We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to grab some grub”

West Texas Roadhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice place to grab some grub”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The double D wings were great, and we really enjoyed our steak and taco salads, too. Lots of food, so be ready to order cautiously, leave some behind, or leave stuffed. Good experience, but could use a few microbrews to round out beer selection.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnF414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    39
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good steaks!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Love the rib eye, baked sweet potatoes, and casual atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank Vera U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I am staying (on my own) for business for 2 weeks in St Clairsville so I get to try many restaurants.

The West Texas Roadhouse was one of the good experience. The menu offers quite some choices beside the steaks (and an extensive list of steaks of course).
I had one of the middle range steak, which was good. The waiters are efficients and friendly, the food comes quickly.

The prices are reasonable for the food and the beers. Being a wine drinker, I often get hamered on the bill for my drinks and this was no exception (why are all the restaurants in North America overpricing their wine, even the most basic ones ?). That said if you stick to beer or soft drinks you'll be fine.

What I enjoyed most in this restaurant was the atmosphere ... very relaxed. When you come in group you don't always pay attention but when on your own you have no choice other than to feel the atmosphere around you. It can be a bit oppressing in some cases, but there i felt very comfortable.

I'll most likely return after I'll try a few other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlabfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'll leave full and satisfied”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great Menu variety--steak, ribs, chicken, fish, salads and great quality food. The Texas Strip steak is my favorite ... consistantly one of the best quality steaks I've had ... but I also like the baked fish. The kitchen always cooks my steak perfectly, unlike many of the chain restaurants where everything comes out MWell-Well. My son prefers the ribs--tender and with a tasty sauce. As a starter, we fill up on peanuts, rolls and texas toast. We also choose a pretty standard tossed salad with a good italian dressing. Along with the meal, I like the HUGE baked potato while my son opts for the brew city fries--a lightly batter fry. For desert, I LOVE the Reese's PB pie. Through the entire meal we listen to country music. I also have to rave about the service ... plenty of staff on hand, food brought out hot, drinks refilled regularly, and cashed out promptly. This has become a regular stop for family dinner night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rphbucco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good eating!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I stopped at the West Texas Roadhouse for dinner, in Saint Clairsville, on our way to Wheeling Island. I had planned to get a steak but changed my mind and got meatballs with Linguinne. The meatballs and sauce were big and delicious. My husband had southwestern BBQ chicken. Ended up not eating it all and took leftovers to finish later. The food was just as good the second time around. yum yum! :) The atmosphere was fun with peanuts shells thrown all over the place, oh yeah, they give you a small bucket of peanuts to pig out on also. lol Probably why we coudn't finish our meal. Service was excellent. It made our overnight getaway that much better. Will definately go again when in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GramaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Texas Roadhouse also viewed

 
Saint Clairsville, OH
Saint Clairsville, OH
 

Been to West Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing