We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Or actually more like Oscars can. The room next door was occupied by 3 "working girls" taking turns servicing the oil & gas workers. Got absolutely no sleep in 3 days and had the joy of exterminating two cockroaches - the filthy ones. Oh, the bed was broken as well. Would have been better off sleeping under an overpass.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay, unless you're looking for "a night in the projects" exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CapnDave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 141 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed at other ABVI properties and have been pleasantly surprised. In this case, we were very disappointed. This property is in desperate need of a facelift and thorough cleaning. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable. On the negative, it is extremely dated, very noisy, no local TV channels, and the breakfast was miniscule. I would not stay there again nor would I recommend it.

Room Tip: A tip to help travelers choose a good room? Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kanddmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. We were going to see the lights at Oglebay and my husband found this motel online. We have two small dogs and this motel is pet friendly. The beds were clean and comfortable. The bathroom and towels were clean. We had a microwave. fridge, dining table, cable TV, and wifi. Pretty good for the money.This place is not for for picky germaphobes!! It's fine if you just want a clean comfortable place to sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debra1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We took 3 steps into the room, and turned around and left. Smelled bad, and was very dingy and old for the price. The ad showed a picture of a hot tub in the room. For which we paid extra for. It turned out to be a jacuzzi bathtub that wasn't very clean looking to us. We didn't stay there, but found another hotel a couple miles away. Hotel manager gave us the old, "Sorry, we can't give you a refund, because you booked us through a 3rd party. Priceline.com. After a couple of calls to Priceline ,the next couple of days, they were good enough to refund our money. Thank you Priceline.com., but Americas Best Value; Not so much!

Room Tip: Hampton Inn is nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our room, although very dated, was clean & comfortable. We only needed a few hours of sleep, so it served its purpose. We had checked trip advisor reviews before booking, & found this little place.....not the Hilton, but for the price, we were pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzielizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Nothing wrong with it. Service was good, cheap,clean. Appears to be a refurb of some older motel from a time long past. Good for passing through and you need 8 hrs of sleep. TV Works. Not sure sure why the hotel office is behind a security wall at night, the area is not that bad.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank Stimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Claiming to be "Amerca's best value" is quite a claim to make, and I'm not sure they are entitled to it. No doubt they are self crowned with this title. "America's Cheap Inn" would be more accurate but this title may not be as appealing to the traveler. In any event, it is a cheap place to stay and acceptably clean & comfortable for the price. We paid under $54 including all taxes, sir charges, levies, fees, fines, etc. I considered listing out all the positives with this place, but honestly the low price and clean sheets are pretty much the only positives here. So, before moving on to the negatives, keep in mind that you have to adjust your expectations in accordance with the price. We didn't expect much so most of these notes below did not bother us that much. You may feel differently. Here goes: First impressions are everything and in this regard the inn failed miserably. We came in through the side entrance to the lobby but given the layout of the parking lot, this is the entrance most guests would enter as well. This entrance was very dirty, poorly lit, and you had to navigate around an ice machine to get to the front desk. Okay, so we weren't ready to bolt quite yet but we did think about it. We completed our paper work without any hassle and were given the key to our room. In this day of electronic keys we were quite surprised to get a metal, old fashioned key. It was badly bent and twisted. Evidently an earlier guest had some difficulty using it. We drove around to the backside of the inn to find our room. That's when we noticed that not only our door, but nearly all of them were covered in scratches, nicks and dings. It appeared that these doors are often opened by sledgehammers, pry bars or the like. Jiggling the bent, twisted key we struggled to open our door until realizing that there were multiple locks on the door and our key only operated one of them. Stepping inside the place was void of that usual sickening smell of bleach so we were thankful for that. Closing the door behind us we discovered two prominent door stickers advising us not to open the door for anyone under any conditions. It instructed us to inform the front desk if any unwanted visitors came knocking. This was a little disconcerting but then a small sticker just underneath that proudly told us that in the event of a fire, our neighboring room could burn for up to an hour before it would get to us. That made us feel safer. Of course, if it was our room that caught fire, we could burn for up to an hour before disturbing anyone else's sleep! Moving on to the room, there was both a microwave and a mini fridge. A sign atop the microwave ready "Free to use - plug it in". It was nice to know plugging in the microwave wouldn't result in additional charges. Unfortunately, you cannot plug in both the mini fridge and the microwave so I found myself plugging/unplugging through our visit. Pulling back the sheets to check for "curlies" and finding none, I plopped on the bed and grabbed the remote. It was missing the battery cover but using both hands it was still possible to hold the battery in and change the channels. The bed itself is ruggedly constructed to handle the abuse it no doubt gets at a place like this. Although we did not bother to verify this, we were pretty sure the bed consisted of mortared cement blocks topped with a sleeping pad. Moving to the bathroom, it was clean enough that I felt safe to remove my shoes and allow my socked feet to contact the floor. My wife was brave enough to actually attempt a bath, but even at her 5ft 2in height she could not fit in the tub. Maybe it is there to simply take a foot spa? We were unsure and confused. So that's about it. Had we paid $80-100 for the place, I would have been very upset but given the extremely low rate it's about what to expect. The place probably deserves a 2 star rating, but I did give an extra star just for the young man that was behind the front desk. He didn't have much of a place to offer travelers, and he knew it, but he personally was trying his best to be professional in his appearance and manner. That's always worth something to us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KyHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Clairsville hotels
1.4 mi away
Days Inn St Clairsville
Days Inn St Clairsville
#6 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn St. Clairsville
Red Roof Inn St. Clairsville
#3 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
#7 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham St. Clairsville
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
#2 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-...
#12 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling

Address: 51260 National Rd E, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range: $89 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - St. Clairsville / Wheeling Hotel Saint Clairsville
Best Value Hotel St Clairsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing