We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breakfast buffet” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tippers Seafood & Steak House

Tippers Seafood & Steak House
Ranked #30 of 37 Restaurants in Put in Bay
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
paulding,ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“breakfast buffet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Was there for Tall Ships on Labor Day wanted lunch but was only serving breakfast so got that.
Food trays were empty, they did bring out small amounts of food but there were about 20-25 people there so it went fast, and was barely warm. Would not go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dlb_ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    20
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looking for a late Saturday night meal?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Looking for a steak dinner on a Saturday evening.
It was after 8 pm so the crowds were down. There was a few tables seated, but I felt as if the place was close to shutting down for the night.
The decor- old 80's look. Lighting was dim. The booth we sat in had very little cushion and vinyl to support our butts. The table seemed very high and I felt like a kid.
The Prime Rib buffet did not look as if it was fresh from the kitchen. May have been sitting under the lights a bit, although the Prime Rib looked tempting, the rest was not worth the gamble.
The salad line was a much better option and we took advantage of that. fresh lettuce and many choices of toppings.
The soda- flat and small glasses.
I had shrimp and steak. The plate came out with 6 shrimp on the steak. Some runny corn and a small potato-not baked with crisp outer skin but maybe microwaved? Anyway, the sides were not consumed.
The steak was cooked correctly, although it was a cheaper cut and the juices were running in the corn stream. I transferred the steak a small plate and ate off that.
The other parties had a steak offering with the same sides and same scenario- runny juices mixed on the plate. All were cooked correctly though.
It may have been end of the night and we were hungry, so not worst place ever but not the best.
The server, Brian was good.
Maybe earlier in the evening may be a better choice for dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average food, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The food was average, but service was great. This place has an eighties feel to it with the decor and furniture.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Steak & Salad Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have been to Put-In-Bay several times and never went to this restaurant. We were asked to go with friends and it was a great choice. We ordered the strip steak and I must say we were not disappointed. Service was good, Brian was our waiter and very attentive. The salad bar was very good and wide variety. Drinks were reasonably prices too. All and all a good choice for a nice dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debo528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visit Put In Bay at least 4-5 times per summer and often eat at Tippers. The service is generally good but the food varies from really good to awful. Fortunately it is mostly very good. They have a good salad bar with a variety of choices. They have buffets with various themes. Most are good, but this weekend we were there for the Chinese buffet. It was terrible. They also have a nice variety of choices on the menu in addition to the buffet. The prices are generally reasonable, but I don't like the fact that they often raise the prices of the buffets on holiday weekends. Typically the Sunday night buffets are less expensive than Friday or Saturday nights. Keep in mind that while a Friday night buffet might be a seafood buffet or Saturday might be prime rib a Sunday buffet might be chicken and ribs, so the price reflects the content of the buffet as well as being a less busy night.

We clearly have had more good meals than bad as we continue to go back. They need to stay with the foods they are good at - ribs, seafood and steaks. No more Chinese buffets.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tippers Seafood & Steak House also viewed

 
Put in Bay, OH
 

Been to Tippers Seafood & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing