We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Good Service”

Tippers Seafood & Steak House
Ranked #30 of 39 Restaurants in Put in Bay
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Vermilion, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food Good Service”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had the buffett it was great and our waitress Ashley was the bomb!She was very nice and friendly definitely cut out for the job. Ribs were delicious!! We had a great dinner. :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrsmc1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    25
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The server was excellent. Food not all that great. Pork chops dry, skimmpy on the veggies, cajun chicken, was not cajun chicken. Not sure what it was. It tasted alright. The band was pretty good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Letzgodebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I ate the prime rib buffet and it was terrible! We ended up eating the rolls and vegetables. Everything we tried had no taste. The prime rib had no taste but seemed to be cooked perfectly. I can't imagine that anyone would come back here after one time. Never again and will spread the news to friends. What a waste of money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beccalyn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vernon, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“campfield 9-2013”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We visited this location 3 out of 4 nights for the Happy Hour. Drinks were half priced. This was the only place we found that had Happy Hour. Service good, good crowd of people who were very friendly. The appetizer was put out once and never refilled each night. We also ate here one night, and the food and service was good, we ate at the buffet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank campfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“spoiled seafood, terrible service.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went to tippers for a nice meal on a Friday night. We had gone multiple times before in years past and the food was good enough to return for. Last year the food was bad and the service was bad. This year we decided to give it another try and the food was worse then it has ever been and the service was the worst I have ever had anywhere. The decor looked like a perkins from 1980 and there were cobwebs everywhere. When we went to order we asked about some food items and if they were good and she kept on saying I don't know and laughing. The last item we asked about she actually said she could not recommend anything off the menu because she does not eat there! They forgot three orders of onion rings, the drinks were taking 15 minutes to come out, the salad bar had no lettuce or ranch dressing, and we had to flag someone down every time we wanted our sodas refilled. The food came out and it was cold.....ice cold. My brother-in-laws lobster was like it came out of an ice bucket. When the server came back around 10 minutes later he asked if they could warm it up. She said they would remake it. She came back 10 minutes later when we were already done with our meals to tell him they only had one tail left. When they brought it out it was small and brown. Starving at that point he ate it anyway. He then suffered the entire evening with what we suspected was food poisoning. It took two hours for two rounds of cocktails, some burgers, and a plate of food poisoning, WORST PLACE TO EAT ON THE ISLAND! DON'T DO IT!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tippers Seafood & Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Tippers Seafood & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing