We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go ape.”

Hocking Hills Canopy Tours
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Rockbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The first World-Class zip line canopy tour established in the Midwest and in OHIO! Hocking Hills is home to many exciting outdoor adventures, but nothing compares to the thrill of this truly World-Class zip line canopy tour, including the new "X" Tour in 2014, the home of the only dual racing Super Zip (1400ft+), "Dragon Fly - Zipline Adventure for Kids", and Off Road Segway Adventures too! Ideal for nature lovers seeking a one-of-a-kind experience here in the foot hills of Appalachia, the zip line canopy tour treats you to a breathtaking adventure as you soar above a series of unique Hocking Hills vistas for an eagles-eye view of some of North America'€™s most magnificent scenery. Experienced, professional guides provide you with a safety and equipment orientation before leading you along 10 ziplines, traversing four adventure sky bridges and rappelling back to ground level at the finish line. The experience features amazing views from each observation platform. Add the Super Zip if you still want more! This dual racing zip line is the longest of its kind in United States. And don't forget the kiddos ages 5 and up....DragonFly is just for them. Consisting of 8 zip lines and 4 bridges, they move themselves through the course while parents watch and follow below. Built to meet all Association for Challenge Course Technology (ACCT) standards, no matter what tour you choose, the friendly staff at Hocking Hills Canopy Tours will not only educate guests on native vegetation and wildlife, but will also keep everyone feeling safe, secure, and having LOTS of fun from start to finish! All that's required is a pair of close-toed shoes, comfortable clothing, and eyes ready to devour nature at its finest.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go ape.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked on line to go on a zip line adventure just out side of Columbus Ohio u.s a.The tour was booked on the17/8/12.it was such a fantastic tour ,it lasted for two and a half hours with all the proper equipment and training with great guides.We were with other first timers on zip wire and we got to know each other pretty well by the time the training was over and we were ready to start the tour.We also found horse riding and hiking in Hocking hills and a lot of other outdoor things to do ,a fantastic area of Ohio we will be going back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Topgun894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,789
    72
    11
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Had a good time and it was fun”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have to say it was all in all a good time, The weather over labor day was cloudy and a little humid but was comfy for the ziplineing we did. I guides were awesome, engaging, very helpful, and fun to have. I company as a whole is run like a we oilded machine, The view were good even though the river was way down with water because of the lack of rain throughout the year.

The only reason I have given a 4 star is I have bungey jumped, skydived, repelled (out of helo's), and rock climbed. So the high thrill wasn't there BUT it was fun for what it is and if you have never done it I would say This is the place to do it.....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dyoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek MI
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this tour and the people running it!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife wanted to do this for years, so we decided to make it her birthday celebration. It was worth the drive and the wait!

First, it takes about 45 minutes to get there, if you are coming from Columbus, as we were. Make sure you give yourself enough time, so you don't miss your departure.

When you do arrive, be prepared for a culture shock. If you are expecting a very modern place, run away! You enter the long, uphill drive into the site, and then, at the end of the road, you see an old, flat building that doubles as the check-in center and pro shop for the golf course! This did not instill me with a lot of confidence! ;) However, once you actually meet the people, you realize they DO know what they are doing and they DO have a LOT of fun doing it.

Our tour guides were CJ and Nate, and they did not disappoint. They were young, funny, and very knowledgeable in both the technical aspect of ziplining and the nature of the forest where we were. Even the driver that takes you way back into the woods to start your tour was fun to talk to. I've been on tours before where you could tell you were just someone's summer job. Never once felt that way here.

The lines themselves were very cool. All you have to do is trust and let go. Actually, just trust. If you don't let go, they'll shove you!

You won't be disappointed with the canopy tour. For an extra $20, you can do the new, super-zip ride. We didn't do that one, but we talked to a couple who did and they said it was definitely worth the extra $$.

PS- There are NO bathrooms out there, so make sure you go while you are at the pro shop building. It is your LAST chance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank TimmyB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Mediocre experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I'm sorry to be a spoilsport regarding this site since everyone else is raving about it, but I didn't have that great of a time. I visited in the latter part of August when the season was winding down and the guides seemed more interested in entertaining THEMSELVES than making sure WE had a good time. They were late getting started with our group and kept talking about hoping that no one was going to show up for their 4 PM time slot because they "really had things to do" this afternoon and would like to leave early. Their safety briefing and practice zipping was laid back and mumbled (but adequate -- there's practically no way you're going to get hurt on the course unless you're intentionally trying to).

When we were on the canopy course, I'm sure that the owners expected them to tell something about the flora, fauna and surroundings at each platform but they told the absolutely barest minimum information that was in the script and only did it at about 4 stops. (e.g., "The last 3 platforms were in beech trees. You'll now be leaving beech trees and be in sycamore trees.". "Below you is a cave, it's made of blackhand sandstone.", etc.)

There were 10 zips but 3 of them are pretty much wastes because they are so short. Even the longest ones are only in the 400-500' length.

I'd bought the SuperZip too as part of a package deal. It was fun and long (1500+') and was pretty thrilling when it went over a ledge and crossed water. However, at $20 incremental cost for less than 30 seconds, it's expensive. I'd have been unbelievably ticked off if I'd paid the full $35 list price for it, particularly because, since it was the end of the season, they were only running 1 line (no side-by-side racing was possible).

Finally, I found the "in your face" attitude about tipping the staff offensive. You're literally physically taken to the tip jars and tip envelopes after each course is completed. Most people were leaving $5 tips so if you're on staff and you're leading 4 courses per day times 10 people times 6 days a week you're pulling down close to $5000/month in tax-free income on top of your actual salary. For earnings like that, you should be doing everything in your power to make sure your guests are having a great time, not just going through the motions of the daily grind.

To balance out all my griping: Hocking Hills is a beautiful area and the course is nice. It's neat being up in the trees at the same level as the birds. I felt safe at all times. Everyone that has an interest in ziplining should do it at some point in their lives. I just had a lot better time at a course in New Hampshire than here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank TravelingMan446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An AWESOME experience!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hocking Hills is an amazing place, with many, many things to do, and things to see.... But this tour easily stole the show during our 4 days there! Our guides, Matt and Elizabeth were just great. Very capable, knowledgeable, patient and funny! The Tour is worth every penny, and you will be happy to tip your guides afterward. Also, don't cheat yourself by skipping the Super Zip, it is an awesome finale to an already great afternoon! 6 stars!!

Helpful?
1 Thank GTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hocking Hills Canopy Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hocking Hills Canopy Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing