We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful staff; poor maintenance”
Review of Islander Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islander Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Put in Bay B&B and Inns
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“helpful staff; poor maintenance”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The staff at the hotel were very helpful; a bit overbusy at times, though. While the pool bar looked fine ( it was cool and rainy), the rooms were a bit shoddy; broken tiles in the bathroom, broken TV remote, shelf falling off the wall, broken door lock. It's late in the season, and they'll probably fix it up on the off-season, but really no excuse for all the shoddiness.

Room Tip: lots of rooms to look over the pool bars around, if you want more noise or people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jschombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    14
    13
    49
See reviews for
18
25
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've been visiting the Island for years, and the Islander Inn (and it's sister hotel, the Grand Islander) is my go-to place for a great time with my college buddies. It's on the back-side of a busy block, so after 9 or so it's really quiet and laid back. During the day, however, this is the place to be!

The room was pretty standard, beds are typical beds (queen/king), but the in-room coffee wasn't great so we went to the new little coffee shop over by the Grand Islander. We were able to rent a cart from the front desk, which was nice since we didn't want to hassle with the umpteen vendors on the island. We got one of the themed carts, which was pretty sweet.

Some tips from my travels on PIB:
> Bring suntan lotion
> Tip early, tip often
> Do not party in your room like you party in the bar, be a good neighbor
> No Open container in town
> HYDRATE! If you're hanging in the pool bar all day you can get really dehydrated between the heat and alcohol.

Room Tip: Party in the Bars, not the rooms. Rookies to the island always make this mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Islander Inn over Labor Day weekend for 2 nights. The room is over priced, but so are all the rooms on the island. It was clean. The shower appeared to be brand new and the towels were soft. We checked in around 1:30 and hit the Splash pool bar. We had a great weekend and we will be back to visit the Islander Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-travel-alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We went for a fun bachelor party weekend. We paid for two nights up front as they requested. From the moment we got there we were harrassed by the management for absolutely no reason!!!! Throughout the day they continued to approach us with ridiculous accusations. By day two it continued to the point where when we questioned their reasons for the harrassment they immediately called security which handled the situation with unecessary force. At one point a manager told one of my friends that they will have us out by 3 o clock.. This was true they had us out. The whole point was that they already had our room booked for another guest. We DID NOT get our money back for that night. They are SCAMMERS!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!! Thay are doing this on a weekly basis and making a fortune.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mbly19214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Put in Bay hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel was a nightmare. We walked into our room which was dirty. Only two towels and no washcloths. They let us in early like 12:00 which we thought was nice. We went out to spend the day at the pools. Around 5:00 I was sitting at Splashs poolside bar and my friends were trying to get my attention but I couldnt hear them. So my two friends went behind the bar to get me and next thing you know two guys were man handling them. Why couldnt they just say hey you cant be back here. The next thing you know the manager and 6 cops show up and evict us. We ask them why and they say that they dont need a reason. We left the whole island after that because we were so upset. Looking back I think they doublebook rooms and kick people out for more money. Our cab driver said that this happens everyday at that hotel. Do not stay there ever and another fyi the cops that work there are also jerks and I think they know whats going on. Never stay here!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abrielle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I'll start this on a positive. The working staff at this hotel were really polite and each member greeted us when walking by. The customer service at the front desk was unacceptable. We over booked rooms and when we tried to cancel they would not work with us at all. They told us if we cancelled we would have to pay them more than the cost of keeping both rooms. The rooms are way over priced for what we received in return. The rooms had a strong musty smell and the carpets were soaked in places. We didn't even feel comfortable walking on the carpet with our bare feet. There was black mold in the bathroom. There was also black mold showing on the ceiling in the main room and also black mold down the corner seem of the wall. I didn't run any tests so I guess I can't say "black mold" but is was black and it was mold. I would not recommend this hotel. I know it has the large swim up bar. There are plenty other hotels and a great bar scene down town, which is better than the walk up bar.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Zero customer service: ZERO! Dirty rooms and broken furniture. Dead bugs between bed sheets. One is not allowed with his/her own cooler inside their room.I felt like all businesses in put'n bay hate tourists. They want your money, as much as they can get from you but to give nothing of value back. I swear, I'll never spend another $ on this island, let alone at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClevAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.3 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#6 of 7 in Put in Bay
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Commodore Resort
Commodore Resort
#7 of 7 in Put in Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Inn

Property: Islander Inn
Address: 225 Erie St, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6642
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Inn is Put-in-Bay's first and largest Caribbean style resort. We have 115 rooms surrounding 4 swimming pools including a large heated pool, conversation pool with a waterfall, 30 person jacuzzi as well as our swim-up-bar pool. The Islander Inn also features the island's original swim-up bar, The Dizzy Lizard. The Dizzy has 9 seats in the water and and seats on land. This is the bar that changed how afternoons were spent on Put in Bay. At the back of our courtyard sits Crash Landings, a bar with an airplane crashed into the top of it. Both of these are open from mid May through mid September, weather permitting. Located between the Islander Inn and our sister hotel, the Grand Islander, sits Put-in-Bay's #1 afternoon hotspot Splash! Splash is the World's Largest Swim-up Bar. We have 97 bar seats in the water and 120 chaise lounge chairs outside of the pool for sunbathing. With live entertainment on the weekends and plenty of other fun during the week, Splash is definitely the place to cool off and have a cold drink with your best friends. Overlooking Splash is The Flaming Skull. The Skull is a full scale pirate ship that sits next to Splash. Guests can walk up on the deck and watch out over the pool while having a drink at the 80 seat bar. Get your picture taken with the captain so your friends will believe you when you say you were on a pirate ship on Put-in-Bay. We are located right in the heart of downtown Put-in-Bay and are within walking distance to most of the major attractions. Should you want to explore the island a little more, we do have golf carts available for rent at our Front Desk with some of the lowest rates on the island. You can rent a cart for a couple hours or go all day if you want. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Put In Bay
Islander Inn Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing