We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rides galore”

Cedar Point Amusement Park
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than just an amusement park, Cedar Point features hotels, restaurants, beautiful grounds along with an impressive variety of thrill-rides.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Akron, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“rides galore”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Park has about 75 rides from children's to adult. Spent all my time with the rides while skipping meals. Ate a big meal at camp before heading out there. Gatekeeper was the new wing coaster this year. I was able to ride it twice on both side in about a half hour. Maybe it was the 92 degree temperature and humidity that sent many to either Soak City next door or back to their hotel rooms nearby which was during the afternoon hours. Top Thrill Dragster had its usual breakdowns which I knew about already. Fast Lane people were not much of a problem to me since I was there in the middle of the week but probably worse on weekends so I was able to ride on my all my favorites including all coasters. One word of advice on visiting on hot and humid days is to keep your hydrated at much as possible. Free drinking water is available at all fountains outside of all restrooms. Some people got sick due to dehydration.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,575
    1,309
    381
    193
    140
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Built for roller coaster enthusiasts!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

As a Floridian, I have high expectations in regards to theme parks. The most important part being the roller coasters and this one exceeded expectations. Stay at a Cedar Point hotel (we stayed at the no-frills, least expensive one, the Breakers Express) which gives you early entry to the park. This is a must if you want to ride all the amazing roller coasters with minimum lines. We made the line to enter the park very early and ran to our must-do's. We knocked out all the major roller coasters by noon and it was awesome. Top Thrill Dragster is a MUST. We did not eat at the park. This is a minimum frills park made for the roller coaster lover, so don't expect any over the top decor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VigorousVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What an experience !”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The park was great. The hotel scene is a little deceptive and of course expensive and you need to do your research when trying to find a place close to the park if you are on a budget.
But as to the park. We had a nice time. Its tight inside. Everything is close together. Lines are extremely long and long waits and we went at the beginning of the week while everyone usually works. We stayed for 2 days. We loved the Awesome thunder.. Wow What a rush but will have to say the long lines and waiting were a terrible downfall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
335 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Best Amusement Park Ever!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This park is the park of parks. There is a reason they have been voted best amusement park for I don't know how may years running now. The roller coaster capital of the world. But it is so much more. It has the original main broad way of parks from the past. Very nostalgic! It even still has sky buckets. I have been everywhere and never see these anymore. The park is beautiful as it is a peninsula in put in bay and the great lake. The atmosphere is so much fun for all ages and amusement park enthusiasts. The food is awesome as is everything. The very best part is you can get a great discount just outside of the park for up to 15.00 dollars off on pepsi products. The park is cheaper priced than other major parks to begin with, but this just adds to how awesome this place is.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So much to do beyond Roller Coasters”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

As someone who is not hard core into Roller Coasters, I still managed to have some fun at Cedar Point!

The park's water rides are well worth some time! Had a great time on their white water rapid ride! Make sure to take some time to explore the park's highly underrated shops and western town. There are great activities like candle making and wood working.

This place also becomes magical at night! Take some time to have a funnel cake and enjoy the LED lights around. We had the most fun between 8pm until close.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BunnyFish7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Point Amusement Park also viewed

 

Been to Cedar Point Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing