We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on a tight budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel 6 Richfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Richfield
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Richfield
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay on a tight budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel, love the new decor. About 10-15 minutes from downtown Cleveland, convienient restaurants and hidden local attractions nearby. The service was great, the staff was very helpful. Its location is great because if you come in off the turnpike, you can go in out of downtown without continuing to pay a toll. Very peaceful, espically for a weekend visit. Would stay there again and recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Had to get the double bed to get a frige and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    12
    5
    13
See reviews for
7
10
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night during a roadtrip.

First impressions: Impossible to find from route 77 or I-80. There is no signage visible from the road, I only found it after realizing I had gone past it and turning around. They really need to fix that. Walking up to my room I was not impressed, from the outside it was definitely the most run-down motel 6 I have seen.

The room: After that, imagine my surprise when I open the door to realize this is a 'modern rooms' motel 6 - laminate floors, orange walls etc.

Pros: The room was clean, uncluttered, and despite the proximity to the highway it was relatively quiet.

Cons: After advertising 'expanded cable' both online and in the office, there was a grand total of nine channels. Most were local news.

The walls were so thin I could actually hear the person in the room next to mine snoring.

Before 9am I was woken up by housekeeping was banging on the door. Seriously? You can see my car parked right outside so you know I haven't left yet. Check-out wasn't till 11, and this isn't exactly a business hotel where most guests are gone by 8am.

As far as Motel 6's go, it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CW1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Room was good size, clean and comfortable. Had dogs so liked the flooring. The motel was quiet and the grounds outside were cleaned each night. Nice grass area to walk the dogs and there were garbage containers to place the dog droppings. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The good: Fairly comfortable bed, good pillows, adequate water pressure, plenty of hot water, clean furnishings, updated decor, enough towels, quiet building, quiet location, front desk person was helpful, free coffee in the lobby in the morning.

The bad: No blanket on bed - only sheets and a bedspread. The floor was dirty and slightly sticky. I'm glad I kept my socks on. The room smelled strongly like air freshener and when I turned the heater on briefly to take the chill off the room (since I had no blanket), the heater-A/C unit reeked of dog smell. It was bad. They need to change the filters in the A/C units more often.

I could have asked for a blanket but it was very late and I was very tired. Overall I would stay here again if need be because they price was very reasonable and it was quiet. Nothing fancy - just a place to sleep. But they need a better cleanser on those new laminate floors.

Room Tip: Try out your heater-A/C and check for a blanket if you need one before you unpack and settle in for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PersonintheVicinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Was on the road to PA and stopped here just to get rest... Weirdest motel/hotel room that I ever stayed in... No carpet just laminate flooring and seemed so cold in the room... My 2 1/2 year old Granddaughter cried and wanted to go home, we could not get her to sleep. We payed over $70.00 for the room and even though it was clean and the bed was new and comfortable they still should not charge that much, $45-50.00 total would have been sufficient for such a place... It looks as if they are still renovating; however exterior was dirty and creepy... It is located right behind a Holiday Express... I advise to pay the extra and stay there...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charissa121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Richfield, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear charissa121 - Although we are glad that you found your room to be clean and your bed comfortable, we apologize for the exterior conditions you described. We take your feedback very seriously and will take it into account as we work to improve our guests’ experience with us. Please consider contacting our guest relations department to report your experience so we can serve you better in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My experience at this motel was very pleasant. The room was very clean and comfortable with prompt, friendly, professional service.

The room decor was also very nice/I highly recommend this location.
I stayed 4/14-4/16/2013.

V.T.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccjo106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very easy access from the highway. Polite staff. inexpensive rates. However, you do get what you pay for. it seemed 'remodeled' to a 'retro modern' (if thats a thing?)...reminded me of a cheap version of the 50's. I felt safe in the area, but the rooms themselves didnt seem overly secure. The rooms weren't specifically dirty, but i wouldn't call them clean. Cheap and uncomfortable mattresses/pillows/linens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdawgm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Richfield
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Richfield
Hampton Inn Richfield
#1 of 6 in Richfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland-Richfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia
8.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland - Independence
6.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Boston Heights/Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Richfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Richfield

Property: Motel 6 Richfield
Address: 5171 Brecksville Rd, I-80 Exit #173, Richfield, OH 44286-9461
Location: United States > Ohio > Richfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Richfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Richfield 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Richfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Richfield
Motel 6 Richfield Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing