We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable one night hotel near Cedar Point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Acceptable one night hotel near Cedar Point”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Most hotels in Sandusky are downright seedy unless you stay on property at the overpriced Cedar point hotels. This one does not have interior corridors so you pull up to your room but it has a good hot breakfast with sausage and eggs and waffles, the rooms are clean, has a tv but never turned it on. Staff was very friendly. We had to shoot a commercial at 615 am and I asked if we could grab something at 6 am from the breakfast bar (us ually open at 630)and the desk guy told me it is usually all set up at 6 am and sure enough, at 555 everything was out except the waffles. says right next to Cedar Point but all hotels are 3-4 miles away. Have to go over causeway. Good price to at $78 with AAA discount

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmtmrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks for your very complete and complimentary review of our hotel property. I'm extremely happy to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating to your needs. We hope to see you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    76
    66
    81
    112
See reviews for
197
60
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Only minutes from Cedar Point, this is a very economical hotel to stay at. Very clean, great breakfast, great staff. Very friendly and helpful. This was my third stay at this place, and I will definitely be returning. For ChoicePrivileges members, you also get Delta Skymiles for staying here. Plus, the rooms were updated last year, and they are very comfortable and cozy.

Room Tip: Go for the non-smoking second floor rooms. The first floor rooms on the Cedar Point (East?) side ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thanks for your very positive review of our hotel. We appreciate it when people like yourself take the time to let us know what we're doing right. It helps us to continually focus on making even more improvements and rewarding our staff for a job well-done. I'm thrilled to hear that you're a repeat guest and can't wait to be able to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Comfort Inn Maingate. The room was very clean, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was very friendly. Located only minutes from Cedar Point. Also very convenient to local stores and restaurants. We highly recommend the Comfort Inn for the price and the friendly staff! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at our hotel. It's great to hear when all of the work we put into training our staff has paid off. It sounds like this was definitely the case with your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back during a future visit to our area...until then, safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff. Definitely would stay here again! Only about 3 minutes from Cedar Point and they had a computer set up for guests to print off discount tickets. I was super impressed with house keeping. The rooms even smelled clean and they gave out a little gift bag. I've never had that happen before!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave such a complimentary and gracious review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm especially proud to hear that you found the accommodations so clean and inviting as this is something that we've been working on for quite some time now. It sounds as if our efforts have absolutely paid off! We're glad to hear that you'll be staying with us again in the future--we can't wait to be of service to you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a very good experience on this trip. The hotel is an ewxcelent location to Cedar Point and also in close proximity to many local restaraunts. We only stayed one night and the service was great. The exterier of the building coul;d have been a little cleaner but it was not too bad either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello and thank you for your overall great review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm glad that the staff was friendly and attentive to your needs and, just so you know, we are continually making upgrades to this property as evidenced by all of the rooms being recently completely remodeled. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future--it would be our pleasure to be of service to you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel was close to Cedar Point. Rooms were a little outdated but clean. Reasonable for price. The staff was very courtious and friendly. The outdoor pool was closed down for the season and had a dead squirrel floating in it. To my knowledge there was no fitness room or equipment. If you are looking for a no frills hotel to lay your head after a long day at Cedar Point, this hotel should work for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to relate your recent experience at our hotel.

I'm a bit surprised that anyone would think that our rooms are out-dated simply because ALL of our rooms and public spaces have been completely renovated and refreshed during the last year. If there was something specific that you were looking for or something that we overlooked, please feel free to email me directly at z.paul.reynolds@rutahotels.com.

I am also sorry that the pool was closed during your stay but as you know, the climate that we're in somewhat dictates when it is feasible and not feasible to operate the pool. Unfortunately, we can't control mother nature :)

At any rate, thanks for your comments and I'm glad that your overall stay was enjoyable and met your needs! We hope to welcome you back during a future visit to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

They had a great breakfast. We were able to check in early. Very close to Cedar Point entrance. Only complaint was that we could hear the shower from the next room and it would interfere with our TV signal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Maingate. We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and our expansive full breakfast--it's something that we continually work on improving.

Thanks, also, for letting us know about hearing the shower from the next room. Although I'm not certain anything can be done structurally to prevent this, knowing it was an issue for you and bringing it to our attention will allow us to look into the matter.

We look forward to your return visits and can't wait to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 35 in Sandusky
235 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky
Address: 1711 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870-4305 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Baymont Inn Sandusky, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find inviting, clean rooms are just ahead. ALL Rooms Renovated in 2012! There's nothing more thrilling than a hotel right in the center of the action and here you are literally a hop, skip and a jump away from the main entrance to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Enjoy a well-appointed guest room and hotel amenities that include free HBO with premium cable TV, free local calls and wireless Internet, an extensive and complimentary breakfast and brand new fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing