We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to recapture the feel of a frat house, this is the place for you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“If you want to recapture the feel of a frat house, this is the place for you.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Since fracking took over this area, we have witnessed a steady decline of this motel. The staff tries very hard, but they are fighting a losing fight. There are smokers everywhere, and during this visit we had to buy air spray to mask the smell of stale cigarette smoke in our room. Walls were dirty, and exterior and stairwell doors were jammed open. Parking is very limited because of poorly parked work trucks. The long-term guests were stomping up and down the halls and stairs and slamming doors all evening long. The shower curtain smelled moldy and the shower flow was pathetic. In summary this motel is a sad reflection of its former self. Although this motel is better than other chains in the immediate area, because of the noise and obvious wear and tear, it falls short of other Fairfield Inns in other communities along this portion of I-70.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager43950, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn and Suites in St Clairsville Ohio. We are completing many upgrades to raise your guest experiance. Feel free to contact me with any problems. The next time you are in the area please feel free to contact us and we will reserve a room especcially for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
48
21
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

very clean room and a great bed ,had to do some work in the st.clairsville area and found
other hotels in the area were full and we had a hard time finding a good hotel.
The breakfast was good and they had plenty of help around to help with all questions.

Room Tip: ask for a king non smoking room when you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank framerman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager43950, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest at the Fairfield Inn and Suites in St Clairsville Ohio. It is reviews like yours that gives others a true understanding of our property. If there is anything else that we can do for you in the future please do not hesitate to call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenland, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located off the highway and surrounded by lots of restaurants and a mall. The staff was courteous, the rooms spacious even though a bit dated (the bathroom fan quite noisy). The gym and pool barely deserve the name. Average complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager43950, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the St. Clairsville Ohio Fairfield Inn and Suites. It is reviews from guests like you that make us able to constantly improve your guest experiance. Contact us the next time you travel through the area so that we can provide you with the great Marriott experiance that you have come to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We make a trip to the St. Clairsville area each year and generally stay at the Hampton Inn which is about a mile from the Fairfield Inn but this time decided to try the Fairfield. I think that was a mistake. The only downside I've found at the Hampton is the parking. If you find a spot in the late afternoon you'd better not move your car until the next morning because it's almost impossible to find a spot after 7 pm. The Fairfield has ample parking and a great staff. No complaints there. But, the hotel itself is worn and dirty. Water pressure is almost non-existent. It is really bad. The continental breakfast is okay but there were no scrambled eggs as advertised. We were told that they haven't started doing that yet. As mentioned in other posts there are some oil field workers staying at the Fairfield and when you work out in the elements you are going to get mud on you. I know because I used to work in the strip mines in this area. More power to these guys and to the people of Belmont County for help with the economy. It's not the fault of the hotel staff that there is mud tracked in. The hotel has provided a mud room for the oil workers to remove their boots or put boot covers on their boots. One more thing. The floors are not sound proofed. You can hear every footstep from the floor above and I mean every footstep. Whoever was above us were prancing around their room most of the night. Not good for sleeping.

I don't think I'll stay at this Fairfield Inn on my future trips. The quality doesn't warrant the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcotocdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager43950, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of this property. We are currently in the process of implementing all upgrades. We welcome you to give our property another chance to show you that true hospitality is evident at this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked our reservation a few weeks in advance as the influx of oil and gas workers in the area make it hard to find a hotel, and I can say that being nice as my husband is one of them. But upon checking in, there were signs posted everywhere about the hot tub being suddenly shut down permanently! Now, I purposefully book hotels with hot tubs as my husband and I like to go down and sit and unwind as the kids play in the pool. When asked, they said "Corporate had told them to shut it down immed." I then asked why the web-site does not reflect that, nor the customers that had upcoming reservations already booked, sent an E-mail as our confirmations had been. .....Well no answer..VERY VERY VERY disappointed in learning this news. Another downer is the coin operated laundry facilities. A lot of ppl don't carry around cash for that. We travel ALL the time and usually there is an ATM on the premises for candy/drinks/laundry services but Not here. I will say, the rooms are clean, and beds are comfortable, bathroom clean also, with a nice size microwave and fridge along with conveniently located to restaurants and shopping, but as far as being a practical hotel like so many others that we have traveled too...Not even close. Because of these, my ratings for customer courtesy is LOW and Poor!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager43950, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We apologize for the inconvienence of not having a hot tub. Unfortunately due to circumstances beyond our control, we are obligated to close the hot tub.Please contact us in order for us to explain our many accomodations that we do offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is trying to be "good". The staff is friendly/helpful for example. But I get the feeling that the onslaught of temporary blue-collar workers staying here has brought down the quality of the hotel. Im not at all trying to disparage blue-collar types; just trying to be descriptive. This hotel felt more like a Days Inn or Super 8. You know you are not at a typical Fairfield Inn when signs are posted at all entrance doors stating, "Please don't bring muddy boots into the hotel". My second room had leftover smoke and other putrid smells. My first room had a squeaky heat fan. They quickly accommodated my request for a room change. Breakfast area was clean and typical Fairfield fare. Location is excellent with easy interstate access and ax from mall with numerous restaurants close by.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2explore72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager43950, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review. We make every effort for all of our staff to be the most accomodating.Please contact us the next time you are in the area so that we can show you the hospitatlity that you have come to expect from Fairfield Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Like most (nearly all) Fairfields, this location has little to complain about. It's clean and the staff are pleasant. Good location right off of I-70 with restaurants nearby.

There is a great deal of oil and gas drilling happening in the area, with lots of temporary workers in for weeks at a time. As a result hotels are all fairly full so it can be a challenge to get a reservation and Marriott Rewards upgrades are tough to come by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCostGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager43950, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We appriechiate your review of our property.Let us accomodate you on your next visit to the St. Clairsville Ohio area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Clairsville hotels
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham St. Clairsville
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
#2 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH
Residence Inn Wheeling-St. Clair...
#5 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites St. Clairsville
Candlewood Suites St. Clairsvill...
#8 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Clairsville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. C...
#3 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
#7 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH
Address: 67731 Mall Rd, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Wheeling St Clairsville Hotel
Fairfield Saint Clairsville
Marriott Saint Clairsville
Fairfield Inn Saint Clairsville
Saint Clairsville Fairfield Inn
Saint Clairsville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing