We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend your money at Inn at Cedar Falls” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rockbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Rockbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spend your money at Inn at Cedar Falls”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wanted to enjoy a weekend with the hubby, and prior to our arrival, mistakes were made by the staff. Only a "sorry" was given, and no willingness or desire to rectify the situation, and blaming it on the consumer; brought about a bitter beginning to the getaway. Overlooked the staff's ignorance from the manager down...and went ahead with the stay. Chose to not spend any money at Glenlaurel, opting to go to the Inn and Spa at Cedar Falls for our massages, lunch and dinner.which were all awesome.
Breakfast is included in the "overpriced" accommodations at Glenlaurel.....but honestly, the food at Waffle House tastes about the same, and actually arrives at your table hot. The wait staff walked by and offered no refills on beverages, knowing they were empty.

So, if you are looking for great service, great food, welcoming staff willing to admit they were wrong, and try to do what they can to keep you happy (and spend money at their Inn).....DON'T GO TO GLENLAUREL!!

It used to be great when Michael owned the place, but now you can tell that three Columbus business owners are involved..........all about the bottom line....(Money).

I agree with the other comments made regarding the food, golf course and services, they are all true representatives of what Glenlaurel is about. But when you read the comments posted by one of the owners, you see they say the same thing...come again and receive the welcoming you should have!!!! No thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank penelope50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your opinion and strive to always make each guest’s experience special. We apologize we fell short of your expectations. We are curious if you asked to speak to a manager to rectify your situation?

Regarding our menu, we have a different style of service and food than the Inn at Cedar Falls and we are very disappointed to hear that you felt our food was less superior. We take great pride in all the selections, preparations, and service that we offer and we get many guests who are blown away by our service. We have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and our Dining Room Manager.

Glenlaurel's spirit is alive and the original dream still grows. The gracious staff and owners strive to continue the ambiance that was originally created by Michael. Even though the dreamer is no longer at Glenlaurel, the dream is still alive and continues to grow. Change is inevitable, but the original vision is still what makes Glenlaurel so special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    34
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
204
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I visited Glenlaurel Inn for the first time last month to review its links golf course for the Society of Hickory Golfers. I found it offers a delightful and convenient introduction to antique hickory golf such as was played prior to 1935 in this country. The course is executive length and easily walkable by a senior player. The inn provides a helpful written introduction to hickory golf, a starter set of four vintage hickory shafted clubs, and a sleeve of balls manufactured by Point Five Golf designed to go shorter distances than regulation balls. While the balls may at first seem a bit unusual, their weight and play characteristics are similar to the old style gutta percha balls used today in some hickory tournaments. The course is Scottish links style built over open meadow land with grass heights varying from an inch or so on the fairways to some serious hay in the rough. It provided a sporting experience augmented by to opportunity to putt and chip onto sand greens, a composite of sand and clay, that were quite common during the hickory golf era and are authentically reproduced here. The cost for the golf, club rental, and balls, which the player retains, was modest. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The inn accommodations and cuisine are high end.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HkryGolfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuy Falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The setting and accommodations of Glen Laurel are lovely. The grounds are peaceful and serene. It is clean and tasteful. However, the beds are very soft, requests to the front desk go unanswered and the dinners are mediocre at best. You cannot buy a glass of wine, bottles only. Would love to go back, but some changes would need to be made.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for being our guest! We are disappointed to read that your requests to the front desk were unattended to; this has been addressed with the Front Desk staff. Most guests are very impressed with our rooms and our meals (specifically our six & seven course dinner service), so we’re sorry to hear you were not. We strive to exceed expectations and 9 times out of 10, we do. We received our liquor license earlier this year and are still working out the details of the bar service. We are happy to inform you that we are offering wine by the glass so the next time you visit; you can enjoy that glass of wine. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked the Glenlaurel Inn for a last minute weekend getaway. It was perfect! We loved everything about it! We stayed in a croft which was intimate and quiet. We loved having the hot tub right off the master bedroom. The food was fantastic! We had the 6 course dinner Fri night and breakfast both mornings. This was our favorite escape so far and we look forward to coming back again hopefully in the fall!
J&A W. from Medina OH

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Bruce" croft. It was perfect for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

From the minute you arrive you feel pampered. Have been here several times and always enjoy myself. Make certain you make reservations for dinner at the inn, you won't regret a moment of it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinglady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our original destination in the Hocking Hills area, had been closed by a power outage from a big storm. Trees were down and damage was everywhere. We had been looking forward to this getaway for some time, and had already made the 150 mile drive and purchased the food and supplies we were going to need. As we turned back to head for home, the owners put us in touch with Glenlaurel, as they had power and not as much wind damage.
Greg and his staff were more than accommodating! They saw to our every need. We were so fortunate that Glenlaurel was available, and rescued our stay. Greg, one of the owners, came to our cottage when we first arrived, to see if everything was ok, and if there was anything more he could do for us, with a plate of cheese, strawberries and crackers for our inconvenience. This, and the many other attention to details by the entire staff, made our stay at Glenlaurel, exceptionally warm and inviting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammy7Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

First Let me say the GOLF COURSE is THE HOKIEST THING I HAVE EVER SEEN. You Charge $25 per round to play that course. I get your trying something different but $25 per round for an. 8 hole cow pasture. greens were DIRT not sand and BUMPY. You have to buy special golf ballsand use wood shafted clubs. Dinner was ok . Not worth $100. Cottages were ok but not worth $350 PER NIGHT . You nned to reavaluate your whole program. Too expensive. SORRY

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenlaurelInn, Owner at Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

It was our goal to create an original links-style course, mimicking one of the 1800’s. It is not intended to be a modern-day course with manicured greens and tees. We wanted to bring this historic golf experience to the beautiful Hocking Hills and feel we have accomplished this with the assistance of world-renowned golf architects, Dr. Michael Hurdzan and Dr. Chris Hurdzan, from Hurdzan/Fry Environmental Golf Course Design. The $24 charge includes the use of four original hickory shaft clubs, 3 golf balls, and a score card.

Regarding our menu, we take pride in all the selections and our candlelit dinner service is second to none – as quoted by many of our guests. The price for a six-course candlelit meal is $98 and the seven-course meal is $118 and includes all non-alcoholic beverages (coffee, tea, juices, and soft drinks); we feel this price is agreeable and below other market costs for a similar meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockbridge
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
6.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
15.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#1 of 5 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
13.9 mi away
Ravenwood Castle
Ravenwood Castle
#1 of 1 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages

Property: Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages
Address: 14940 Mount Olive Rd, Rockbridge, OH 43149-9736
Location: United States > Ohio > Rockbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rockbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A visit to Glenlaurel is laced with romance; from the moment the Manor House comes into view at the driveway entrance until it fades into the tree line from the rearview mirror at departure...the warm welcome at the front door feels like arriving at the stately home of a distant but approachable relative where the children are all grown or away for the weekend. Welcome into the Legend...the Legend of Glenlaurel. Experience the look of the Scottish countryside and the feel of times gone by at our luxurious Hocking Hills accommodations (rooms, suites, crofts, and cottages) that are perfect for romantics and dreamers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Laurel Hotel Rockbridge
Country Inn Rockbridge
Rockbridge Country Inn
Glenlaurel - A Scottish Inn & Cottages Ohio/Rockbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing