We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GROSS!!!!!!!!!! DIRTY!!!!!!!!!!!!! YUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Grand Blanc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GROSS!!!!!!!!!! DIRTY!!!!!!!!!!!!! YUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 1, 2009

This was by far the worst room I have ever stayed in. There is obviously not a Head Housekeeper there to check on the cleanliness of the rooms. Yes the room is cheap but it still should be clean. We stayed in 217/218 the 3 double bed room and it was awful. We left to get air freshner and lysol as soon as we got there. There was dried blood on the bathroom door handle, bugs lots of bugs on the carpet, mold growing on the carpet under the air conditioner and corners of the room, and beware a well carved hole in the ceiling tile over the bed in 218. Why did we stay??? I don't know, I guess shock numbed us. I would have left if I knew I could get another room at that late of notice. We also found bugs in our bed and blood stains--not sure how old they were--it was GROSS!! I left my shoes on because the carpet was so dirty. There were hand prints that I could wash off on the door of the bathroom, dried snot on the wall, the list goes on...
I couldn't sleep and WOULDN'T put the covers over me because of the fear of what was crawling on or around the bed. The room smelled so musty we had to get a tree airfreshener and hang it over the a/c unit. I felt so dirty when I left there. They also didn't have any continental breakfast--I didn't care at that point--supposedly it didn't get ordered for that morning, but it sounds like a reoccuring trend by the other reviews. Don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandBlancFleur72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    41
    37
    87
See reviews for
106
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I you don't mind staying in a 1970's remodeled brothel then this is the place for you!

We booked for 1 night via Expedia.com The price was right, the photos nice, and it was a national chain. Where could we go wrong? The possibilities are endless.

When we checked in the lobby was dirty, but it was raining so we gave that the benefit of the doubt. BIG MISTAKE. We were told we were in the "Executive building" which was across the parking lot. That can't be bad if its the executive building but we were wrong. The building had a damp smell to it, and carpet from the 1970's and that was just the outside. Once in the room we were greeted with RED plush carpet, powder blue bed spreads with white flowers, and a bathroom with black and white "marble" floors. Those are petty things of course, but the rest is even scarier.

The AC barely worked, there were water stains on the ceiling, dirt stains on the wall, and bedspreads. The only nice thing in the whole room was the updated shower curtain.

We were scheduled to stay two nights, but left after barely 1. When the manager asked if we wanted to have breakfast we couldn't get out of there fast enough. Lest we be exposed to Ecoli.

We will NEVER stay at a Travelodge, Econo Lodge, or any other hotel that this company owns. We will be disputing the charges on our credit card, and warning anyone who listens NOT to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We checked in and the office smelled of smoke. When we entered the room dead bugs were found on the bathroom floor and two more on one of the beds.
Luckiey I had bedding in my car and replaced it for the kids. Who knows what else was in the bedding that I couldn't see.
I found this place on the internet but never looked at the reviews. The next night we stayed at the Great Wolf and loved it!

Continental breakfast was cheap donuts and juice.

We wil never stay at the Travel Lodge in Sandusky again. It was literally the worst place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanduskyTravelodge, other at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
We apologize for the smoke smell you encountered behind the desk. Also, we apologize for the bugs being in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2008

This place sucked big time. This is the worst place i've ever spent the night at. There were stains on everything the bed, the chairs, all the sheets, the pillows, even the walls had stains on them. We had to sleep in our full clothes with our hoodys up, we were afraid to touch everything. The place was messy. There were potatoe chips behind the bed and everything was broken including the heater which only blew out cold air. Also we were scared because the place seemed shady. We had room 113 which has an adjoining room and we put the chairs in front of the doors so we would know if someone was trying to get in. In the adjoining room the window is glazed over. There was no parking, and what they call a gameroom which is a totally different building is scary. This place is the worst place EVER!

  • Liked — The great jokes that came with it.
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank un-approved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flint Mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2008

The travel lodge full of love stains, the sheets were all dirty and full of stains there was potato chips on the floor it smelt bad. I was scared for my life. Some good things about the Hotel were it had a heated pool, heated by the sun, They had an arcade wth new games like pong. There were strange White stains on the chairs and foot prints on the wall.

I would not go back ever again.

  • Liked — leaving to take a shower
  • Disliked — the unwashed love stained sheets
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank khshock12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Stayed here in one of the "Sleepy Bear" rooms in Aug. I usually take reviews pretty lightly as I feel like people only review if they have had a bad experience, but these reviews were dead on. Room stunk, no towels, extremely dirty floor, pubic hairs on the toilet seat, used soap in the shower. I stopped trying to find things at this point because I didn't want to know what I was sleeping with. I never saw any bugs, but I'm sure I shared a room with them. The breakfast is HORRIBLE! We got there at 7 a.m. and the only thing they had was juice, mini cinnamon rolls, and pastries. It was a joke! All I wanted was a little oatmeal for the babies! I felt dirtier when I left only because I actually tried to sleep in the beds that I'm sure weren't clean.

  • Liked — Location to freeway
  • Disliked — Too many to list
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank momof3needsavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2008

I stayed din this hotel in July, 2008 while visitng Cedar Point. the location is great there are several restaraunts, store and attraction within a few miles. However, the room smelled damp, it had black bugs, they were stingy with towels, they ran out of their free continental breakfast that is suppoed to be from 6-9 by 7:30. I had a 3 day accomidation yet everytime i left for any long period my key was locked out and i would haev to go get it recoded. Our Sheets were not changed and room was not vaccumed. i had to go ask for a vaccum so i coudl do it myself. I woudl not reccomend this hotel nor woudl i starythere again.

  • Liked — location to attractions and restaraunts
  • Disliked — its was not a comfortable quality place to stay
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boogityboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandusky
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Milan
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
5.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milan Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Property: Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky
Address: 5906 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5866
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roller coasters at Cedar Point are just five miles away from our comfortable hotel, which features family rooms as well as luxurious honeymoon Jacuzzi rooms. Enjoy a large heated outdoor pool, complimentary express limited Continental breakfast, and easy access to the Baci NiteClub and Restaurant right across the street. Stay close to adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Travelodge Sandusky
Travel Lodge Sandusky
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing