We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Coolest" place on the island”
Review of Perry's Cave

Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“"Coolest" place on the island”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We love to go to the cave on a hot summer day. The temperature is about 60 degrees inside and it is better than air conditioning!

It's also a beautiful sight to see. The tour guides give great information on how the cave was formed, what it has been used for, and some history of the island. The steps to get into the cave aren't too bad, and you get a decent amount of time to walk around and take your photos.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank silenttigress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    89
    70
    16
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must see...”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you haven't take the time to learn a bit of history about the ware of 1812, this is a good stop. Tour not long 20-25 minutes and informative.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nyikesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Tour Guide and Interesting Attraction”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip underground to the cave. I've been to a few caves in the past and I still found this one to be very interesting. I really enjoyed the story and history behind the cave. It was also nice to be in a cool area on a hot day! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and answered any questions that we had. It was nice to do something a little bit different on the island and we both had a great time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinPlusLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty cool for the kids”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Cave has a great history, from who has owned to who first found it and used it, let alone it has all the cave features you can expect. May be a liitle small, but worth it for the kids.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The worst cave I have ever been in”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It really is like a big low ceiling basement .The pathway was roped off with chains , There was another small room that we all had to cram into hunched over in, could not see what she explaining and then it was over.No interesting formations Except the little soda straws (which were not very long)and the stream which you couldn't see very well .I don't mind spending $ 8.00 each on a good cave (5 people ) but you really could not call it a cave.If we had had a great guide ,I would have rated it a 2.Save yourself some money and do something else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perry's Cave also viewed

 

Been to Perry's Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing