We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Buyer beware of "Manager's Special" at Edgewater” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edgewater Hotel
Save
You added Edgewater Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Buyer beware of "Manager's Special" at Edgewater”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Absolutely terrible hotel. "Managers Special" touts a 2 bedroom luxury suite on the second level including golf cart rental. We booked 4 "suites" and did not get anything near promised except a 1st floor room with a view of mopeds and gas cans and a cart that did not work. Management was unprofessional and untrained and not interested in providing any customer service, let alone getting what you paid for. Would warn all future travelers to select another location, and steer clear of the Put in Bay Conference Center also as they own both establishments. Sent e-mail complaint, no response, but not a surprise as "manager" is owners daughter. Also filing complaint with BBB. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank ChristyW1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    8
    10
    29
See reviews for
21
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medway, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I love Put in bay and we take a couple of days away from our kids every year there for our anniversary. We made the horrible mistake of leaving cash in our room tucked away in our suitcase. The next morning when I went to get some more cash out of the envelope......it was all gone! The very young an unproffessional staff was not only rude but basically blew off our claim we even had cash in the room to begin with. They did not appologize, nor try to help us in any way. We asked to talk to the owner or upper management but we were told there was only an owner who only had a cell number that she could not give out. She took out number and claimed she would have him call us, good thing I did not hold my breath waiting on that call back because it has never happened. We filed a police report and will never stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Put in Bay hotels

Clinton Township, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We left hotel before we even stayed losing $400 non refundable deposit. Any hotel would be a better choice. The management is not trained in hospitality but have been trained to confront guests to ensure hotel policy is adhered to. We were celebrating a girls weekend and had a fifth friend join us last minute, we openly disclosed to the staff we had 5 guest. They treated us so rudely and insisted the only option was a suite for a 4 star hotel price. By the way the entire first level has a view of rental golf carts.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Deltadaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Horrible staff & management!!! Very unfriendly & rude. Gross Rooms and not worth the money! My best friend rented 2 suits for her bachelorette party, we had a couple visitors stop by & we were evicted from the property. There was no manager to talk with about our miscommunication. Terrible young and unexperienced staff kicked us out & rerented the room for more money. Also did not refund our money. This place is a scam!!! We contacted police for a report, also spoke to our attorney & WILL BE FILING CHARGES!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank JJCarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband booked this hotel and when I read reviews I was very upset thinking it was going to be a nightmare!! We decided to give it a shot since it was such a good deal. I am so glad we did! The room was huge; two queen beds, one sleeper sofa, a chair and kitchenette with full refrigerator and microwave. The air conditioning stopped working while we were there and my husband told the front desk clerk. To our surprise, we returned to the room a few hours later to find a brand new air conditioning unit installed!! With our room we also got a six person golf cart for 24 hours at no extra charge. I could not have asked for a better hotel. Do not believe the bad reviews! Many thought the place was too noisy; but, it wasn't at all. Go to Put in Bay and stay here! It was great!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank webers4grls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

If you stay here,especially on the bottom floor, you will have to dodge the golf carts, and the fumes from starting up the carts. We had 2 rooms. One on the bottom floor and one on the second floor. I could not get up the steps to get to my room because the carts were bumper to bumper right up to the steps. The office girls were very nice. Large rooms need 2 sinks if the room sleeps 6. I know this hotel is a 1-2 day stay hotel, but clean your carpets once in a while. The garbage at the back-side where you park your carts needs to be cleaned up also. Second time to stay here,but will probably try other hotel next visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Boray69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We got an email for a special at this hotel. It said that if you book a regular room you get upgraded to a 2-room suite that slept up to six people. You got a full size refrigerator w/freezer and a double sink. You got a golf cart (which is the best way to travel the island) included your whole stay. We stayed 2 nights. When we checked in we got a room that slept upto 6 people, 1 sink, a very sm refrig and we had to pay extra for a six-person cart. They had trash around the property and had been there since we checked in. When I called a number for a complaint she just made all kinds of excuses for them. They didn't want to do anything about it. We will go up there again but will NOT stay there.

Room Tip: Try the Bayshore Hotel. It was given to me by the Chamber of Commerce and is very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
0.3 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 18 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#2 of 18 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Property: Edgewater Hotel
Address: 266 Delaware St, P.O. Box 267, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6624
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing