We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“campfield 9-2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial

Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Put in Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rising 352 feet above Lake Erie, this monument commemorates an American victory during the War of 1812.
North Vernon, Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“campfield 9-2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went here and were really impressed with the location. It was very well maintained, cleaned, and the information was very informative. The staff was great in answering questions, and giving us more information, The place was beautiful, and the views were great. It was windy but we were there in September.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank campfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    149
    21
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff was very nice. The view was awesome! It was a little chilly at the top as it was the last of September, we did not rush and enjoyed the view at the top. We took our binoculars.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Acrossthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Well maintained and beautiful monument. The view is awesome! They have plaques inside the monument that tell of the battle on the great lakes in 1812. There is a list of the ships and the names of those wounded and killed from both sides.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1963corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Inaccurate living history lady - uncooperative”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The movie was nice and we enjoyed the 3D model /map of the battle - However the living history woman was a major disappointment. We are very involved in living history, writing, and working with museums and knew that the lady's costuming, mannerisms, and speech were totally wrong for 1812. She tried to tell us that she was a lady of ill-repute but we also know that her costuming was very wrong for that. She was just lazy and lazy on the weekend of the 200th anniversary - no excuse for such a poor show. Please get someone who really knows what they are doing in this spot. Also rangers are slaves to the movie schedule. Did not present well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pfco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
202 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Make sure you take the time to visit the monument and go to the top! The view is outstanding! Be sure to take your camera! There are Park Guides to answers your questions!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelScout56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Perry's Victory & International Peace Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing