We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steaks & Seafood at the Bay”
Review of Mossbacks

Mossbacks
Ranked #12 of 38 Restaurants in Put in Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lorain, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Steaks & Seafood at the Bay”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

One of the handful of sit down restaurants at South Bass Island aka Put-in-Bay where the quality of food and service is worth the price. Mossback's is pricy, but the food is excellant. We go evrytime we are at PIB and have not had a bad meal or poor service.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyPaulyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    63
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocky River, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Love the food at Mossbacks! They serve breakfast till 12:00/noon for those of you, like me, that may have had a little too much fun the night before. If you get breakfast....cheesy potatoes...oh yeah!!! Lunch...the burgers...mmmmm!!! And even for a snack...walleye bites rock! Go and enjoy!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh.Pa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time was robbed without a gun”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Visited the place today with my wife. I had the perch sandwich if you call it that. What constitutes a sandwich in this restaurant is one small piece of rubbery fish the size of a hot dog. For the cost of 13.99. Have you ever been cheated if not please check out this restaurant by all means.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and i stopped at Mossbacks for the first time even though we've been to the Island 19 times and we are sorry this was our first time...the food was great..simple menu but the burgers are outstanding and the service wonderful! We will be back....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank z0nebuster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We go to Put-In-Bay every summer for a long weekend and have walked bybut never ate at Mossback until this year.
It was lunch time and we decided to try Mossbacks. We both were in the mood for a good burger and a beer. Everyone at Mossbacks was very friendly, it was a nice atmosphere and we weren't disappointed with the food.
I hadn't had a burger in a long time and when left I remember commenting that was one of the best burgers I have ever had!
Glad we finally decided to stop in and we'll definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debo528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mossbacks also viewed

 

Been to Mossbacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing