We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint Marys
Evansville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great little hotel”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for a race at nearby Eldora Speedway. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of my room. Would stay here again and recommend to anyone for a weekend at Grand Lake or trip to Eldora Speedway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunder31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahgraham4, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in working hard to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable room. It is always sad to see the season end at Eldora. I look forward to seeing you again next year at the World 100 and hope to see you maybe at an earlier race too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
12
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our room was a king suite on the second floor with a walk out balcony. There was a big king bed in the bedroom and a hide-a-bed in the living room couch. They were both comfortable as far as hotel beds go, we are both middle aged ladies and we didn't have any trouble sleeping at all. The living room, kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom were all clean and comfortable to move around and stay in for the couple of days that we were there. Central air was very comfortable, just like back home. The kitchen even had a bar part with some extra chairs where we sat and had tea with some family that came back from the funeral to visit with us. The bedroom and the living room both had TVs so that was a plus as my sister and I both have different channels we like to fall asleep to. There was a door that separated the two rooms for privacy and that was nice, too. The hotel is down the street from the funeral home. The front desk staff members were each very friendly at check in and also at check out. The maids cleaned our room nice and were very polite.

Oh and it turns out there is even a little pizza lounge-we went in and had some popcorn and some pretty good pizza subs there one night before bed, just for a little fun, it felt a bit like when we were young. :)

Hopefully it won't be for a funeral, but we both agreed we would stay here again next time either of us come into town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahgraham4, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
First let me say we are very sorry for your loss. I also want to thank you for taking the time to sit down and write a review of your stay. I am glad to know you were able to enjoy what our suites have to offer. I hope the next time you visit is for a more pleasant reason and look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Usually we stay in Sidney or Wapakoneta Ohio when in the area but decided to try this place to be closer to our usual destinations. We'll go back to the more reliable, familiar chains in the larger towns.
Strike 1: Key card would not open door to room. Briefly got the green light, then a buzz with no more green light. Asked for new card(s). New cards didn't work. Asked for a different room and had success. Front desk suspects battery went out in door lock in original room.
Strike 2: Entered room to find alarm clock/radio unplugged. Turns out the outlet for it (behind one of two beds) was inoperable. This outlet was also where the bedside lights had to be plugged in. So we were without the use of those lights or a clock. (Thank goodness for cell phones and their alarms.)
Strike 3: AC did not cool room to a comfortable sleeping temperature.

The front desk clerk was nice, and the front desk area was clean. If things worked, I'd consider this property again, as it is not scary. But once was enough. Three strikes and you're off my list.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay the night in St Mary's. The room was clean and didn't have any spots on the ceilings (number one thing I seem to notice). Some of the buildings look a little rough from the outside, but ours was pretty nice inside. There is a playground for the kids and the pool looked nice and clean even though it was too cold for us to use it. I think the rates are right one the money for what you get and there were no extra charges. The staff was very helpful and polite. The bed was not very comfortable, but it was quiet in our room. P.S. We stayed in the suite that is in the pictures and it looks just like the pictures.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDHEMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahgraham4, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working hard to make some upgrades and to do some changes with the property. I look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

First off this hotel is part apartment and hotel. The rooms are horriable and dirty. They look nothing like the beautiful pictures. If you like living like a hillbilly this place is for you. Hotel is a disgrace.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmk118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A large group of us get together every summer and the staff at America's Best Value Inn are amazing every time! They make the check in process easy and smooth, considering there are over 40 of us checking in at a time. The rooms are clean and the beds are sooo comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drag0nFly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahgraham4, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our housekeepers work hard to make sure you have a clean and welcoming room, and our front staff enjoys getting to know our return customers. I am glad to know that we can get your entire group checked in fast and efficiently. I look forward to you and your group coming again next year. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and i were very pleased with the suite. Very clean. Very roomy. The service was
top notch. Will recommend to everyone, and plan on staying there again. Was close to the
lake, and close to Eldora Speedway. Could not have asked for a better room or service.

Room Tip: Suites are awesome. Very roomy. Very clean. Best value for the buck....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lthormahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deborahgraham4, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
I am happy to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. I also hope you had a wonderful time at the Eldora Nascar Truck races. This was a first for them and I hope they continue on with this event. I am glad to know you were happy with the service and the cleanliness of your room. Our housekeepers take pride in their work and I will make sure to let them know what you thought of the room and your stay. I look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Marys
7.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Celina
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Saint Marys
140 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Celina
Best Western Celina
#1 of 3 in Celina
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western Wapakoneta Inn
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
21.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Delphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys
Address: 1321 Celina Rd, Saint Marys, OH 45885-1257
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Marys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saint Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites St Marys Saint Marys, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing