We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worlds Best Ice Cream”

Mitchell's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Rocky River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Worlds Best Ice Cream”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have tried a lot of Ice Cream in my days and WOW Mitchells is by far the best. I do not even bother eating any other ice cream anymore unless I have to at a party of something. All the flavors at Mitchells are great but my "Go To" is the Butter Pecan!!!!!!!! Whole pecans and an amazing ice cream flavor it is by far the best, and I highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreekScubaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    12
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven in a Cone... (or a cup)”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Ben and Jerry, watch out! Mitchell's Homemade Ice Cream is outstanding! Try the coffee chocolate chunk and carmel sea salt as a "taster's duo". Truly excellent ice cream! A real treat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purchasing_Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven in Rocky River”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is an old fashioned ice cream joint on busy Detroit rd in Rocky River, Ohio. The Ice cream is made fresh, they offer three different kinds of cones,. There is plenty of indoor and out door seating as you eat your ice cream. Some of the best I have ever eaten!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian wells
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best ice cream I have had in a very long time.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Best ice cream sundae I've had in my life. I think it was called Turtle sundae..Carmel, nuts etc. outrageous. One of the best food items I have found during many extended trips to cleveland. Their ice cream is available at a few local grocery stores but should be mass distributed through like a Whole Foods specialty store. The ice cream is the old fashioned dairy bar kind--if you ever have gone through farm country and tried a real Dairy Bar kind of ice cream, you'll know what I mean. It just tastes fresh, clean, delicious, simple but not overpoweringly rich like a Haagen Daz. There are a few locations, check their website. Also Heinens grocery carries small containers. I don't think you could find a better ice cream sundae in this country, and that includes major cities to small towns. They even put a Real cherry on top of sundaes, not the rubber red ones at most places.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't beat it!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

There is hardly a time, even in the cold winter, that Mitchell's is not crowded. For good reason, the ice cream is delicious. Watch out, you will find yourself driving back there over and over!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank meltoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Ice Cream also viewed

 
Rocky River, OH
 

Been to Mitchell's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing