We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing stay and terrific breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anchor Inn Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Put in Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing stay and terrific breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed at the Anchor Inn in Aug 2010 for three days and wished it were longer. The rooms are all nice and each one completely different so you can choose the one that suits you best.. We had the floral room, king size bed, no TV, private bath, second floor front.. I think next time I'll take the balcony room, queen bed, no TV, private bath, second floor rear. There is another bedroom on the second floor with its own bath but you have to cross the hall to get to it. The first floor has a bedroom with a king bed and TV and DVD player and private bath.
I had read the reviews before I went and everyone talked about the great breakfasts. Well they really were great and what was really nice is you got to meet the other guest and compare notes about Put-In-Bay where to go and what to do. Very few if any Bed and breakfasts on the Island offer full breakfasts on week days. I wished we were staying longer because we met several nice people. Joey the owner was very friendly but not in your face. She happened to have two extra tickets she shared with us for transportation to another island for the day. We also had the use of bicycles. There were only 4 bicycles but it was not a problem. We were the only ones who biked. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diva59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

The Anchor Inn is a B&B run by a wonderful lady (Joey) that makes you feel at home, along with her staff they see too your comfort with great breakfasts and wonderful conversation and beautiful scenery. The B&B is very close too downtown it takes nothing to walk out the front door from the house or cottage and walk right into the charm and fun of Put-in-Bay.
The rooms and living area were always clean, the landscaping will thrill anyone who loves gardening. The outdoor patio is a great way to relax in the shade and watch the wildlife that calls the garden home, it also lets you catch your breath from all the excitement and traffic of downtown without being hold up in a hotel room.
Breakfast was fresh and worthy of five stars.
I highly recommend a visit for you to this paradise by the Bay lights :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sixgapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

I agree with ALL the other positive reviews about this B&B so I won't rewrite it all.
My husband and I had a very enjoyable stay here. One thing that I want to post is that this B&B is NOT for young weekend party goers! It is meant for us middle agers who want to enjoy the gardens and the quintness of this home. The hotels in town are better suited for the partyers! :)
I want to personally thank the owner Joey for taking care of us!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scarlett329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

We've stayed at this B&B before, so we knew it was nice. We've stayed at almost all of the other B&Bs on the island and this is quite simply the best. Very personal attention, lovely home, beautiful garden, super comfortable bed and an awesome breakfast. Short distance from downtown but on a quiet street - We love it!! The prices are reasonable too!
'

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loghomeOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

A great place to stay on the islands! The experience was awesome! Our room was awesome and breakfast was great. This was my first bed and breakfast experience and could have not been happier. There was plenty of privacy but when you did see the help they were very nice and filled with very helpful info. I can not wait to come back and stay again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genomason21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

The Anchor Inn is a short walk from downtown Put-In-Bay. I crashed there with a few family members after a family wedding. The Innkeeper gave us privacy, so we had some wine on the enclosed front porch and enjoyed each other's company. The next morning they let us use their bikes and we enjoyed a ride on the island. The breakfast consisted of coffee, a blueberry smoothie, orange juice, asparagus quiche, and sausage patties.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1WagMore-BarkLess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We thoroughly enjoy staying at this bed -n- breakfast. It is within walking distance of everything and Joy, Muriel, Dan and Sue were awesome (as always)! They have an awesome breakfast and good conversation. They always make us feel at home. WE would never stay anywhere else, but here, when going to Put in Bay! Great place to stay and we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleyriders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.2 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#2 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
10.5 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn Boutique Hotel

Property: The Anchor Inn Boutique Hotel
Address: 500 Catawba Ave, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6554 (Formerly The Anchor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Boutique Hotel is a quirky, one-of-a-kind hotel, with light-hearted, mildly rebellious room details and a designer décor. With only 9 guest rooms we are small and intimate in size but we express our singularity with our quirky touches and winsome features. We are independent, eccentric with a sense of humor, and all for the surprise and delight of our guests. The 'Anchor' is a luxury hotel. Intentionally not stuffy, we stand out from the crowd because we challenge the common 'party island' beliefs. Our guests get to enjoy a quiet, classy and over-the-top place to stay that's close to everything. You won't find a party hotel at this location. There are no crowds here, no loud music, no slamming doors, and no noisy hallways. We pride ourselves on providing a quiet, secure, residential location without the party - the kind of place where you go to enjoy a nap, a good book, the company of friends, drinks on the patio and the beauty of an island sunset. Our casually elegant rooms are the sweet spot of the hotel. Each guest room or suite has been thoughtfully designed with handpicked elements and furnishings, a touch of whimsy and all the comforts of home. Our guest rooms are appointed with the finest bed linens on a super plush but firm king bed, and four pillows of your choice (feather, soft, firm, or foam.) Your room is complete with french doors leading to your own private balcony to enjoy those afternoon cocktails or reading a book. You control the A/C and heat to keep you at the perfect temperature and each room has a full wrap of insulation, creating a quiet sleeping space. Extra fans are located in the closets if you prefer 'white noise.' Generous in size, our well equipped rooms include a refrigerator with cold bottled water, a pod coffee and tea maker, a large digital TV, a plush chair for relaxing and reading, robes, slippers, beach towels, and all the other necessities including an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, and extra blankets. An iPhone/iPod dock and jack are available so you can hear your own music. Safes are in the room to keep your valuables, well......safe! The en-suite bathrooms feature an oversized rain-head shower, plush towels, and several full lines of luxury amenities and toiletries. We have lighted mirrors, towel warmers and a clothes line for drying swimsuits and delicates. Toiletries include artisan soaps, shower gels, shampoo and conditioners. Amenities include sunscreen, bug spray and laundry spot removers for those 'oopsy daisy' moments that invariably happen while on vacation. Checking in or out, it's never been so easy or effortless. Our professional front desk personnel will make it quick! Drop your bags in the lift, and they will arrive at your room before you do. Wanting to store a bag or two before checking in or leaving the island? Our locked storage and baggage ID system will make your bags safe and secure. Your security is important to us, and we take it seriously. Exterior doors are locked at 6pm until 10am to eliminate un-registered guests. You will be given a code upon check in so that you may access the hotel. The hotel has a built in 24 hour monitoring system in place to keep an eye out for your safety. A full, hot breakfast is available and served buffet style. Menus change daily. A partial list of our breakfast items may include eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, pancakes, breakfast sandwiches, bagels, baked goods, meat and cheese trays, fruit, juices, freshly ground and brewed coffee and an assortment of teas. Breakfast is available from 8:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. A breakfast in bed option is available (as an add on item). Our staff is friendly, fun and always professional. We say hello, pay attention to the details, and will resolve any guest issues with prompt attention. Management and the owners will go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay. Let us give you a warm WELCOME to Put-in-Bay's boutique hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Anchor Inn Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Inn Boutique Hotel Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing