We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in a croft at Glenlaurel for my husbands birthday. We only got to stay one night but it was one of the best times we have had. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is wonderful. We had the filet mignon dinner and it was the best meal I have ever had. The dining room is very intimate. The breakfast the next morning was also very good. We met several couples that go there every year. The croft was very cozy and romantic. We enjoyed the trails on the property. Even though we were only there for one day we left feeling like we spent several days away. We were so relaxed. I hope to get to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We’re glad you were able to experience a cozy croft and a romantic dinner. Even though you could only escape for one night, it sounds like you were able to experience a lot. We hope to see you both again for your anniversary, which is what many of our guests come for each year. Thanks again for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    34
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
208
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our second stay at Glenlaurel. We had a wonderful time in the Drummond croft, with its views of the gorge, privacy, and short walk to meals. The grounds around the manor house are immaculate, and the entire property is peaceful and relaxing. All staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are outstanding, and the multi-course dinners are very nice events. Glenlaurel gets almost all of the little details right. It is a carefree getaway. The private hiking in Camusfearna Gorge is phenomenal, and easily rivals the views in the state parks, though on a smaller scale. There is little reason to leave the grounds, in our opinion. We certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for being our guests – again! We strive to provide the type of experience that you had and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Level Contributor
134 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My best friend and I always take a trip together in late May in lieu of birthday gifts. This year's trip was to the Glenlaurel Inn in Rockbridge, adjacent to Hocking Hills! What an amazing place. The grounds are meticuliously manicured, the staff is outstanding, breakfast and dinner are first class, and the pub hour before dinner is a great way to mingle with other guests. Along with all the amenities, you stay on a property that allows for a two mile hike to a beautiful gorge or you can opt to play golf the way it was invented on the Inn's 8 hold Scottish style course (sand tees and greens!). We also took advantage of the on-site massage and facial service that the Inn facilitates for guests. You really could not ask for a better place for a weekend getaway, or a nice mid-week rest. I highly recommend this Inn. Kudos to the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the MacLoed Cottage and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkinggirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit and your genuine comments. We will be sure to pass your comments along to the staff. We can’t think of a better place for gal-pals to get away than a visit to Glenlaurel. We look forward to having you as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Glenlaurel is a wonderful place to escape from busy life and re-connect with the things that matter. We stayed at the inn during Memorial Day weekend and while we never needed to leave the inn if we didn't want to (due to the good food, cozy room, in-room massage service, hiking/walking paths, old-fashioned golf course, and the evening bonfires), we did venture off property to experience some wonderful outdoor activities including scenic hiking and gentle kayaking. Do note that cell service is sparse if any, which makes the "escape" all the more possible.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Campbell which is part of the main house where the dining room, pub, and community...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PermanentWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staying at Glenlaurel Scottish Inn has been a favorite of ours for a long time. As seasoned
travelers, we appreciate the consistent high quality the inn offers. Every detail is attended to.
The setting is beautiful and serene. The food is always wonderful, the chef and kitchen staff
are amazing. We are always treated so well by everyone there. It will continue to be our first
choice when we need a get away. R and J Crane

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We are regular "attenders" at Glenlaurel. This was a last minute, much needed getaway for us after a very busy week. From check in to check out, it was wonderful. The check in desk is exceptional. The cottages are warm, cozy, and relaxing. The music plays as you enter; the hottub is ready to go when you are. The beds are generally super comfy! Our only complaint this trip would be in the MacKay Cottage, the king size bed was not really king size...it was two twins pushed together and the "gap" in the middle made it very uncomfortable and a bit difficult to cuddle! Easy to rectify with the right equipment...

The breakfast was, as always superb. The wait staff was excellent. We will return!

Room Tip: Cottages further away from the main check in spot afford you the most privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
First of all, we want to thank you for being our guests. We're sorry about the bed…it was an oversight of the staff. We can assure you the next time you stay, your bed will be comfy and you won’t have any gap. We have addressed this issue with the housekeeping manager and staff. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I wanted a cozy room in Hocking Hills, some fine food, and rest from the rat race for a couple of days. I had to work for a few hours a day, and needed a reliable high speed WiFi connection. I found Glenlaurel by doing an Internet search for those criteria. Wow...I will return again and again. This property has a wide assortment of lodging options (cabins, suites and rooms). I stayed in the simplest room--The Robertson--in the Carriage House. The staff was great. The food was amazing. For me, though, the most exquisite part of my two night stay was the hike in Glenlaurel's Camusfearna Gorge. Transporting, magical, heavenly are words that come to mind when I struggle to find words to describe how blessed I felt to be in such a place of natural, wild beauty. Ohio is so lucky to have such hidden treasures as this Gorge and Glenlaurel Inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley121710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Fabulous! Thank you so much for your visit and your feedback. We’re so glad you were able to treat yourself to a special get away. We are so lucky to be situated on a special site and our gorge changes with each season, thus making it even more special. We look forward to having you as our guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockbridge
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
6.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
15.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lancaster
25.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages

Property: Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Address: 14940 Mount Olive Rd, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736
Location: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Glenlaurel is laced with romance; from the moment the Manor House comes into view at the driveway entrance until it fades into the tree line from the rearview mirror at departure...the warm welcome at the front door feels like arriving at the stately home of a distant but approachable relative where the children are all grown or away for the weekend. Welcome into the Legend...the Legend of Glenlaurel. Experience the look of the Scottish countryside and the feel of times gone by at our luxurious Hocking Hills accommodations (rooms, suites, crofts, and cottages) that are perfect for romantics and dreamers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Laurel Hotel Rockbridge
Country Inn Rockbridge
Rockbridge Country Inn
Glenlaurel, A Scottish Inn & Cottages Ohio/Rockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing