We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sagamore Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Brandywine Falls
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were so happy to have chosen this inn. It's right on the lovely bike trail thorough the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, and just a few steps away from the Brandywine Falls. We stayed in the Loft, which originally was a barn/chicken coop. Absolutely delightful !!! Only one night there but could have stayed longer. Fresh fruit, bath amenities, etc.----everything we could need. Beautiful with the fall leaves & the Brandywine Falls so peaceful. Delightful host & hostess, great breakfast & enjoyed visiting other guests. Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here many times over the years. The location is perfect. But do not bring children. We were literally chased out of breakfast and overheard George apologizing to guests for our bad parenting skills while touting his own. I was never so humiliated. I left in tears. Though offered fresh bread to take home with us for our trouble and many sympathetic looks for having to parent our disabled 3 year old (who can't speak English and whined at the breakfast table in separate a room). Needless to say, we used to find it charming, even the somewhat overbearing nature of the place, but it's gotten over the top. We are good parents with good kids. I'd hate to see what would happen to others. I used to love it here; not anymore. :(

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mpandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandywinefallsinn, Owner at Inn at Brandywine Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We enjoy children and they enjoy being here. Those under the age of six are, however, restricted to two suites where breakfast will be provided in the suite. The couple arrived fairly late, let themselves into their suite, and appeared for breakfast in the dining room. The surprise was that they had brought two young children without our knowledge. We could not at this point revert to our usual breakfast procedure for young children and so we violated our usual and served all in our dining area. When a crying 3-year old was affecting other guests who were enjoying pleasant morning conversations. we offered to carry the crying child out to "see the animals" but were declined. The new Mother was distraught. Both parents deserve our support for adopting, but the situation was not salvageable..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This lovely antique filled inn is right on a bike trail in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. Our double beds were covered in hand stitched quilts and very comfortable. The evening was quiet. One other couple was staying there and we met them over breakfast with the proprietors - fresh oj, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, fresh baked bread, oatmeal, and delicious veggie omelets. Really a great breakfast...it held us till evening. With all the antiques it might not be a good choice for families with young children but otherwise great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imagineif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Beautiful building, absolutely stunning surroundings, perfectly fine breakfast ... and most of the staff was very nice and helpful. But unfortunately George, one of the innkeepers, was literally the most obnoxious, pushy, rude, overbearing person I have *ever* encountered in the service industry. Having stayed at inns, B&Bs and hotels the world over -- of all kinds and caliber -- I can honestly say that I have never encountered someone who made us feel LESS welcome. It was as if he was doing us a huge favor by allowing us to stay there -- not that we were paying customers. We were hardly out of hand, very considerate guests, but he was unconscionably rude. He should go into another line of work. I would NOT recommend this inn to anyone, and especially not for families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chelseachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandywinefallsinn, Owner at Inn at Brandywine Falls, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We are sorrowed that this guest did not enjoy her stay. Her husband was quietly pleasant, and their children were remarkably controlled in their good behavior at their very young ages. The lady was evidently not to be mollified in her grievances however imagined, and so the "most obnoxious innkeeper EVER" will simply continue to relish the enthusiastic approval of many thousands of guests who have stayed and come again and again over 24 delightful years of innkeeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

not a bad place , nice host and hostess just a little to many little signs with all the rules etc for me. Nice close walk to see the falls and great granola ( id like to get that recipe sometime).
No tv so bring a book or go into the library , internet was slow. Overall was relaxing enviroment and enjoyed the wine on arrival

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here with my Brother and our children this past weekend. We flew in for a family member's wedding. Everyone enjoyed their stay. George and Katie are so nice, we enjoyed George's humor and stories very much! He is full of information. Delicious desserts every evening were waiting for us, Breakfast was such a delicious experience! Enjoyed everyones smiles and convo at the table. Located right next to a waterfall that was breathtaking! And FREE~ They even went out of their way to accomedate a child with Food Allergies! Making my stay so much more pleasant, thank you! Tasting foods grown right there in their garden, eggs from their hen house! Kids liked to see Goats and Roosters and Hens! When we had to leave for an early flight, we were sad that we missed our breakfast, which we really looked forward to, but once again, to our suprise, Katie made our family "to go" baggies with treats for the road, even special writing for the kids on each! I could go on and on... Looking forward to another visit! :) in the future we hope... I would recommend staying here with families.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Garrett" room, watch-out for ceilings...ha-ha...That is if you are tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewels0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We haven't had many B&B experiences, but we really felt welcomed and at home at the Inn at Brandywine Falls. Our favorite part was the breakfast, which included not only a wonderful dish, but great conversation and company. George and Katie are wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Brandywine Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Brandywine Falls

Address: 8230 Brandywine Rd, Sagamore Hills, OH 44067-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sagamore Hills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sagamore Hills
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Brandywine Falls, built in 1848, is located next to Brandywine Falls in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, about half way between Cleveland and Akron. A full, candlelight breakfast is included with each day's stay, or a more limited breakfast carried to the suites in the Carriage Barn, if preferred. All accommodations have baths en suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. In addition to the hiking and biking trails adjacent to The Inn, guests enjoy birding, skiing, both downhill and cross-country, golf, fishing, antiquing, shopping in nearby towns, riding the scenic railway, attending concerts and programs of interest in the Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Brandywine Falls Hotel Sagamore Hills
Inn At Brandywine Falls Ohio/Sagamore Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing