We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place on the Island- THANKS COOP!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Lodging Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Lodging Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Place on the Island- THANKS COOP!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

We LOVED this place and Coop and Wendy rock! Upgraded to a suite because the island was dead and loved everything about it. More like an apt than a room. The pool was quiet, CLEAN and relaxing. The room and location were perfect. The staff was so laid back and accomodating I felt like they were old friends. I will DEFINITELY be coming back this year and will ONLY stay at this hotel. Thanks for everything guys, you have a new loyal customer. the ONLY negative was the air conditioner kicking on scared the crap out of me a few times (kinda loud), but after two or three times I got used to it. Other than that the place was AWESOME! GO BUCKS!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dball11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    50
    18
    18
    33
See reviews for
39
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We love Bay Lodging. I have stayed there numerous times on a "girls getaway weekend". It is close enough to downtown to find the crowds, yet close enough to walk back and just hang out. The Buckeye's tiki bar has every beverage imaginable. The pool is clean and well maintained. The rooms are large and suit our needs just fine. We don't go to the Bay to sit in our room!! Well maybe for a few starter cocktails!! You can't go wrong with Bay Lodging!! CHEERS!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheenasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

This place is awesome. Staff is courteous. Place is so clean and immaculate. Will definately be back, Ang and Penny

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

This was my family's first time staying here and will be our last. If you are looking for a party atmosphere with drunk college kids stumbling around making noise and general fools of themselves all night look no further. If you are a family looking to relax go elsewhere.

In addition to the horrible atmosphere you are penalized by paying upwards of $240 per night for a room with two double beds. For that much money I could easily stay at a four star hotel on times square. The room while clean was sparse. There was only one tiny overhead light in the room and another lamp on the bedside table. This left half the room in murky shadows. There was no closet, only a few pegs nailed to the wall. The bathroom was, meh. Ours had a nice cigarette burn in the side of the bath tub. Oh, and the sink is just stuck to the wall outside the bathroom in the main sleeping area.

T walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. Not that it would matter much, with the loud drunks stumbling around constantly. We had to call the front desk to complain the first night because one of our oh so considerate neighbors thought it was a good idea to turn their boombox on full blast at 3:00 AM.

The hotel literature says free wifi in every room....Only if you have a super antenna that can pick up a signal from a mile away. I called the front desk upon check-in to ask about the wifi and they told me it was set up in the main building by the pool and that if you are in the second building like we were then you probably wouldnt be able to get it. They politely informed me I can come down to the pool to get on the wifi...Gee thanks!

I've never written a hotel review but feel so strongly about cautioning others about this place I needed to write something. If the room rate was $60 - 80 per night I wouldnt mind so much, but $240 you have to be kidding.

In summary, if you want a party house with drunk college kids maybe this is your place, anyone else stay far, far away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tupawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

I traveled to PIB with a group of 10 ladies and we had an AMAZING weekend and compliments of Mike Cooper at the Bay Lodge, our stay was even better. We are all OSU fans and the tiki bar was perfect for our weekend. Bay Lodge was the nicest place all of us have stayed in PIB (and we are seasoned vets). Rooms were clean and we had everything we needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the island, its within walking distance to the strip. It was a reasonable price as well. We will definitely return!
Kelly, Macedonia, OH

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpstew78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Great hotel. Nice pool. Walking distance to EVERYTHING. Let us keep our bags in their conference room while we ate breakfast after checking out. Brought our own alchohol to our room. $1 cabs!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmont, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

this was our first time staying on the island, we had been there once before but stayed on the mainland, price is well worth not haveing to worry about catching the ferry. The hotel is very close to town but far enough away to relax. All the staff were very pleasant and accomadating, the rooms were clean and had pleanty of towels and amenities. the beds are comfortable. we liked it so much ( the town and hotel ) we stayed another night, (thanks Paul). We will go back again!
Tom and Teri

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom52485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.8 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
11.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Island Club
Island Club
#2 of 4 in Put in Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Lodging Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Lodging Resort

Property: Bay Lodging Resort
Address: 405 Lakeview Ave, Put in Bay, OH 43456-5607
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Lodging Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Lodging Resort is located only 3 blocks from downtown Put in Bay on a quiet, tree-lined lane. We rent golf carts at the front desk to help you get around Put-in-Bay on wheels!Our gracious staff is on-site 24 hours a day during the season to help make sure that your visit to Put-in-Bay is the best it can possibly be! We look forward to seeing you soon!We now have 42 hotel units, 6 two bedroom units, and 2 split-level suites. Each 2 bedroom guest suite is spacious, air conditioned and consists of 2 bedrooms, bath, living room, and fully equipped kitchen. Each split-level suite sleeps up to 10 people and is ideal for large families, bachelorette parties, or corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Lodging Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Lodging House Hotel Put In Bay
Bay Lodging Hotel
Bay Lodging Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing