We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal!! Amazing!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harriet's House & Island Suites
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We visit the island once a year for a weekend stay and I must say Harriet's House is one of the cleanest places on the island!! It is also idealy located. Most importantly owners Denny and Linda are phenomenal!

Cant wait until next year's trip...no doubt where we will be staying.

Thanks Denny/Linda!!

Zimmers/Cleveland, Ohio

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zimmer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Harriet's House & Island Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 99 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

Thankfully i didn't see the negative reviews on Trip advisor before heading to the island. We lucked out finding this place. This is by far the nicest new property in the heart of put in bay. The owners were meticulous in caring for both their golf carts and their suites. My seven year old son was even treated to a few pitching tips from former ballplayer/owner Denny. The suites are spacious, the townhouses are huge an well appointed. Everything is clean and in perfect working condition. From the names of the suites to the decorative items, each has a bit of their family history weaved into it which shows me that the owners care about their properties and their guests. The golf carts are well maintained and washed regularly. Put in bay is great for families during the week and loud partiers on the weekends...come at the time that suits your vacation style! Please ignore the negative reviews, you will not be disappointed in this close to the action property where the owners are available but never intrusive!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlavinfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Cleanest suite I have ever stayed in. fantastic prices.. friendliest staff and owners ever. couldn't have asked for a better trip.. I WILL DEFINATELY RETURN NEXT SUMMER. I would recommend to anyone looking for quality accomidations at fair prices.....SUITES...TOWNHOUSES...HOUSE.. THEY HAVE YOU COVERED.HARRIET'S HOUSE IS EVERYTHING THEIR WEBSITE SAYS...ENJOY....

Room Tip: Suitesare Private and quiet..very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpisanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I just left the Harriet house and everything being said about the owners is true. Denny even went as far as to follow my 56 year old father down the road at three in the morning to see where he was going (to get a pizza). Never have I been so stressed. You are constantly being watched. Don't even waste your money.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mmull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

If you want to feel like a convict on the run, Harriet's House is for you! Not only will you enjoy the feeling of being watched 24/7 courtesy of the overly neurotic owners Denny and Linda, but you will also have a strict curfew enforced upon you! I stayed there with a group of family members. We were just having a nice family reunion but we were unable to have any good time due to the watchful eye. As soon as I arrived in front of Harriet's House by taxi the owner was badgering me for the name of who I was staying with and got increasingly paranoid as we were nearing our strict 10/ house limit. This continued as Denny felt the need to inspect the dinner we were having at the picnic table, and then he stayed up until 4 am keeping watch over anyone walking on the sidewalk in front of Harriet's House. I was unable to enjoy myself because I felt like I had to constantly look over my shoulder to make sure I wasn't going to get evicted. I left a day early, and I wouldn't even shower there because I felt as though the owners would be watching to make sure I didn't waste any water! Also, they are extremely degrading to you and make you wait outside on the sidewalk while they walk through and make sure you didn't tear the place apart. Ever had a place treat you more like a child than that? I know I haven't!

Sure, the location is by the downtown area and the houses are nice, but it's honestly not even worth it because you are unable to enjoy yourself at all! Denny feels as though he owns the island and because of that he feels as though he can tell you how to run your life. I would never recommend this place to anyone, and I certainly will never be returning. I would rather stay in a dive with cockroaches than feel like I was being watched 24/7.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank melissam92786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

A small group of us (in our 30's) stayed in one of the suites and the location is very nice. However, the owner Denny who we nicknamed "Daddy Denny" sits in his golf cart every night and watches you get home from the bars. Since we had a few smokers in our group we sat outside and drank a beer while smoking and he would drive by in his golf cart watching us. We decided to grill out one afternoon and he came back to look at what we had on the grill and see what we were up to. It felt like we had brought our dad with us and we were 12 yrs. old again. You can have no guests in your rooms for any reason and be prepared for him to be watching at all times day and night!!! It is a very clean place and a great location but if you like to have some drinks and not be in bed by midnight I don't recommend staying at Harriets house!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michigal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We had a great time staying at the townhouses owned by Linda and Denny! We stayed this past weekend with them in the townhouse that has their office in the front room. The townhouse was so clean and new..I believe this is the second year they are open...if you're looking for clean housing right next to the downtown strip, I would highly suggest harriet's house. We were a bit worried after reading the review that said Denny was sitting on a golf cart monitoring their comings and goings, b/c we're a late 20s/early 30s group, but we had NO such issues. Denny and Linda were both amazing! Denny came by once while we were all sitting on the back porch drinking to just say hello. They are not intrusive at all and even went out of their way to accomodate a group of girls that changed their plans last minute the weekend we were there! You won't find that anywhere else!! Thanks Linda and Denny for making our weekend at the Bay...Perfect!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasso4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Put in Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 7 in Put in Bay
11 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Commodore Resort
Commodore Resort
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet's House & Island Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet's House & Island Suites

Address: 247 Erie St, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6642
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Put in Bay
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Harriet's House was built around 1878 by John and Edna Esselbach becoming one of the first residences on the Island. The house still stands today in remodeled form. In 2002, Denny and Linda Rectenwald purchased the property and named it Harriet's House after the owner Harriet Tanchon. Customers have been returning year after year with the Barlows being the only group that has never missed a summer with us in 13 years. Although the ladies from Michigan and Ohio are a close second, you know who you are! Due to continual expansion, we have become know as the "Village Within The Village". Our facilities can accommodate two guests in the lodge rooms or bungalows, six visitors in the island suites and up to ten vacationers in our town houses or original house. If you are planning a reunion, birthday party, bachelorette celebration or an anniversary observance, we can house a total of 90 guests within one block of downtown Put-In-Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harriet`s House And Island Suites
Harriet`s House & Island Hotel Put In Bay
Harriet's House & Island Suites Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing