We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second time there!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sagamore Hills
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Brandywine Falls
IL
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“My second time there!”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were travelling through the area and I wanted to share the experience of this inn with my parents. We stopped for one night and they had a blast! Katie and George are wonderful hosts and the experience is worth stopping for!

The Inn is old and super well kept! George insists on carrying your luggage to keep the house in pristine condition. Once you see it you will understand!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoinPlaces63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way back from Michigan to Maryland. We usually do the drive straight through, but since I am now on a National Parks kick we decided to split the drive in two and stop at Cuyahoga National Park. The inn is located right next to Brandywine Falls and it is just a short walk to see the falls. It is a charming place with goats and chickens, a sweet dog and friendly inn keepers. We were traveling with our poodle and George and Katie were welcoming to her as well. They provided her with a nice "luxury suite" in the barn and even though our dog would have preferred to be in the house (she would also prefer that we never go to work and we could stay home and pet her all day) she was happy to be able to run around the fenced in grounds of the Inn off leash.

Our room was wonderfully decorated with antiques and had the most beautiful painted floors. The bed seemed firm at first but was quite comfortable to sleep in. Water pressure in the claw-foot tub's shower was excellent, so even though it looks like the inn might have old plumbing and electrical, it has definitely been modernized behind the walls.

Now to the best part, Breakfast! There is one set time for breakfast (unless you arrange it before hand), and everyone sits around the table family style. The food is wonderful and George and Katie are great conversationalists, so much so that you won't want to get up from the table. It is like a great dinner party, but at breakfast.

Do yourself a favor and read the copy of the innkeepers' book that is in your room. It is half recipes and half stories that they have heard over the years at the breakfast table. The stories are wonderful and funny. I am not a big cooker, but the stories were so good, that I bought the book.

Room Tip: We had the Adeline's Retreat room and it is at the front of the house, so we had a bit of highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelingas_sis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The inn's decor is lovely. The breakfasts are outstanding, and my bed was quite comfortable. The location was excellent, except for the traffic noise from a nearby highway. I felt that the plethora of signs in the rooms telling guests what not to do was obsessive and very controlling. Because of the latter, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CaliPalosVerdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

George and Katie are prefect hosts. They invite the guests into their kitchen, really making them feel at home. Unlike most other B&Bs, George and Katie join the guests at the breakfast table, remember everyone's name, and lead the conversation. And what conversation! Great stories, often told in rhyme. Some reviewers have called the hosts fussy old folks. Besides the unfounded ageist bigotry of the accusation, it is untrue. What is true is that George and Katie have a strong sense of stewardship -- they strive to preserve the splendid old building they worked hard to restore, an inn that belongs to the National Parks Service and the American people. We are thankful for their success.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginiatravelerstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We have now stayed at many B & Bs, and the Inn at Brandywine Falls is the best, in many ways. We not only enjoyed our sleep. The breakfast was fantastic, the best we’ve ever had. But even better than that was getting to meet and to know the proprietors Katie and George a little. They had breakfast with us, not just for us. We were able to talk and get to know them, and out lives are are richer for it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoversOfLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Attention to detail by the owners is amazing. Authentic feel with modern conveniences added. Food was out of this world. Great location from which to bike or hike. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rub14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

It's hard to say how we felt when we left George and Katie's home (Yes, it is their home). I will tell you I called them the night we got home to thank them, to tell them we got home ok, and to get an address for a lovely couple we met while we were there. My wife and I are in our early 50's and I honestly felt like I had visited my parents at the family home. Louie the dog, Bedlam and Chaos the goats, the chickens (whose eggs we ate each morning), and the sweet outdoor cats. We stayed in the main house and it is VERY quiet. We are certain we didn't disturb our neighbors..(we're not THAT old). George and Katie have been married 60 years and have been living in the Inn apparently happily for the last 22. If that's not a romantic setting, I don't know what is. Their sweet interactions made the experience even more so. George is somewhat set in his ways. He insists on carrying your suitcase up the stairs..to avoid the unavoidable wall schmutz that todays wheeled oversized bags produce. He mentioned the "good old carpet bag" of days past and was amused (I think) when my wife produced her bag..a real carpet bag..Yes I had a wheeled monster that George lugged upstairs arms wrapped. No food in the rooms (maybe a little but treat it like it's your house!) I told him I would treat his home as my own, and he relaxed. I think trust can be a wonderful thing. The house is beautifully restored..build in 1843 or so and set with some lovely antiques...USE THE COASTERS!!!! (Yes, George) Sound in the house is quiet. I could not hear the turnpike but I understand the "outrooms" .Granery and the Loft are noiser (as well as more expensive. I recommend staying in the main house..you don't want to miss interacting with your hosts!.) Breakfasts were wonderful and fresh (eggs from the chickens, local berries from the garden, tomatoes from same, oatmeal, etc) You are also a walk away from the Brandywine Falls as well as only a 1.5 mile hike from the Towpath bike trail.(all part of the Cuyahoga Valley National Park).as well as the soon to be restored Stanford Hostel (farm) and the restored town of Boston. This is truly gem in the heart of the midwest. Wireless Internet as well !!!!!

I would also note that the town of Hudson Ohio, 6 miles from the Inn, has, in my opinion, has one of the best restaurants east of Chicago and west of New York. Downtown 140..right on Main St. Order the smallest and small plates..they are the best items on the menu.

Unless you like fried, avoid the Winking Lizard in Peninsula. It's interesting in that it is/was a very old nightclub. It is fantastic for beer but the food is only average.

Ask George about the Peninsula Python.

G & K Hoy..Thanks again..we will be seeing you soon !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kronosargh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagamore Hills
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Richfield
Hampton Inn Richfield
#1 of 6 in Richfield
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boston Heights/Hudson
4.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Richfield
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Brandywine Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Brandywine Falls

Property: Inn at Brandywine Falls
Address: 8230 Brandywine Rd, Sagamore Hills, OH 44067-2810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Sagamore Hills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sagamore Hills
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Brandywine Falls, built in 1848, is located next to Brandywine Falls in the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, about half way between Cleveland and Akron. A full, candlelight breakfast is included with each day's stay, or a more limited breakfast carried to the suites in the Carriage Barn, if preferred. All accommodations have baths en suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. In addition to the hiking and biking trails adjacent to The Inn, guests enjoy birding, skiing, both downhill and cross-country, golf, fishing, antiquing, shopping in nearby towns, riding the scenic railway, attending concerts and programs of interest in the Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Brandywine Falls Hotel Sagamore Hills
Inn At Brandywine Falls Ohio/Sagamore Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing