We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace Memorial”

Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Put in Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rising 352 feet above Lake Erie, this monument commemorates an American victory during the War of 1812.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peace Memorial”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Interesting to see. We walked around outside, nice views of the water and surrounding area, you can go inside. I am not sure if they charge a fee to go up top to look out. Its just as it looks. quiet memorial

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sdzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    171
    26
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Battle of Lake Erie Bicentennial Celebration”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The visit to Put-In-Bay, South Bass Island was to attend the International Peace Memorial bicentennial celebration of Commandor Perry's victory over the British fleet (September 10, 1813) during the War of 1812. We took a Jet Express passenger boat to the island from Port Clinton which takes 20 minutes. Put-In-Bay has many restuarants, shops and attractions along its main street. Recommend visiting the memorial vistor center first to review what ranger programs and documentaries are scheduled the day of your visit. You can rent a golf cart ($50 - 60 daily rate) to see the island's attractions but most are within walking distance of the docking area and visitor center.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vernon, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“campfield 9-2013”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went here and were really impressed with the location. It was very well maintained, cleaned, and the information was very informative. The staff was great in answering questions, and giving us more information, The place was beautiful, and the views were great. It was windy but we were there in September.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank campfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular view!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff was very nice. The view was awesome! It was a little chilly at the top as it was the last of September, we did not rush and enjoyed the view at the top. We took our binoculars.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Acrossthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Wayne, IN
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Well maintained and beautiful monument. The view is awesome! They have plaques inside the monument that tell of the battle on the great lakes in 1812. There is a list of the ships and the names of those wounded and killed from both sides.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1963corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing