We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shuttle bus ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
A TripAdvisor Member
Tecumseh Ontario
11
Reviewed August 30, 2005

Shuttle bus?????
I am sitting in the hotel loby using there free internet access computer.
We were told the shuttle bus would be here at 2:00 pm... it is now 3:40 pm and we are still waiting. The one clerk says the bus called and it was at the park and heading this way but needed to stop for gas. The next clerk says the bus just called him and says he was just here and is now back at the park. If you are comming here because there is a bus, don't bother! I don't think they have one.

Stayed: August 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiogeo1, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

All Rooms are Completely Renovated. Rest Assured. We’ve heard you. See the photos. The hotel guest rooms under went a complete renovation – all rooms are going to be brand new for this coming Summer 2011. Everything! The Comfort Inn Maingate has been modernized and completely refurbished. The breakfast has been expanded providing your morning satisfaction. This hotel will have the newest rooms in Sandusky. We’re 1 block from the entrance to Cedar Point Drive . Give us an opportunity. Thank you …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
There are newer reviews for Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 375 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2005

We stayed at the Maingate Comfort Inn in July 2005 for we thought was going to be a pleasant stay.

Our first problem was the suppose to be 5 minute shuttle bus ride to Cedar Point which turned into an hour trip with no a/c on a overcrowed bus on a hot summer day that lasted close to an hour.

The first misconception was booking this hotel which makes you to believe by paying the extra money with the free shuttle it would allow you to be closest to the park. What is the extra money for?????

We called to complain and the lady at the hotel desk claimed there was nothing she could do about the situation and there would be no discounts.

Once we got back from a tiring day at Cedar Point, we come back to our damp, smelly. buggy hotel room. There was a worm on the bedspread. Luckilly we had our own pillows and blankets from our vehicle to sleep on. Hoping to finally get a good night sleep, around three in the morning, a storm hit and the door blew open with the dead bolt on! How secure is that?

Went to Shower the next morning and had something too disgusting to mention on the towel.

At the time of check-out, we told the worker the rest of our problems with the hotel room and she gave a simply "o well, sorry" as if to say "thats life!"

Later that day when we arrived home, my daughter had realized that she had left an outfit on the bathroom floor that morning. I called to have the clothes shipped back. My daughter was missing an important volleyball shirt which she will need once volleyball season starts.

Sad to say, its been almost a month by now and my daughter has yet still to recieve her clothes. I will never stay at a Comfort inn "hotel" (more like motel) again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nellsiebellsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiogeo1, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

All Rooms are Completely Renovated. Rest Assured. We’ve heard you. See the photos. The hotel guest rooms under went a complete renovation – all rooms are going to be brand new for this coming Summer 2011. Everything! The Comfort Inn Maingate has been modernized and completely refurbished. The breakfast has been expanded providing your morning satisfaction. This hotel will have the newest rooms in Sandusky. We’re 1 block from the entrance to Cedar Point Drive . Give us an opportunity. Thank you …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
niles, mi
1
Reviewed August 6, 2005

Never...EVER stay here in this Black ridden mildew place, with base boards missing because of water and filth! Bed sheets and clothes had old fuzz. The SMELL was terrible.....and we agreed to try another room....GUESS WHAT? The only thing that changed was that the bottom ot the door was kicked in about an inch and the latch didnt work unless you kicked the door in with your foot. Trust me, unless you love fearfactor don't EVER stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiogeo1, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

All Rooms are Completely Renovated. Rest Assured. We’ve heard you. See the photos. The hotel guest rooms under went a complete renovation – all rooms are going to be brand new for this coming Summer 2011. Everything! The Comfort Inn Maingate has been modernized and completely refurbished. The breakfast has been expanded providing your morning satisfaction. This hotel will have the newest rooms in Sandusky. We’re 1 block from the entrance to Cedar Point Drive . Give us an opportunity. Thank you …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2005

We stayed at the Comfort Inn April 2, 2005. We upgraded to a jacuzzi room. The room was clean but had an an annoying musty, dirty odor that burnt your nose!!! I brought along a spray cinnamon air freshener, but that didn't help much. The hotel staff were very nice and treated us well. We ate dinner at the Thirsty Pony. Very pricey for what you get. The manager came by our table and specifically advised us that all of their food was prepared when ordered. Nothing pre-made. Therefore, it would take a little longer for our order. 5 minutes later, the server delivered our food. My husbands beef tips, potatoes and broccoli, were fresh out of the freezer !!! They promptly heated his plate up in the microwave. The pool area appeared to be clean. But the overwhelming chlorine smell made you gasp for air when entering the pool area. Our stay there was about a minute. The bowling alley was wild and crazy. Cosmic bowling and extremely loud music. Great for teenagers. Older adults could not stand it.
This hotel could use a lot of improving, especially for the potential summertime crowds for Cedar Point. But on the average, it's just "okay". If you want high class, go next door. If average is ok for you. Then your stay should be adequate. Hope this helps all potential guests.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank squirrell4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiogeo1, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

All Rooms are Completely Renovated. Rest Assured. We’ve heard you. See the photos. The hotel guest rooms under went a complete renovation – all rooms are going to be brand new for this coming Summer 2011. Everything! The Comfort Inn Maingate has been modernized and completely refurbished. The breakfast has been expanded providing your morning satisfaction. This hotel will have the newest rooms in Sandusky. We’re 1 block from the entrance to Cedar Point Drive . Give us an opportunity. Thank you …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kalamazoo, MI
16
Reviewed May 24, 2004

We read the reviews, but since they claimed to have remodeled, we took our chances. The staff was really nice, the rooms were small, we didn't feel safe, weird smell and although the rooms were clean, we felt dirty staying there with our kids. we went to the staff to check out 5 minutes later. They were very nice and we got a full credit. Remodeling isn't the answer. They just need to tear it down.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiogeo1, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

All Rooms are Completely Renovated. Rest Assured. We’ve heard you. See the photos. The hotel guest rooms under went a complete renovation – all rooms are going to be brand new for this coming Summer 2011. Everything! The Comfort Inn Maingate has been modernized and completely refurbished. The breakfast has been expanded providing your morning satisfaction. This hotel will have the newest rooms in Sandusky. We’re 1 block from the entrance to Cedar Point Drive . Give us an opportunity. Thank you …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2004

We paid $139 for a room worth no more than $49. We felt totally ripped off. I wish I had known about this site before I booked this crummy hotel.
I wrote a letter to Comfort Inn, but generic responses and no apology. The rooms were dirty and smelly. I was terribly upset that I subjected my small children to such conditions. Don't be fooled by the outside facade.

6  Thank ardecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiogeo1, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

All Rooms are Completely Renovated. Rest Assured. We’ve heard you. See the photos. The hotel guest rooms under went a complete renovation – all rooms are going to be brand new for this coming Summer 2011. Everything! The Comfort Inn Maingate has been modernized and completely refurbished. The breakfast has been expanded providing your morning satisfaction. This hotel will have the newest rooms in Sandusky. We’re 1 block from the entrance to Cedar Point Drive . Give us an opportunity. Thank you …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
323
Reviewed April 18, 2004

This hotel was the absolute worst place I have stayed in many, many years. I'd rather camp than stay here. At least then, I know what I'm getting into. The room was dirty, there were cobwebs in the doorways, we didn't even go near the pool, as it looked disgusting and there were bugs EVERYWHERE. We, too, saw the disclaimer letter from management about the bugs. It would have been comical if it wasn't for the fact that I have stayed lots of other places close to lakes, rivers, and oceans and have never had such a bug problem. The website said the rooms were "recently remodeled." Mine wasn't. My room did not have the hairdryer, ironing board and iron, or coffee maker as was advertised.
When I inquired at the front desk, I was given an unconcerned, "I know, those things get stolen all the time." The best part is that I wrote to management and received a response saying that those things are amenities, they were just unavailable at the time of my stay. Choice Hotels International was not interested in my opinion, either. Their loss, as I have stayed in 8 different, non-Choice, hotels in different cities since I was there in August 2003. I avoid all Choice Hotels as I feel my business is not appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiogeo1, Owner at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

All Rooms are Completely Renovated. Rest Assured. We’ve heard you. See the photos. The hotel guest rooms under went a complete renovation – all rooms are going to be brand new for this coming Summer 2011. Everything! The Comfort Inn Maingate has been modernized and completely refurbished. The breakfast has been expanded providing your morning satisfaction. This hotel will have the newest rooms in Sandusky. We’re 1 block from the entrance to Cedar Point Drive . Give us an opportunity. Thank you …

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.5 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#12 of 35 in Sandusky
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky

Address: 1711 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870-4305 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: $100 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Baymont Inn Sandusky, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find inviting, clean rooms are just ahead. ALL Rooms Renovated in 2012! There's nothing more thrilling than a hotel right in the center of the action and here you are literally a hop, skip and a jump away from the main entrance to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Enjoy a well-appointed guest room and hotel amenities that include free HBO with premium cable TV, free local calls and wireless Internet, an extensive and complimentary breakfast and brand new fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing