We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A Touch of Nostalgia"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here the first week they opened for Cedar Point season. Very nice "old style" motel with exterior doors that open right in to the parking lot. (a nice touch of nostalgia- like revisiting the cross-country summer vacations that our parents took us on as kids!). The rooms had been completely remodeled over the winter and looked brand new. The tile in the bathroom area was sparkling! Very nice outdoor pool (of course). Friendly and very professional front desk staff. Breakfast buffet top notch with biscuits and sausage gravy, eggs and lots of other good stuff. Very convenient location close to Cedar Point and related activities. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Wow! Thanks, very much, for your glowing review of your recent stay at our hotel property! It's nice to know that people appreciate all of the hard work and dedication we've put into the renovation and refresh project and that it's being appreciated. We look forward to being able to serve you on a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 383 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

To be honest, this hotel is nothing to brag about. However, we had no problem with the rooms, check-in, check-out, or any of the staff. The rooms were average. The beds and bathrooms were sufficient, and overall the hotel was just average. No problems, but nothing to brag about either. Very close to Cedar Point, which is why we stayed at this hotel. The pool wasn't that great, so if you're really looking for a hotel with a greta pool, tho place probably isn't for you. The breakfast was ok, but again nothing to brag about. For the price, you get decent rooms, good service, and a good breakfast.

Also, in response to some of the other reviews, there were no bug problems. We visited the first week of June, and had no bug problems. We were informed that since the hotel has "outside rooms" (that is, the doors to the rooms lead outside), they did experience some problems with "muffle heads" (non biting bugs, just annoying in swarms). However, they pointed out that they rarely are a problem in the day, and as long as the shades and doors are closed during the night, the lights from the rooms won't attract any of them to your room. Following this advice, we had NO PROBLEMS WITH BUGS. I don't know where the other reviews are getting the bug problem information, but for our stay it was no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent experiences with our hotel. I'm very happy to hear that you had no problems and that the product, service, and staff attention at least met your expectations. We hope to be able to be of service to you again on your next trip to our area. Until then, safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Booked this room for 2 nights for cedar point. Was greeted by a very nice receptionist who checked us in. Got up to the room and the first thing we see is the LAST thing you want to see all over the bed you are about to lay on. DEAD BUGS! There were about 20-30 dead mosquito-looking bugs all over the bed, the window, and on the counter. We also saw trash still on the floor from the last guests! Clearly whoever cleaned the room before this was slacking We call the front desk and she says she is going to send someone up to take care of it. I was hoping she would offer a different room instead but she didn't. I look at the air conditioning unit and there's clearly large holes leading outside where the bugs were coming in from. We decide to high tail it out of there and cancelled our stay. We went back to the desk to cancel and the two ladies try to make us feel better about it by saying how those bugs are "normal around here this time of year and to not worry, they do not bite." Excuse me? You are making up excuses for your room being filthy? Glad we left and took our money and went somewhere without bugs all over the one place they shouldn't be. I will tell all my friends to stay somewhere else as well! If I was the manager of this hotel and reading this right now, I would be extremely embarrassed.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kattyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Public Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to relate your recent experience with our hotel property. Although we do all that we can to have a very strong and progressive pest control program in place, the fact remains that we are located very close to wetlands and this comes with its own set of frustrations with regard to the annual migration of "muffleheads." These creatures look very similar to mosquitos but, as our staff explained, are harmless and do not bite. Nevertheless, this is no excuse for the fact that you found your room to be in disarray and not to the cleanliness standards that we both expect. We have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping department and thank you, again, for providing your feedback. We hope that you'll treat this as an isolated incident and give us another opporutnity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

after looking forever at reviews on hotels i stayed here for the fact that everything was new. room was clean, beds were decent, bathroom looked as if was wasn't even cleaned still had hair on the shower wall and tub. gross. front desk is extremely rude. paid cash for the rooms and yet they still charged my card $220.00. i cant seem to get someone to call me back and every time i call they literally sigh as if im the one bothering them REALLY? save yourself the headache and just go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmbj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. I'm hopeful that the situation with your credit card has been resolved. If not, please feel to email me a z.paul.reynolds@rutahotels.com and I will personally look into your situation. We hope you give us another chance to prove our quality and value on your next trip to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed here the first week of June '11. Staff was friendly, breakfast was good, location was great. The sign says completely renovated - corners were definately cut in the renovation. The room smelled musty. I should have gone with the reviews I read but I thought I would give it a chance because of the renovation.

If single and hangin' with the guys, then maybe. But not with the family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. We're glad that you noticed the recent renovations as many people have been pleasantly surprised by what we've been able to accomplish at this property. We hope to be able to be of service on your next trip to our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We have a very nice, updated and clean room. The paint looked recent, the carpet looked new and the bathroom very clean. Not sure of the bad reviews. Maybe not all the rooms are updated. Ours was what we would expect for paying the price we did. The breakfast was good. Eggs, waffles, bisquits, yogurt, juices, muffins, etc. This was the first Comfort Inn with a hallway entrance. We parked right outside our room and walked right in. It was convenient but it felt like a motel. No big deal. Very close to Cedar Point.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamalePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. It's GREAT to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the breakfast appealing. We hope to welcome you back to our property during your next visit to Sandusky!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Checked in last night and walked out about 10 minutes later. The room looked okay initially, but we saw a bed bug on one of the pillows. We walked right out and told the staff member in the lobby. He did not sound even a little bit surprised. I'm guessing he's had other guests say the same thing.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. Although it sounds as if you weren't completely satisfied with your stay, it's helpful when travelers like yourself let us know where we can improve--as customer satisfaction, safety, and security are our number one priority.

As I'm sure you know, the issue of bed bugs is one that most all hotels have to deal with. Bed bugs are brought into hotel rooms because of the frequent turn-over of travelers and the varying degree of temperature, atmospheric conditions, etc. We have a very strong pest control program in place and hope that you'll treat this as an isolated incident. We'd welcome you back to try us again on your next stay to Sandusky!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 34 in Sandusky
363 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky

Address: 1711 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4305 (Formerly Comfort Inn Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: $99 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Baymont Inn Sandusky, we want you to relax and feel at home. Our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find inviting, clean rooms are just ahead. ALL Rooms Renovated in 2012! There's nothing more thrilling than a hotel right in the center of the action and here you are literally a hop, skip and a jump away from the main entrance to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Enjoy a well-appointed guest room and hotel amenities that include free HBO with premium cable TV, free local calls and wireless Internet, an extensive and complimentary breakfast and brand new fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Maingate Hotel Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Baymont Inn & Suites Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing