We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORST OF THE WORST - AND WE HAD VERY LOW EXPECTATIONS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“THE WORST OF THE WORST - AND WE HAD VERY LOW EXPECTATIONS!”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

If you are intelligent enough to use trip advisor to plan you trip, be intelligent enough to never stay here. I would list all the reasons why if i had a few hours.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    41
    37
    87
See reviews for
106
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Depew, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The room stunk, sheets smelled, room was dirty, no pool, no phone service!!!!!!!!!! I wouldn't even send my dog to this place. There was a reason this hotel was so cheap. It was a complete DUMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2010

The blankets had other people's hair on it, the noise from the 2nd floor guests kept me up all night, we had to wait for orange juice at breakfast, breakfast was mini muffins and old danish pastry, no forks to eat with....one good thing was that our non-smoking room didn't smell like smoke at all. There was flower pots filled with cigarette buds and water near the entrance of the buildings. The pool wasn't open and it didn't even have water in it. The front desk people were not friendly and they didn't even say "thank you!" Overall, we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beinformedbyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This hotel is WAY over priced. I don't care how close it is to area attractions. $100/night is outrageous for the condition of this place. This is a $29.99/night motel at best! The walls and carpet were filthy. The bedspreads were about 30 yrs old, dirty, and dingy. I could at least tell that the sheets had been bleached, thank God!! The towels were like sand paper and the beds were hard as rocks. We put our two small children in their pack-n plays and that is where they stayed. We didn't want them running around in the room. The tub, toilet and sink were at least reasonably clean. I tried to convince myself that it was a "motel" and that I shouldn't expect much but when you consider the price it was just rediculous! The only reason we stayed here was because everywhere else was booked due to a convention that weekend. I would rather drive for an hour to get home instead of staying here again. Spend the extra money to stay some place else!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2hearts908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I traveled with my family and had reserved 4 rooms for a one night stay. We pulled into the parking lot and had no place to park it was a one way parking lot with people hanging outside the door drinking beer abd smoking. We checked into our rooms and only to find that 1 of the 4 rooms we reserved had people staying in it. We agreed to have two rollaway beds brought to us and be refunded the other room. The beds that they brought into us were in a storage that was not on property, the blankets and sheets smelled like urine and that were out of pillows. The wall were filthy and the bathroom was worse. It appeared that the bathroom mirrors were not cleaned in a long time and the walls looked like someone had wiped make-up all over them. It was obvious that the room is not inspected for cleanliness. There were cob webs, spots on the sheets, a weird smell, and broken items in the room. The staff were not helpful at all and the manager was extremly rude. The continental breakfast consisted of some mini muffins and coffee.The juice machine was broken, the pool was broke, and the game room was empty. When I went to check out there were 4 other people that were in there to complain. Some had blood on their pillows, oreos inder their dresser and BUGS!!! I was given the run around when I asked about a refund on the room that they over booked. I asked for a reciept when I checked out and was told the printer was broken yet the lady ahead of me was given one. This place is a dive and should be inspected and then shut down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

They didn't have the discount cedar point or jet express tickets that they advertised on their website. The game room was empty and the pool was broken. But you can go across the 4 lane highway to the Comfort Inn and use their indoor/outdoor pools, and jacuzzi. The rooms seriously need renovated. There was spotty patch work on the walls and the comforters were faded. The towels had black spots all over them. Although, I didn't see any bugs. Other than not being able to find the coupons, the staff was friendly. One night, we went to get pop (That's all they have, no snacks) and we didn't get our change so we went to the desk and they gave us the change and we asked them if another machine had change and they said they didn't know, they go to speedway and get their pop for $1 as opposed $1.75 at the motel. Then one night, we came back and the tv was on a different channel and the remote was broken. I went to the desk and they gave me two other remotes to try and she offered to come up and try to fix it, but we were tired and refused.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthebez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed two nites. when we checked in, we found the rooms dirty,cobwebs,walls hadnt been sense god knows when. the t v remote batteries were no good,and they didnt have any, for two days no remote. the picture on the t v was very staticy. one channel came in fair, but they wouldnt do anything about it. no pool,broken pipe they said.one ice machine,no ice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mik470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
350 reviews
2.6 mi away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#14 of 35 in Sandusky
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Property: Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky
Address: 5906 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5866
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roller coasters at Cedar Point are just five miles away from our comfortable hotel, which features family rooms as well as luxurious honeymoon Jacuzzi rooms. Enjoy a large heated outdoor pool, complimentary express limited Continental breakfast, and easy access to the Baci NiteClub and Restaurant right across the street. Stay close to adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Travelodge Sandusky
Travel Lodge Sandusky
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing