We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Hampton Inn standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
198 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not up to Hampton Inn standards”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Hampton Inn is our place of choice when on the road. This one was not up to their standards. The bedding was "stale" as was the room. We requested an upper level room away from the elevator but were given "only room available" on the 1st floor near the exit to the parking lot. Lots of noise in the parking lot all night. HVAC unit clunked on and off all night. Breakfast was simply put poor. We made a decision to stay elsewhere on our return trip through town a few days later. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    84
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
153
117
22
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This was the nicest hotel that we ever stayed at. It was spotless. The employees were very niceand gave us very easy directions to the casino. The room was great with the jucuzzi in. The hotel itself ws beaurifull. It was nice with the restaurant being attached. The continental ws very well filled. We would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pressler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

(calibrate: I'm a 7 of 10 on picky scale) Stayed here 1-night on biz trip. Atypical Hampton bulding; think they converted an old Holiday, HoJo, or even Sheraton from early-60s. Sits atop a hill/bluff overlooking I-70 @ exit 218. Plenty of chain retail & restaurant chain to support you within 3 min drive. But interesting for Hampton(!) has fairly good resturant/bar on top floor. I used on a Wed night & surprised was hopin' (30~45 people) majority were locals (always good sign) & they were eve doing Karaoke (not always good sign). Restaurant staff very friendly - photo of menu is attached. ROOMS: I had Room 166. Typical for Hampton - but big with slightly old'ish furnishings. Wifi, not wired, worked excellent. Good shower. Passed under-sink-rim clean test (photo). Lighting could be better at desk. HVAC done with old'ish wall thermostat. Frt. Desk staff good. Morning buffet typical & good. Suggest sitting on raised area above the slightly cramped buffet area, if you can stand good view of almighty Walmart across I-70. Parking a bit tight on busy times, due to geography. I'd stay again if in area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mechcr8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

It's hard to find anything wrong with this hotel. It was clean, convenient, reasonably priced, and just an overall pleasant stay. The front desk staff were not particularly friendly, but were competent and efficient. This is a great option if you have to stay in or near St. Clairsville.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GebbDogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We were here for only one night but found it extremely clean and comfortable The staff very friends and helpful. The adjoining restaurant's food fabulous! We would definitey stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queen1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Stayed here first weekend in August. The hotel was very easy to locate. Front desk staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and polite. The room was spacious and had two very comfortable beds. The bathroom was very roomy and had the waterpik shower head and the curved shower rod. Lovely!! Bathroom and linens were very clean and fresh all days. The indoor pool area was very nice although very noisy with lots of kids. The towels provided there were also top of the line. The ice & vending machines were easily located and well stocked. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Hot items such as scrambled eggs with ham and cheese (scrumptious), egg patties, sausage gravy and biscuits. Danish, donuts, muffins, bagels, yogurt, cereal, juices and very good fresh fruit .
The breakfast/lobby area was nice and large and very convenient. We also tried the rooftop restaurant one night..Undos Restaurant...Italian. The food was good and the service very friendly. The hotel is very close to the Ohio Vly Mall and many other eating establishments. All in all we loved the hotel...very clean hallways too. Did not notice any odors. I only had a few suggestions...the room needed more electical outlets that were easy to get to, the bathroom needed another outlet and a few more towel racks, and the closet was very small with very little doors that did not open far enough to really get anything out well, and our A/C unit did not seem to be operating properly...it cooled OK but made a lot of noise. I would definitely recommend this hotel.....A+++ in my book.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti0525, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn St. Clairsville, responded to this review, August 27, 2009
Thank you for your detailed review and recommendations of our hotel. We will share this with the entire staff. We hope to see your family again in the future. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Went to the Hampton Inn to be close to the Wheeling Island Casino. Casino was way too expensive, so we stayed here which is about 1.5 miles away.

Hotel was nice, beds were amazingly comfortable.
We didnt try out the pool.
Breakfast was just OK.
Easy access in and out of the hotel parking lot.
When i called before making the reservation I did ask if there was a fridge in every room. FD agent said yes. We got there and there wasnt on in ours. FD agent did bring us one though. Very nice young woman. Cant remember her name.

All in all a good stay. Nothing spectacular or too bad. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmoore09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Clairsville
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham St. Clairsville
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. Clairsville
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. C...
#3 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
#6 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH
Residence Inn Wheeling-St. Clair...
#7 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn St Clairsville
Days Inn St Clairsville
#5 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
303 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn St. Clairsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn St. Clairsville

Property: Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
Address: 51130 National Rd E, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950-9118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn St. Clairsville 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Wheeling/St. Clairsville Ohio. The ideal choice among hotels in St. Clairsville. We are a nonsmoking hotel with plentiful services and amenities including a free hot breakfast buffet, weekly evening social hour and 24hr fitness center. Our hotel provides guests with large spacious rooms with a clean & fresh Hampton bed, 32'' HDTV and free Wi-Fi.We are conveniently located to many of the areas oil and gas business as well as top attractions restaurants and colleges such as Wheeling Jesuit University and Ohio University Eastern Campus. Spend the day shopping at the Ohio Valley Mall or take a short drive to Wheeling, West Virginia to visit the Capital Music Hall, Wes Banco Arena or Wheeling Island Racetrack and Casino. We are ideal for business guests since we are located near local companies such as American Electric Power, Murray Energy, Fed-Ex, Stingray, Rice Energy, Tetra Tech and Mark West. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure you will feel right at home at the Hampton Inn Wheeling/St. Clairsville, Ohio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn St. Clairsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville Hotel Saint Clairsville
Hampton Inn Saint Clairsville
Saint Clairsville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing