We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was very clean. For being on the first floor it...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed August 20, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Sherill B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 193 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

Just needed a room for the night after cedarpoint.we came in late got great customer service, however the room smelled horribly of mildew.my kids were tired so we stayed.I woke up early and couldn't turn on the table light so had to sit in the dark while kids slept.the breakfast was horrible...no milk or cereal, bagels or even toast...it had mini cinnamon muffins and English muffins...so on top of paying almost $80 for a cheap crap hotel I had to spend more money for breakfast for the kids....and there was no coffee pot in the room...oh yeah there was no WiFi they said the repair man was supposed to come....

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noble11404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Travelodge is branded to be a economy tier hotel (hence the reason for the limited continental breakfast). However, that doesn't mean that anyone should expect anything less that clean and comfortable accommodations. We're sorry we missed the mark in your case and will definitely spend some time working with our staff on attention to detail issues. The WiFi issue was an isolated incident and has since been resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place was terrible and I don't have space to list all the horrible details. Our nonsmoking room reeked of smoke, our sheets were dirty, the towels were stained, there were obvious human substances on the towels, the carpets were dirty with someone else's hair accessories left from the previous visitor. The hallway was not air conditioned, which conveniently enhanced the lingering odors. The "breakfast" consisted of yesterday's defrosted cheese pastries and plain English muffins. No fruit or protein to be seen--not even peanut butter, just individual jellies. By "coffeemaker in the room," the management meant the lobby, which was accessed by walking across the parking lot. A mattress was left outside, leaning against the building, for over a day. Only one ice maker for the entire hotel was located across the parking lot. The table by the pool was stained with bird droppings and cigarette burns, and both my son and my husband fell walking on the slippery poolside concrete. Basically, had my police officer husband not been with the kids and me, we would have left the premises before we set our luggage down.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agee2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

I am very sorry to hear that we weren't able to meet your expectations. Although the Travelodge is branded toward the budget-conscience traveler (e.g. the limited continental breakfast), there's no reason to expect anything less that clean and comfortable accommodations. Your comments will help us to re-visit our expectations with our housekeeping and grounds staff--as we are committed to continuous quality improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We checked in during the very late night as we were only staying to go to cedar point in the morning. Paid $68 for a room that had 2 beds and a full bathroom. The TV worked very well but the Alarm clock was broke. Very happy with bathroom and air conditioner however. If you are only looking for a place to stay for a night, this place is the cheapest and not that bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnrclark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing a relatively good rating and review of your recent stay with us. We're glad that you found value in your stay and that the AC worked well and that the bathroom suited your needs. We apologize for the broken alarm clock. I'm hoping you let our staff know about that immediately as this is an easy fix--we have extras at the front desk for just such an occurrence.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you back again soon in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My stay was terrible. There were bugs in the room. Our toilet overflowed multiple times. The room felt dark, and muggy. We, unaware, stayed during "bike week" in Sandusky and the crowd was horrendous. Loud bikes and loud people at ALL hours, and the staff did NOTHING about anything. I will never come back here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. Bike Week is a HUGE event for our area and the noise level definitely increases during this time--but not only at our hotel--at ALL of the hotels and restaurants. I just don't want you to have the misinformed idea that this issue is germane to our hotel only.

I apologize that you encountered plumbing problems during your stay. I'm hopeful that you let someone on-site know about this because this is a situation that we could have easily rectified-or if necessary, we could have moved you to a different room.

Although you encountered some problems, we really do want to thank you for choosing to stay with us and invite you to try us again in the future so that you can witness, first-hand, our commitment to continuous quality improvement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ZPaulReynolds, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.4 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Address: 5906 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: $45 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roller coasters at Cedar Point are just five miles away from our comfortable hotel, which features family rooms as well as luxurious honeymoon Jacuzzi rooms. Enjoy a large heated outdoor pool, complimentary express limited Continental breakfast, and easy access to the Baci NiteClub and Restaurant right across the street. Stay close to adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Travelodge Sandusky
Travel Lodge Sandusky
Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing