. I see why this restaurant won. Will go back again on the next Cedar Point trip for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauldieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    71
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pizza and service”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were hungry after driving in from Chicago and checking into the Kalahari, right across the street. This place was convenient, and the portions were huge. The pizza was awesome, and that's coming from a Chicago style pizza snob. Drinks were fast to come and to be refilled, and our large group (8) was seated immediately. Food was half the price of the resort, and the pizza is so much tastier than the cardboard crust stuff that is served at the resort for twice the price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sorry we waited so long!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have passed this restaurant numerous times on our trips to the lake. Decided we wanted to try someplace new and so stopped by based on reviews. Are SO glad we did and sorry it took us this long to try! While the decor is interesting but a bit tired, the food is fantastic. We decided to start with the bread sticks -- OMG, were they awesome! The bread was simply unbelievable; the pizza dipping sauce not so much but the bread simply didn't need enhancements. Ordered The Clevelander Pie and the Jimmy Whispers Italian sub to share. Fantastic! The pizza was a thin New York crust with the sauce Chicago style on top. This gave it a unique flavor that would be hard to beat. The sub was huge and although the ingredients were your typical Italian sub the bread was outstanding and the interior fresh and tasty. Unfortunately our visit ended on a down note when we each headed to the restrooms. These need some SERIOUS help! The doors don't lock unless you happen to see the slide bolt 6 feet up and need some immediate updates. Compared to the remainder of the restaurant these are a disgrace. However, can't wait to go back to try more items on the menu -- just making that pit stop someplace nicer -- like a gas station!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeChuckII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere and pizza....ONLY”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were staying at Kalahari which is across the street and almost walkable - maybe 1/2 mile. We wanted to try food outside the hotel. The best things about Danny Boys are the atmosphere and the pizza. They have multiple cozy dining rooms decorated with posters of Godfather, Goodfellas, etc. including autographed memorabilia. The dining room we were in had a big screen tv also. The pizza crust is great, the deep dish even better.
The downsides were the staff (slow, inattentive service), the lack of breadsticks (you have to order them as an appetizer or wait for one single roll with your meal), and I can't believe a restaurant of that size has a one person bathroom. The pasta meals were pretty good, parents should know that the spaghetti sauce and meatballs tries to be authentic with carrot chunks in the sauce and onion chunks in the meatballs - which small kids may or may not like. The alfredo sauce was thick and clumpy, I don't recommend it. Prices for the pasta dishes were very high - $10-$17 for basic stuff and includes one roll and a very basic small salad.
Stick with the pizza, give yourself a lot of time (maybe bring a deck of cards), and find a restroom before you go there, and you'll enjoy yourself.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KikisDeliveryService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, average service”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I love the food and atmosphere here. The food is rich and they have huge portions. I especially love the Perfectly Frank Fettuccine. There is amazing decor throughout the first two rooms. Their large room where I suppose you could have a small banquet, is rather bereft of the love obviously put into the rest of the restaurant. Service was average. I felt largely ignored, and my drink ran empty twice without a server to be seen (let alone mine).

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank JokerBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Danny Boy's Italian Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing