We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashley's Island House
Ranked #5 of 17 Put in Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The staff could not have been nicer. We were greeted at the door and made to feel welcome., Location is great. Lots to do in walking distance, but they also have bicycles available to borrow. We were able to walk to the winery next door. We were there for two nights and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for the great review, looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
65
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

we have stayed 2 times at ashley's house. we play volleyball there in august and so far that house karma has brought us very good luck with that. the rooms are quaint, super clean and cozy. the breakfast and yummy coffee each morning wakes you up with a smile. share time with people you have never met from all around the country on the sweet porch as it welcomes cool conversations and new friendships. bob and judy who own the place love people and love that we enjoy their hospitality. i highly recommend this amazing house and atmosphere.

Room Tip: didnt use pool or fitness center. no comment on that
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We love it when people enjoy the front porch, meet new people and watch the world go by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Riegel, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Island House is run by a wonderful couple and Kelly. Their goal is for you to have a great experience. The front porch is relaxing and the golf cart visitors driving by have a look of envy as they wave to you relaxing on the porch! The location is within easy walking distance of the downtown and winery. Take the Miller Ferry over with free parking on the mainland. Each room now has it's own bathroom and there is a tv in each room. Need advice on where to eat dinner? Judy has the answers and hasn't been wrong yet. You can arrive early in the day and drop your bags in the parlor and when you check-put, drop the bags again and enjoy full days on the island. My only suggestion is to leave the children at home as visitors are expecting a kid-free getaway!

Room Tip: Look at each room online to figure out how you would like your room decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for the great review! One of our motto's is "you can check in at anytime and enjoy the house and island as long as you can!!" Our bed and breakfast is kid friendly during the week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay! It is on the main road just a block from town, and you don't get all the noise. The Porch is so comfy, you can relax and read or just people watch. Breakfast in the morning was great. We enjoyed meeting other people. Judy, Bob, and Kelly were great hosts. We can't wait to stay there again. We had 2 rooms: 1 for my Husband & I, and 1 for my Mother-in Law, to celebrate her 86th Birthday. It was a success!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDGuccigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
You, your husband and mother-in-law were great guests! We love helping people celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and other great events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here on three separate occasions and have enjoyed each if our stays immensely. From the room, to the wonderful breakfast to the cozy, comfortable front porch and the kind and heartfelt service, you won't be disappointed. It's a great location just a block from town to avoid the noise and bustle of the crowds, yet easy enough to stroll to and from. We live to get a golf cart to cruise through town and the around the island, but they have bikes for you to use too. This trip was a Cedar Point Crew reunion from the early 80's Cedar Point workers, great time reminiscing, visiting and sitting in the parlor sharing stories and pictures. If you have a group of people or just one person they will accommodate you without any difficulty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynditooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, General Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We strive to have our customers return again and again! We are ready to host your next Cedar Point Reunion. We were happy to host some of your reunion friends, who had accommodations elsewhere, at breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Judy, Bob and Kelly are awesome hosts at their quaint, beautiful B&B located right on the main road. The front porch is one of the selling points of this B&B. Large enough to hold all of the guests that are staying at the B&B. You are greeted with a friendly smile, people who are glad to have you there. They open their accommodations to you and make you feel welcome. The people that you meet are wonderful people, all up there for the same reason. To enjoy the island and meet others. They have a number of different style rooms that will meet your needs. Give Judy, Bob & Kelly a call.. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are larger rooms, right off the porch area. Rooms 11 and 12 connect with another do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyikesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, General Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! Since all our reservations are handled personable versus online we are able to personally select our clientele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Not only are the owners, Bob and Judy awesome, but their manager Kelly ROCKS. Makes you feel like family when you are there. My husband and I have stayed at Ashleys for the last 10 years!!! This last trip we had 17 people with our group staying at Ashley's and they have ALL booked there for next year. Charming, friendly, great location. It really just doesn't get any better than Ashley's Island House!!! Trust me!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chewald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, General Manager at Ashley's Island House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We enjoy having repeat customers and meeting new friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.2 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
0.0 mi away
The Anchor Inn Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley's Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley's Island House

Property: Ashley's Island House
Address: 557 Catawaba Avenue, PO Box 395, Put in Bay, OH 43456
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashley's Island House is within steps of the heart of Put-in-Bay, Ohio's fine shops, restaurants, entertainment, Catholic and Episcopal Churches and other historical buildings. Enjoy a leisurely walk around the island and explore its interesting history. Take a bike ride along the countryside and tour our local winery. Climb to the top of Commodore Perry's International Peace Memorial or visit his famous cave. Enjoy fishing; this is the Walleye capital of the world. Stroll along the lake, go swimming, boating, or rent a golf cart to travel around this fascinating island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashley's Island House Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing