We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hooligans

Hooligans
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Put in Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waterville, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sensational Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have friends living in the Port Clinton area, so, on occasion, we get a boat ride to PIB for lunch. Our first-time visit to Holligans was as advertised by our friends--wonderful and tasty sandwiches.

I enjoyed the Finn Fish Sandwich, which took more than the plate on which it was served. My Spouse, and our friends each had the Traditional Reuben (and I was given a small sampling of her sandwich). Very Good! The server was very attentive and friendly. The restaurant is an Irish pub, and its decor reflects their Irish heritage, with Irish prayers and other sayings painted on the walls.

Overall, we certainly enjoyed the tasty hour or so we spent there!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larrysheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    77
    32
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Food Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We were there celebrating my husbands bday. We all enjoyed it. The chicken bruschetta was to die for!! Yummy!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Varied menu of Irish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Even if you don't eat there, stop in to look at the restaurant's decor, its beautiful. Portions were of good size and make sure you try their homemade potato chips, excellent. Servers were very attentive to our requests and needs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VATeacher75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
236 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Loved this place. We went back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Popped in to Hooligan's for a drink on our first night. The atmosphere was exactly what you'd expect of an Irish pub/restaurant, the service was spectacular, and the selection of both tap and canned/bottled microbrews, domestics and imports was great.
We enjoyed the atmosphere so much that we went back for a couple apps off of the menu the next night. The fried Rueben Balls weren't bad, but not necessarily anything to write home about. The cheese tray was enormous! Several delicious cheeses along with a variety of crackers, a wee bit of sausage, and a bountiful amount of grapes were provided. Be sure to bring more than two people if you plan to devour this monster. I was also pleased to see my native Dayton, and Dublin Pub's very own Ruck sandwich on the menu. If you're in the mood for a delicious adventure, you can't go wrong with the Ruck.
Hooligan's was a new establishment since the wife and I had been to PIB last. It quickly became one of our favorites! Make sure to stop in for dinner or a pint of the black stuff at the very least. Slainte!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandTime78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pretty good food. Moderate Prices. Very good servic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went for an early lunch on a July Saturday. We were the only guests inside when we sat down. Our waitress took immediate care of us, offering suggestions for both food and beers. I had a sandwich and a cup of soup. The sandwich was very good, and the soup just good. Later we split a dessert, which was huge. The portions are nice, the price moderate for an island, the service very good. BTW. When we left an hour later, the place was packed inside and outside. I will go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ncoasttravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooligans also viewed

 

Been to Hooligans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing