We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun! We loved Bayshore!”
Review of BayShore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BayShore Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much fun! We loved Bayshore!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was our first time to Put-in-Bay and we went for a Bachelorette party. We were a little hesitant about Bayshore because we read some of the reviews about the strict no alcohol policy etc. But everything was AWESOME. No one checked our bags/coolers and they were extremely nice and accommodating! The hotel itself was a little far from downtown (in comparison to some of the others, only about 4 blocks) but there are a ton of van taxis that come at the drop of the hat and only charge $2-3 a person so it wasn't bad. The hotel itself was very clean and basic, the water views were awesome and the screened in balcony was perfect!! And, this is one of the only hotels that doesn't have a 2-night minimum which is why we chose it in the first place! We will definitely go back and likely stick with Bayshore!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the first floor so you get a screened in balcony and don't have to worry a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizard32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    49
    28
    14
    28
See reviews for
39
86
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sylvester, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I have been to PIB a couple years now but always stayed at B&Bs. May 2011 we decided to splurge on a very great package and stay at the BayShore Resort. It was worth every single dime we spent, plus some and there is no doubt that we will be going back summer 2012 and every summer in the near future.
We are a young couple but for the first time ever on the island we were treated like real adults who were there for vacation, not drink and cause trouble. We felt a warm welcoming feeling as soon as we walked in the door and it only got better. The girls in the lobby were chit-chatty and the bartender at the tiki bar was amazing. We also felt no pressure or prying eyes from security, don't even really remember any strolling around.
We ate several meals at the restaurant and it was amazing and I felt the prices were very reasonable and in tune with those in nearly every place around the island. Also felt like they had the best deal on golf cart rentals and the room was well worth the price, especially the view.
As for those on here complaining, don't listen. If you obey the rules from their website where they clearly spell out NO OUTSIDE ALCOHOL and that your bags are subject to search you will have no problems.

Room Tip: Every room has a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsStoneking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have vacationed in the Lake Erie Islands for 25 years and only recently started driving and staying in hotels rather than going by and staying on our boat. I was worried about finding a place at "The Bay" that would be suitable for traveling with a young child. Anyone familiar with Put-In-Bay KNOWS that Christmas in July weekend is a drunken all day, all night party. We always plan our stay during the week and avoid the weekends all summer. Put-In-Bay weekends are fun, but you need to know that during the week, it's a great family destination. Weekends, not so much for families.
The last two summers we have had a first floor room at the BayShore Resort - one of the few places on the island that has 2 pools and clean rooms. They are a relatively new property, and unlike the "in town" motels, the BayShore Resort goes out of its way to be family friendly. That means if you want to drink, they will be happy to serve you at the pool Tiki Bar, but bringing outside liquor onto the property and consuming it publicly WILL draw some attention from the staff. That is fine with us. We enjoy an occasional cocktail and don't mind paying for it at their Tiki Bar. We noticed that the Thursday before "Christmas At The Bay Weekend" this year things got very rowdy at the pool area and the hotel was noisier than usual that night while we tried to sleep. Truth be told, we were glad to be checking out Friday morning.
My family loves the Lake Erie Islands and will always spend time there, but the hotel owners need to find a balance between those who are there for family vacations and those who are there to just get drunk and go nuts. I wouldn't say that if I hand't seen it personally.
South Bass Island is wonderful and I would encourage anyone to go and visit. It's easy to get to, boat or no boat, and so much to do. The shopping is wonderful, the restaurants wonderful, and the "get away" feeling of being on an island can't be beat. Just plan your trip according to what is important to you.
If it's a family vacation - go during the wek. If it's a couples/singles weekend - go on the weekends and have fun. Just be careful and respect the law. I don't think most folks begrudge you a fun weekend - just respect those of us who like one or two beers and then we're done.The room rates are priced to keep the folks looking for a cheap weekend on the island. I agree that the rates are expensive - but we pay just to keep our little one away from the drunken stuff and feel it's worth a few extra dollars. Hey Bayfront - don't get crazy about this review - your prices are high enough!

Room Tip: 1st floor much more convenient with little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pontius53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Nice for couples or older folks....2 clean pools not a human toilet like other pools in the area !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vmaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We have always had a girls weekend up @ PIB for many years. When this resort opened we started going to it. It is pricey but great rooms & view was fabulous. This year was different our room was not clean looking and the bathroom floor was bad. It just had that feel that it wasn't clean. Chairs and luggage stool the material was stained. I get that there are alot of party people that go up there me & my friends included but for the price they could clean the chairs and the grout in the bathroom. Big turn off this year. We are even planning on staying some place else next year which will be sad since we have been going there since it opened. Lady @ front desk asked if we would like our money back that we had a half hour to try and find a place if we would like to do that. What kind of customer service is this for $300.00 a night. I hope they improve but if not we won't be going there anymore.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Put in Bay hotels

euclid, ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We just got home from a 2 night stay at the Bayshore. These previous reviews for the front desk, security, alcohol complaints- we did not experience ANY of that. The front desk workers were just fine- nice enough. Did not feel the need to be hugged and kissed upon arrival. When I made my reservation, I requested a 1st floor room so we would have easy access to the pools. They put us in room 114- the BEST room for that purpose. My 2 kids- ages 5 and 7- LOVED the pools. There is a NO alcohol policy- which other hotels with liquor licenses do have- but, I believe it is just to keep the frat and sorority parties out. I never saw any security or big brother types trying to ruin our fun. It was a great hotel to take kids to on PIB. Wouldn't stay any other place if I bring the kids. Internet worked great, too. Only bummer was they were out of golf carts by the time we checked in. So, we just walked a short distance and rented one. No big deal at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kristacoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Spent a girls weekend at the Bayshore resort the first weekend in August. Overall, the hotel is ideally located within walking distance (less than 5 min walk) to restaurants, bars, and shopping. The pool itself is sort of small, but it also wasn't packed while we were there. Large bathroom, and the shower is this really nice glass wall thing, but the shower head itself has to be a $5 home depot bulk order. Seems strange to have such a nice shower, yet such a crappy shower head.
Also, the beds are really firm (could be personal preference on that one but it felt like I was sleeping on a rock)
Do not even try to bring alcohol in a cooler because they will go through the cooler. Thankfully we just brought pita chips and spite. They don't allow alcohol (even in your room) because there is a bar by the pool.
Since PIB is such a party atmosphere, I was glad that this hotel wasn't like a frat house. I know there are a few places on the island that are an extension of the bars, so I was glad this was a classy and peaceful place for us to lounge and tan. If you're looking to party, don't stay here. But if you're looking to party at the bars and come back to a peaceful and nice hotel, this is a good option.

Room Tip: Just dont bring alcohol..or if you do, stick it in your luggage like you're in high school
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tanya_IN_STEREO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.5 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
232 reviews
10.4 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
288 reviews
11.4 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#10 of 17 in Port Clinton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
8 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayShore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayShore Resort

Property: BayShore Resort
Address: 328 Toledo Ave, PO Box 597, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6836
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The island's ONLY lakefront hotel, located only a few minutes walk to historic downtown. Spacious rooms that ALL have lakefront balconies. We have 2 heated pools, a 30 person whirlpool spa, lakefront tiki bar and an on-site restaurant that serves the best breakfast, lunch and dinners! Golf carts are also available to rent from our excellent staff! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Put In Bay
BayShore Resort Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing