We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Club
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great place to stay we where up there for the weekend for a bachelor party we stay at unit 109 it was clean no issues with the place. Dottie in the management was great help taxi where a call away and where at your place in less then 5 min to take you anywhere for only $3 a person great time great place would go back again a ++++

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hummmmmm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    23
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
35
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We rented three homes in the "resort" for a family reunion and will NEVER return! The houses were all in terrible shape. One of the families did get moved to a house that was in a little better condition, but overall we thought two of the homes should've been condemned. Furniture was filthy and we were afraid to sit on it considering the terrible staining that was there. One of the beds had a broken leg and so the entire bed leaned and sat on the ground on that end. There were bugs in one of the homes. The drawers of the refrigerator were broken, the seal was hanging off and so the refrigerator would not keep anything cold, plus there was no shelf in the refrigerator. When we walked across the livingroom to put our belongings into the bedrooms, our white socks were totally black and gross. When we talked with the reservations agent, she connected us to the manager, who agreed to refund us a small portion of the rental fee. The towel racks, toilet paper holders, doors on bathroom cabinets had all been torn off the walls.
On a positive note, the kitchens were well stocked, which is a difficult thing to keep stocked considering the number of people coming and going from the houses each week.

Room Tip: Stay away from 104, 106, 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamsue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I spent the weekend at one of the Island Club "homes" in mid August as part of a bachelorette group of 18. We were given 2 homes across the street from each other, which was convenient, but one house was definitely in better shape than the other. It worked out to about $1,000 a night for a 3 bedroom home. That's pricey, considering I rented a beautiful 3 bedroom home on the beach in Santa Barbara for 4 days for that same price... with a hot tub. So, I had assumed (incorrectly) that the price must reflect the quality of the place. The first red flag was when we were told that we needed to bring our own towels and linens for the beds. As an adult woman without kids, I don't have a habit of keeping twin bed sheets around, so this meant I had to bring a sleeping bag. Good start.
So I arrive later the house than the rest of the group, but I am told that I will be sleeping in the master bedroom (score!), but that I will be sharing the bedroom with 2 other girls (fail!). Apparently this was still the best option, because the bunk bed rooms were packed so tightly with bodies, you'd be fighting for oxygen at night.
Enough about the size, let's talk about the condition. Almost ever dining chair was torn or badly stained, the carpet was gross and I wouldn't recommend walking on it barefoot(or even in socks). For some reason, the kitchen sink was filled with about 50 bugs, even though there weren't any dishes and it had (presumably) just been cleaned. My sleeping bag was still damp (I had to wash it because it had been packed away) so I thought I would just pop it into the clothes dryer. I opened the door.... more bugs. No thanks.
As someone else had mentioned, the fake wood laminate paper was peeling off of all the doors. Not just small tears, but in sheets. The master bathroom had a skylight(kinda cool?) but it obviously had leakage issues because there was black mold all over the bottom of the ceiling. The most troubling thing about the bathroom though was the lack of hand soap. Neither bathroom nor the kitchen had any hand soap. For $1,000 a night, you think you could offer up a bar of soap.
All in all, I wish I had known this place was going to more like camping out and less like staying in a rental house/hotel. Maybe it would have been great when I was 21 and could sleep on the floor, but even then, I don't think I would have been able to afford it. Go with a hotel in town if you are in Put In Bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GummyTeeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from a 4 day stay with family members who rented 3 homes. All the houses had issues ranging from a hole in the wall, broken window blinds and curtain rods, dirty carpeting, disgusting stained linoleum floor in one bathroom, peeling veneer on doors, filthy gas grill on one deck and a non-working grill on another, 2 beds with broken mattress supports, dirty, old, bed comforters, refrigerator shelf missing....the list goes on & on. Possibly the worst was what appeared to be semen residue on a couch.
The only positive comment we can make is that the pool area was very clean with plenty of decent chairs & tables and the grounds around the homes were well kept and that being mid-week, it was unexpectedly quiet.
It's very disappointing that management has the ability to keep security deposits when damage is done, but obviously doesn't use it to make necessary repairs. To their credit management did agree to refund a portion of our rental fee when we complained. However their attitude was disappointing as they explained we should have lower standards since it is a "party island". Their website doesn't accurately reflect this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

In my current and previous experience in dealing with the Island Club - it has been nothing but simple and overall an excellent experience... Jerry and the girls are always professional and have everything together... We recently stayed there for the weekend - everything was in tip top shape... The house was amazing and they had all accommodations put together for us, including golf cart rental, taxi service with all the taxi drivers names for the weekend - it made for a great weekend which included a ton of fun! Thanks to Jerry and the girls for a fun filled weekend - I'll be calling soon to book for next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgreen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaca, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Love staying at the Island club!! The houses are clean and comfortable. The staff (especially Jerry) is always accommodating and helpful to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. Have been there with groups of 8 to 16 and have always had a great experience! We highly recommend staying at the Island Club!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

A pretty fun place, went there for a bachelor party and there are a ton of people outside drinking all day. You can play your music loud and get away with pretty much anything. Dottie is the manager and is really cool, however the guy above her is kind of a jerk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Put in Bay
1.0 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#4 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Clinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
9.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Put-in-Bay Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Club

Property: Island Club
Address: 1490 Put in Bay Rd, Put in Bay, OH 43456-6806
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Club 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Club Rentals has been proudly serving Put-in-Bay and the Lake Erie Islands for nearly 20 years with rental home assistance. Great pride and joy is taken in fully assisting our guests in finding the best vacation home accommodations for their friends and family. We are dedicated to ensuring our Put in Bay guests will be at ease during the planning of their trip. Our experience and vacation home rental expertise will ensure that you and yours will have an amazing vacation on the Crown Jewel of Lake Erie, Put-in-Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Island Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Club Put In Bay, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing